We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, family oriented apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location, family oriented apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A well located apartment situated two blocks from The White House. In close proximity to
the Big Bus hop on hop off stops. Within walking distance of the oldest restaurant
in Washington, the Old Ebbitt ( worth a visit). If you want to eat in, there is no store located within walking distance of the apartment. Other than that we would definitely stay at aka The White when we visit Dc again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback! AKA White House was designed with you in mind, our guest. Additionally, our suites were designed to create a relaxing atmosphere that is your home-away-from-home. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your leading option when visiting Washington D.C. With a close proximity to many outstanding restaurants (Old Ebbitt, Founding Farmers, and Taberna Del Alabardero) and boutique shopping, AKA’s location cannot be beat. Alternatively, Whole Foods is a short walk (10 min.) for groceries when a home cooked meal is desired. Your feedback is the key to our success and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for providing the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the AKA White House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    100
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
104
55
13
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I very much debated if the give this place only 3 stars (due to cleanliness issues), but for obvious reasons, went with the higher rating.

This is a pretty nice facility and the modern decor is very appealing. The rooms are very roomy, but sleep only 2 comfortably. It is literally a small apartment with a decent size bedroom (I had one king bed) with walk-in closet and full bath. Down the hallway is a half-bath and a closet with a washer and dryer. At the end of the hallway is a nice living room with TV, dining table, couch, matching chair and table. Also has full kitchenette with seating at the bar. Very nice. My 14 year old even called it "swanky". Only thing is that for begin so large, it will comfortably sleep only 2. And the location cannot be beat; one block from Metro stop and 2 blocks from the White House. Very central. It does not have a restaurant, but you do not need it. Plenty nearby.

The front desk staff are all great. Of particular excellence is Thao; I am surprised the Ritz has not hired her away yet. She was highly helpful at check-in, even running out to the street to help with luggage, and very helpful to us tourists. I relied on her to make my dining plans and she led me to my new favorite restaurant (BlackSalt in case you are wondering). Very friendly and highly professional; more of a hands on concierge than anything.

Negatives: housekeeping. Very Very Very bad. They do an awful job. I even tipped them personally in hopes they would do better, and it did not help. To them the word "clean" is a dirty word. I was a bit put off by the sticky and dirty couch and matching chair. The one in my room was pretty gross; the fabric was actually sticky to the touch.

Not a negative, but weird is that they do not air condition the hallways.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We greatly appreciate the feedback. Your feedback is the key to our success as the leading option in luxury extended stay. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your “home away from home”. While our one bedroom suites fit two people comfortably, we encourage our residents to book our two bedroom suites to further enhance their space, and amenities. With two individual bedrooms, four people can occupy comfortably with two separate full bathrooms for use. So great to hear our Resident Representatives were able to assist in designing a stay that catered to your individual needs! Our 24/7 concierge dedicated team is here to assist with any request a resident may have, whether it be restaurant reservations, tour information, or general information on DC, we are here to make your stay extraordinary.

Regarding the housekeeping, rest assured this is not a normal occurrence and we apologize for any inconvenience. Our housekeeping team is dedicated to provide our residents with outstanding cleaning services, and we urge our residents to contact our front desk immediately so we may resolve any housekeeping issues swiftly. Additionally, our Director of Housekeeping takes extreme pride in her team’s work and if we fail to meet your standard, she would also be pleased to meet with you to discuss how we can improve our services. We are meticulous in our attention to detail when inspecting suites for arrivals, and as such, we kindly ask that you provide us with your stay details so we may look into the matter.

