We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place but thin walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very nice place but thin walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's a very nice place with modern deco located in a very central location. The rates were much more reasonable than the average hotels in DC. It is very roomy, clean and our unit (#605) came with 2 bathrooms. It also has a very functional kitchen with a full size appliances, which was great. The only negative was that the walls are not well soundproofed, so you'll hear movements from the upper unit and hallway. But it's to,stable and not that bad. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. There are restaurants and coffee shops nearby (and a McDonalds around the corner) all within a block or two in distance. There are two metro stations about 2-3 short blocks away, and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Unfortunately, the only real grocery store is a Wholefoods several blocks away (maybe 3/4 mile away). However, for your basic needs, there is a CVS about a block away. The biggest plus to this place is that the White House (the real one) is very close and easily walkable. If you stay a week or more, the maid service is provided only once a week, but I believe you can opt to have it more often. We definitely recommend this place for your stay. BTW, our cab fare from the hotel to The Reagan Airport was just over $18, which isn't bad at all.)

Room Tip: Our room was #605, which was on the backside of the building. The walls are a little thin, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your feedback is the key to our success as the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations in Washington DC. With suites that were designed to cater to our residents needs, AKA White House is your home away from home. In-suite washer and dryers, spacious living accommodations, and fully furnished kitchens are what sets us apart. Residents and guests alike also have the unique opportunity to experience DC and all it has to offer with a proximity that cannot be beat. With specialty restaurants and boutique shopping within walking distance, AKA White House is your premiere choose when in search of luxury extended stay. Regarding the audible noise levels outside your suite, we do regret this inconvenience. Anytime a resident is not completely satisfied with their suite location due to noise, we urge our residents to contact our guest services team right away so we may move you to a more convenient suite, contingent on availability. Also, in regards to housekeeping, our housekeeping is once a week for reservations longer than seven nights, with daily cleanings scheduled for stays less than seven nights. This schedule is set by our front desk, and can be amended upon arrival, or anytime during your stay to suit your needs. If a resident requires any extra cleanings, this can happily be scheduled for a nominal fee. Our top priority is your satisfaction while we strive to exhibit excellence at all times. Upon booking your next stay, please contact us directly to ensure all personal requests are submitted to design a truly unique stay. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    104
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
110
59
13
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is nice, espacious and hs a full kitchen. In fact the apartment is huge! And also clean. I had a problem with hot water and it was solved promptly. The only two things that I wuld say are that the doors are a bit too noisy, so your neighbors could wake you up in the middle of the night and also that my room was very dark as the windows were facing an alley. There is coffee downstairs in the morning and I really appreciated that!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate the feedback. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryers, and fully furnished kitchens, AKA White House is your home away from home. Our suites were designed to allow our residents and guests to experience luxury with ease and we are glad to hear your experience was as such. Anytime a resident is not completely satisfied with their suite location due to noise levels or inadequate lighting, we urge our residents to contact our Front Desk team immediately so we may offer an alternative suite, contingent on availability. Our number one goal is your highest satisfaction as we strive to be the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations in Washington, DC. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at AKA White House numerous times and find it very convenient. We are in DC for extended periods of time and AKA offers everything we need -- kitchen, washer/dryer in unit and great location. We can walk everywhere we need to go including the grocery store (Safeway and Whole Foods nearby) and love the accessibility to all the sites on our days off. They offer a great layout for wheelchair users including suites with wheel-in showers. The staff is friendly and helpful. We love the new Friday night live music in the bar -- perfect for relaxing and unwinding after working all week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. As we continually strive to be the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations, your feedback is the key to that success and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our suites are designed to meet the specific needs of you, our guest. Our 5 newly renovated ADA suites allow you to experience optimum accessibility with ease. Keeping in mind our guests is monumental to the success of our business and we are glad you experienced that. With in-suite washer and dryer, a fully furnished kitchen, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. The proximity of AKA White House also offers a unique array of boutique shopping and niche dining. Founding Farmers and Taberna Del Alabardero are great options when in search of local cuisine, both of which are resident and staff favorites. Alternatively, Safeway and Whole Foods is a short walk for groceries when a home cooked meal is desired. Our number one goal is your highest satisfaction, and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. Upon booking your next stay with us, contact us directly to ensure any special requests may be submitted prior to arrival to assist in designing a stay catered to your needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first visit to AKA and I was impressed by this hotel right off the bat. Arriving at an ultra clean and modern hotel lobby is nice in itself, but this lobby is also very warm and welcoming; it's a great combination. This is the theme that continues throughout AKA. As a very frequent business traveler I am particular about a clean hotel with a nice fitness center, and this fit the bill perfectly. What definitely made it for me was that the staff was very friendly and helpful. After meeting the GM it's clear that this is a theme throughout the hotel also. I'm planning on coming back here asap with the wife and kids, if not before for business!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide positive feedback. Our feedback is the key to our success as the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations in Washington, DC. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your amenities while staying with as at AKA White House. With a 24 hour business center and TechnoGym fitness center, our residents have the opportunity to relax in luxury with ease. Our a.lounge is also an excellent option when looking to relax with a curated selection of cocktails and fine wine, all in a plush and warm atmosphere. Our top priority if your satisfaction and we are glad to hear your experience was such. When booking, please contact us directly prior to arrival so we may help design a stay that will truly exhibit our unparalleled concierge services. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an amazing hotel!
I arrived in the evening and was greeted with a smile at the desk. The woman who helped me (Thao) was extremely helpful and made a great first impression for the Hotel. As my stay continued, I noticed that all employees I interacted with were very professional and helpful. I had to extend my stay at the last minute and they were very accommodating and I had no problems at all.

