We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here!...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
eastcoast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I could live here!...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is at a great location for sight seeing. Also close to some of the most unique and romantic restaurants in DC, like the Oval Room and Taberna. The hotel lobby is quiet and modern, the elevator is nice, and the rooms are huge! I "could live here" because it has more of an apartment feel. You get your full kitchen and eating area, with living room, and master bedroom. Not much to expect from the Veranda on the topmost floor - no pool. There's a gym. Parking garage is right in the same building, but watch out, as they charge $30/day! Internet is free. The only thing that I wished were better was the hallway from the elevator to the rooms. The hallway was dark, and stuffy, so not so good ventilation, and a little on the dirty side. Very much like what one might expect in an apartment building. Rooms are also not too sound-proof (or smell proof - I could smell the popcorn from next door). Otherwise, it is perfect -- situated close to St Regis, if you want a fancier room. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! At AKA White House, we take pride in our attention to detail while exhibiting a high level of excellence at all times. With suites designed to truly embody a “home away from home”, residents and guests alike have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC in luxury. In-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations sets AKA apart from other luxury extended stay properties and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. The proximity of AKA White House also boasts great opportunity in terms of artisan dining and boutique shopping. Taberna del Alabardero and the Oval Room are excellent choices when in search of a niche dining experience. With on-site parking available, residents receive a discounted residential rate where they can securely keep their car in our private, enclosed garage. Parking also includes unlimited entry 24 hours a day, allowing residents to freely come and go as they please. Farragut North and Farragut West metro stations are also within walking distance so our residents can explore the great sights of DC utilizing the public transportation system. Our state of the art fitness center is available for guest use 24/7, as well as our business center. When residents and guests wish to relax, our modern and inviting a.lounge is open nightly from 4pm to 11pm. Here, you can enjoy expertly crafted cocktails and artisan beers while relaxing in the plush surroundings. Regarding the hallways, we do regret this inconvenience. Rest assured, this is not a normal occurrence and we have spoken to the housekeeping department to ensure every aspect of your stay from arrival to departure is nothing short of superb. Anytime a resident is not 100 percent satisfied with their suite due to audible noise levels or smells from neighboring suites, we are more than happy to change your suite, contingent on availability. Upon your next stay with us, please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may extend our unparalleled concierge services to assist in any special requests that will make your stay that much more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    99
    22
    8
    13
See reviews for
101
53
13
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at AKA White House 4 nights end of 2012; from the moment we stepped in we knew it was a special place and really exceeded all expectations; the staff was very friendly and professional, location could not ask for better and the apartment spectacular. I wish we stayed longer but plan to come back in the summer. I would recommend this without hesitation even if you do not need an apartment.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback! You satisfaction is your highest priority and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. With amenities such as fully furnished kitchens, washer and dryers in unit, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. We take pride in our attention to detail, and strive to ensure each guest witnesses this throughout your entire experience. Thank you again for the positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location is great since it is close to the White House and other government buildings. Is two blocks away from a metro station and you have restaurants, shops and drugstores within walking distance. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are very spacious and fully equiped with all you need to enjoy extended stays!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate the positive feedback! AKA White House is your leading choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. With suites designed with our residents in mind, residents have the opportunity to experience luxury in our spacious, fully furnished suites with ease. With a proximity to many outstanding restaurants and boutique shopping, AKA’s location cannot be beat. Your feedback is the key to our success and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for providing the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would very much like to convey my gratitude and appreciation for a most enjoyable stay at the AKA White House last week and especially to give commendation and kudos to the front desk agent that assisted me, Thao. From the moment I arrived until I left on, she not only exemplified exceptional service, she did so with a style and personality that provided a sense of ease about it that stood out as reassuringly capable. In a word, it was noteworthy.

I would be delighted to stay at the AKA White House on future visits (and, in fact, have already communicated this to my travel coordinator). I had a big week in DC that was rewarding on a number of fronts but included among those successes is the attention and consideration I experienced from the AKA staff thanks to Thao. She was a highlight. Please accept my appreciation, commendation, future recommendations and hope to return as the evidence of my satisfaction due to her compelling efforts. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We thank you for the positive feedback and kind words. At AKA, our goal is your complete satisfaction while exhibiting a high level of excellence throughout your entire lodging experience, and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. With a dedicated concierge service, our Resident Representatives are here to make your stay memorable by assisting in anything your may require. "Don't just visit...Live it!" is one of our favorite sayings here at AKA White House and we are thrilled that you found our team provided services and amenities that allowed you to experience such a memorable stay. With a proximity to many wonderful things, the location is unparalleled. Residents have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC to its full extent, while enjoying outstanding luxury accommodations that fit their needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Want a home from home in Washington DC ? Then this is the place for you. The hotel is an all apartment hotel with very nicely furnished apartments with either one or two bedrooms. Large living / dining area with a well fitted kitchen and all appliances you could wish for. Very definitely the place to stay in Washington for either a short break or a longer stay. Location is excellent, it is near the White House area and close to all the good restaurants. Would highly recommend this property.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback. AKA White House was designed to offer our guests and residents an experience of luxury, while being centrally located to many, outstanding things to do and see. With in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, spacious living accommodations, state of the art Fitness and Business Center and 24 hour concierge, AKA is the leading option when in search of luxury accommodations. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the area as well! Le Pain Quotidian is a local favorite and an excellent option when looking for specialized eateries. Your satisfaction is the key to our success as we strive to exhibit a high level of excellence at all times. Upon your next stay with us, please contact us directly when booking to ensure a well planned stay and to submit any special requests that will enhance your stay. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I've now stayed 3 times at the AKA White House and - based on the spacious suites, friendly staff and location - I plan to stay there whenever I'm in DC in the future. The spacious suites are great, more than adequate for my needs, and well maintained. It's nice to have the space to relax without having to do so only while sitting on the bed. I haven't taken full advantage of the kitchen in each suite but likely will in the future, particularly on longer stays. While there is no restaurant on site, there are many within a short walk, and the staff is always happy to provide suggestions and directions. You won't find the bustle of a DC hotel at the AKA White House, but you will find a friendly and relaxing place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! Our top priority is your satisfaction and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. With amenities such as fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryers, spacious living accommodations, and 24/7 concierge services, AKA White House is your home away from home. We are thrilled to hear that our resident representatives were able to extend our concierge services to you, ensuring that your stay was memorable. With a proximity that rivals other hotels in the area, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Beautiful area, close to all attraction. the room was spacious with a fu;;y stocked kitchen and 11/2 baths. The King size bed was very comfortable amd the bedroom large with a walkin closet.
House keeping is once a week, but they provide enough supplies towels and all to last you a week, There is a nice quiet londge on site, but no restaurants, but numerous within walking distance. Some of my favorites were Ruth Crisp Steak, Black Finn, the Bottom Line. Th desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback and choosing AKA White House as your home away from home. Our suites were designed with our guests in mind, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your suite amenities! Regarding housekeeping, any reservation a week or longer receives a full, deep clean once per week. Our housekeeping schedule is set by our front desk and can be amended at anytime to a day more suitable for our guests. Alternatively, we would be more than happy to arrange for extra cleaning days, with a nominal fee. With a proximity that cannot be beat, residents and guests alike have the unique opportunity to experience our nation's capitol through an exciting cultural and political hub. As our guest, your satisfaction is our top priority and we are happy to hear your experience was as such. With public transportation and restaurants within a minute’s walk, AKA White House is your ideal option when traveling in Washington, DC. Black Finn and Founding Farmers is a short walk away, both being resident favorites. Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.