With our spacious, fully furnished suites, central location, and dedicated staff, AKA White House is your number one choice when traveling to Washington, DC. When booking, please feel free to contact us directly so we may assist in designing a stay that will exceed your expectations and to submit any special requests in advance or during your next stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return and changing your perception of our housekeeping department!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amboy, il
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I decided a few months ago that we wanted to take our 10 and 8 year old daughters to Washington, D.C. over the 4th of July. I searched for about a month off and on, reading reviews of the hotels in the DC and Virginia area. We decided it was worth the cost to avoid the Metro lines during such a busy holiday time and stay in downtown itself. I originally booked another hotel, but I wasn't satisfied with the one room, two double beds hotel room and the thought of eating out all week, not having a place to store snack, cold water, milk, etc. I came across AKA White House that was a little more expensive, but had two bedrooms, a living area, two bathrooms, and a full kitchen. We were able to order our groceries for the week from Peapod and they were delivered to our room before we arrived. It was like being home, but still on vacation. We enjoyed having lunch at our own place, cooking supper after a long, hot, tiring day of walking. And putting our feet up and watching TV on one of the three TV's. It was a great experience, a block from the White House and in walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! "Don't just visit...Live it!" is one of our favorite sayings here at AKA White House and we are thrilled that you found our team provided services and amenities that allowed you to experience such a memorable stay. With in-suite washer and dryers, spacious living accommodations, and fully furnished kitchens, AKA White House is your home away from home. Our number one goal is to provide our residents an incomparable, luxury experience. With our proximity being centrally located to many wonderful sights and niche restaurants, the location of AKA cannot be beat. We fully embody the pied-à-terre aesthetic, and are thrilled to hear you and your family had a memorable vacation with us. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We just got back to Denmark from a week in the middle of Washington, D.C. at Aka White House. We stayed at room 911 which is a room with a kitchen/living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It is a corner apartment with a view to the street. The room looked exactly like the pictures in the ad which was great. The room is bright and clean. The master room looks like a normal bedroom ensuite. The other room has tinted glass walls which worried us in the beginning but it is ok in regards to noise. The only noise problem that we encountered was when water was used in the master bathroom (or the room above or below) the pluming made quite a bit of noise which was inconvenient in the night and mornings, so if you are noise sensitive use the master:)
The other bathroom is right beside the main door and the master room. All bedrooms and the living room had a tv with about 70 channels.
The room was great for sightseeing. It is really close to the mall, the White House and so forth. There are metros all around and small restaurants and cvs around the corner. There is a whole foods (very organic food store) 10 min walk from the hotel.
Our only regret was when we asked the front desk to get a safe cab to the airport. We took a Washington flyer going in which had a meter going (we paid 62$). Going back with the hotel booked cab there was no meter and we had to pay 75$. Actually the cab didn't look like a cab at all. Also the mood and servicemindedness of the front desk varied a lot (George is 100% service minded and very patient)
We checked out the top terrace which had the next door office aircon blasting on to it. From what we saw the penthouse terraces are not worth the extra money and you have to go to the 11 floor and change elevators to get there:)
But we really liked our stay and would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and comments. AKA White House is located in the heart of Washington, DC where our residents and guests have the unique opportunity to experience everything our nation’s capitol has to offer from one central location. Close to spectacular restaurants, boutique shops, and historical landmarks, AKA White House is the ideal option and we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your suite amenities. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryer, and a fully furnished kitchen, our residents can relax in their home away from home with ease. Anytime a resident is not completely satisfied with their suite, due to audible noise levels from neighboring suites, we encourage our residents to notify the front desk immediately so we may secure another suite, contingent on availability. Regarding the transportation, our front desk team works very hard to make sure we always secure the best pricing for our guests; however, with multiple competing transportation companies within the District, we cannot always determine specific prices for each company, given they are not affiliated with the property. However, we do welcome our guests to utilize our private sedan services if they prefer, to further enhance their luxury experience with AKA. Additionally, upon your next stay, we invite you to tour one of our plush penthouses, based upon availability. With unique floor plans, custom furnishings, and unparalleled privacy, residents who stay in our one or two bedroom penthouse suites can experience true luxury in our Nation’s Capital. Your overall satisfaction is our number one goal, and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the AKA White House while in DC for a conference, for 4 nights. Amazing. From parking our car in the attached garage to check out - flawless! It is on a main street, but the bedroom was located towards the back of the apartment. Shut the bedroom door and gain even more quietness.
Staff - LOVE THE STAFF. Then nicest people I have ever encountered in the industry.
Housekeeping - We would leave our room and come back and it was clean! Like magic. No matter what time of day we would leave and return the room was maintained.

In the evening when we were needing a taxi - no problem. One night a taxi was available in seconds. AMAZING!
Arrived back after midnight, one night, to our surprise we had to be buzzed in. LOVE IT - additional security.

Room Tip: This is more like an apartment. There are several options for getting food for the kitchen, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Our staff greatly appreciates your feedback and kind words. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your AKA White House experience was as such. AKA White House is your home-away-from- home. With modern and meticulous details throughout the property, amenities such as in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, we are the leading option in luxury extended stay accommodations. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fantastic location close to The White House, and withing easy access to public transport. We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse, which has access to a private balcony. Bedrooms were very spacious and beds very comfortable. Apartment is very tastefully furnished and includes full kitchen, with microwave, coffee machine (BYO coffee, milk and sugar) and washer and dryer...very handy. Staff were very helpful, quick and easy check in/out. There are also a number of very good restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at AKA White House! Though you stayed in our two-bedroom penthouse suite, which is the largest we have to offer, all of our apartments do boast large rooms, living space, full kitchens, and a washer and dryer in unit. And while our normal suites do not have private balconies, we do have a rooftop terrace that is available for all guest use. We also have coffee, milk, and sugar available at the Front Desk up request, as well as complimentary coffee on weekday mornings. We are delighted to know that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s location as well as the amenities! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans include this "great city"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a family vacation. Fantastic, great space,home from home. Definitely recommend ,it's a hotel but with twice the space and all the amenities you need ,even washing machine and drier. Location is ideal, so close to the Whitehouse. The staff were excellent,booking cabs , restaurant reservations etc. We will definitely use AKA again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. At AKA White House, we take great pride in creating a homey atmosphere, while still being the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations in Washington, DC. Our suites were truly designed so our residents and guests feel right at home, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your suite amenities. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryer, and a fully furnished kitchen, AKA White House is the best solution for when traveling in DC. The proximity of our location also offers our residents unique options when in search of site-seeing, entertainment, and amazing culinary options such as, Founding Farmers. Your satisfaction is the key to our success; consequently, AKA staff always strives to exhibit a high level of excellence. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.