The room was unbelievably spacious and new looking, it was a home away from home. I would certainly recommend this hotel and I hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
"Don't just visit...Live it!" is one of our favorite sayings here at AKA White House and we are thrilled that you found our team provided services and amenities that allowed you to experience such a memorable stay. Our residents and guests satisfaction is our number one priority, while providing an incomparable level of excellence at all times. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryers, and fully furnished kitchens, AKA is your home away from home. With a proximity to many wonderful things, the location is unparalleled. Residents have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC to its full extent, while enjoying outstanding luxury accommodations that fit their needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel not knowing much about it. What a pleasant suprise!!! The rooms are extremely spacious and filled with fine furnishings not found in most hotels. It doesn't feel like a hotel at all. I was on business but the rooms are very well suited for families as well. The staff was very friendly and accomadating to all of my needs and questions. This is my new "to go" hotel in Washington, DC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback! At AKA, we take pride in our ongoing endeavor to be the leader in luxury stay accommodations, and we are thrilled your stay reflected that. Our attention to detail is evident in our unparalleled guest services as well amenities that are catered to you, our guest. With suites that are equipped with fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryers, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. Upon your next stay, please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may further enhance your next lodging experience with our incomparable concierge services. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

AKA is unreasonably rigid -- and not particularly humane -- in the way that they deal with non-refundable reservations. I have given AKA properties a great deal of business over the past year. Recently, I made a non-refundable reservation at this property for a trip from California to Waashington. I had to cancel the reservation because my wife -- who was out of the country -- developed a condition that placed her at serious risk of a developing blood clot in her leg if she flew back to the United States. I had to stay at home in California to take care of our six-year old daughter. After explaining this problem -- and the business that I had given AKA in the past -- I asked if I could at least use the payment that I had made as a credit toward a future stay. The answer was "No," accompanied by a non-sensical explanation that the reservation that I had made was for a discounted summer rate. I suppose that was a defensible business decision, given that the reservation was non-refundable. But it wasn't a very nice thing to do under the circumstances. So I won't be giving AKA any business in the future. I can find other places to stay in the Washington area that value their relationships with their customers more and have more of a heart.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Let us first apologize for the inconvenience that occurred by booking your non-refundable, non-cancellable and non-changeable reservation with AKA White House. When choosing these particular reservations, you are ensuring a substantial discount off of our sell rates, however the constraint is that there are no changes or refunds permissible. As with airlines and other travel entities, these rates are available to secure a discount to our consumers, but with no changes, nor refunds being allowed. A client is more than welcome to reserve our BAR (Best Available Rate) which allows for changes and cancellations. As our guest, your satisfaction is our top priority and we would like to welcome you back to AKA White House. If you would like to contact us directly, referencing the enclosed review, along with your name and stay dates, we would like to offer you discount upon your next stay with us. Please email us directly at whitehouse@stayaka.com. Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience that occurred with booking this strict type of reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.