We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wheelchair accessible suites and place to stay in DC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AKA White House to your Saves list
AKA White House
1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great wheelchair accessible suites and place to stay in DC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at AKA White House numerous times and find it very convenient. We are in DC for extended periods of time and AKA offers everything we need -- kitchen, washer/dryer in unit and great location. We can walk everywhere we need to go including the grocery store (Safeway and Whole Foods nearby) and love the accessibility to all the sites on our days off. They offer a great layout for wheelchair users including suites with wheel-in showers. The staff is friendly and helpful. We love the new Friday night live music in the bar -- perfect for relaxing and unwinding after working all week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. As we continually strive to be the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations, your feedback is the key to that success and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our suites are designed to meet the specific needs of you, our guest. Our 5 newly renovated ADA suites allow you to experience optimum accessibility with ease. Keeping in mind our guests is monumental to the success of our business and we are glad you experienced that. With in-suite washer and dryer, a fully furnished kitchen, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. The proximity of AKA White House also offers a unique array of boutique shopping and niche dining. Founding Farmers and Taberna Del Alabardero are great options when in search of local cuisine, both of which are resident and staff favorites. Alternatively, Safeway and Whole Foods is a short walk for groceries when a home cooked meal is desired. Our number one goal is your highest satisfaction, and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. Upon booking your next stay with us, contact us directly to ensure any special requests may be submitted prior to arrival to assist in designing a stay catered to your needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    109
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
112
60
13
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my first visit to AKA and I was impressed by this hotel right off the bat. Arriving at an ultra clean and modern hotel lobby is nice in itself, but this lobby is also very warm and welcoming; it's a great combination. This is the theme that continues throughout AKA. As a very frequent business traveler I am particular about a clean hotel with a nice fitness center, and this fit the bill perfectly. What definitely made it for me was that the staff was very friendly and helpful. After meeting the GM it's clear that this is a theme throughout the hotel also. I'm planning on coming back here asap with the wife and kids, if not before for business!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide positive feedback. Our feedback is the key to our success as the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations in Washington, DC. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your amenities while staying with as at AKA White House. With a 24 hour business center and TechnoGym fitness center, our residents have the opportunity to relax in luxury with ease. Our a.lounge is also an excellent option when looking to relax with a curated selection of cocktails and fine wine, all in a plush and warm atmosphere. Our top priority if your satisfaction and we are glad to hear your experience was such. When booking, please contact us directly prior to arrival so we may help design a stay that will truly exhibit our unparalleled concierge services. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an amazing hotel!
I arrived in the evening and was greeted with a smile at the desk. The woman who helped me (Thao) was extremely helpful and made a great first impression for the Hotel. As my stay continued, I noticed that all employees I interacted with were very professional and helpful. I had to extend my stay at the last minute and they were very accommodating and I had no problems at all.

The room was unbelievably spacious and new looking, it was a home away from home. I would certainly recommend this hotel and I hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
"Don't just visit...Live it!" is one of our favorite sayings here at AKA White House and we are thrilled that you found our team provided services and amenities that allowed you to experience such a memorable stay. Our residents and guests satisfaction is our number one priority, while providing an incomparable level of excellence at all times. With spacious living accommodations, in-suite washer and dryers, and fully furnished kitchens, AKA is your home away from home. With a proximity to many wonderful things, the location is unparalleled. Residents have the unique opportunity to experience Washington, DC to its full extent, while enjoying outstanding luxury accommodations that fit their needs. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked a room at this hotel not knowing much about it. What a pleasant suprise!!! The rooms are extremely spacious and filled with fine furnishings not found in most hotels. It doesn't feel like a hotel at all. I was on business but the rooms are very well suited for families as well. The staff was very friendly and accomadating to all of my needs and questions. This is my new "to go" hotel in Washington, DC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback! At AKA, we take pride in our ongoing endeavor to be the leader in luxury stay accommodations, and we are thrilled your stay reflected that. Our attention to detail is evident in our unparalleled guest services as well amenities that are catered to you, our guest. With suites that are equipped with fully furnished kitchens, in-suite washer and dryers, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. Upon your next stay, please contact us directly when booking prior to arrival so we may further enhance your next lodging experience with our incomparable concierge services. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

AKA is unreasonably rigid -- and not particularly humane -- in the way that they deal with non-refundable reservations. I have given AKA properties a great deal of business over the past year. Recently, I made a non-refundable reservation at this property for a trip from California to Waashington. I had to cancel the reservation because my wife -- who was out of the country -- developed a condition that placed her at serious risk of a developing blood clot in her leg if she flew back to the United States. I had to stay at home in California to take care of our six-year old daughter. After explaining this problem -- and the business that I had given AKA in the past -- I asked if I could at least use the payment that I had made as a credit toward a future stay. The answer was "No," accompanied by a non-sensical explanation that the reservation that I had made was for a discounted summer rate. I suppose that was a defensible business decision, given that the reservation was non-refundable. But it wasn't a very nice thing to do under the circumstances. So I won't be giving AKA any business in the future. I can find other places to stay in the Washington area that value their relationships with their customers more and have more of a heart.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Let us first apologize for the inconvenience that occurred by booking your non-refundable, non-cancellable and non-changeable reservation with AKA White House. When choosing these particular reservations, you are ensuring a substantial discount off of our sell rates, however the constraint is that there are no changes or refunds permissible. As with airlines and other travel entities, these rates are available to secure a discount to our consumers, but with no changes, nor refunds being allowed. A client is more than welcome to reserve our BAR (Best Available Rate) which allows for changes and cancellations. As our guest, your satisfaction is our top priority and we would like to welcome you back to AKA White House. If you would like to contact us directly, referencing the enclosed review, along with your name and stay dates, we would like to offer you discount upon your next stay with us. Please email us directly at whitehouse@stayaka.com. Once again, we do apologize for the inconvenience that occurred with booking this strict type of reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights and loved every one of them. Modern furnishings and spacious, it was more like being at home than being in a hotel. Business centre was also excellent. And you cannot beat the location with only a 5 minute walk to the White House, and two metro stations nearby. There are several restaurants nearby too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback and choosing AKA White House as your home away from home. With a proximity that cannot be beat, residents and guests alike have the unique opportunity to experience our nation's capitol through an exciting cultural and political hub. As our guest, your satisfaction is our top priority and we are happy to hear your experience was as such. With public transportation and restaurants within a minute’s walk, AKA White House is your ideal option when traveling in Washington, DC. Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The apartment was spacious, modern and very comfortable. It had 2 flat screen TVs, one in the bedroom and the other in the living room. There was a bathroom and separate loo. The bed was so comfortable and big. The place was well equipped with a washing machine and dryer, and a lovely big fridge and cooker, plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery and coffee machine but no pots and pans which was surprising considering the cooking facilities available. We didn't need them - perhaps if you asked you could get them. The AC was good and easy to control.

The gym was closed while we were there but they said they had arrangement for guests to use another gym/hotel nearby. We didn't check it out as the location is perfect for running - just a few blocks north of the mall.

The only slightly negative thing was that the bedroom was quite dark; there was no natural light as it had no windows and the lights were very dim. Oh, and there was no full length mirror.
The location is excellent. A very safe area, with several branches of CVS within walking distance and a Whole Foods about 10-15 mins walk away. The area has lots of bars and restaurants around though it does get a bit quiet on weekends.

The reception staff were mostly friendly; one lady was slightly fierce in her dealings with the bellboy one day. I wasn’t sure how hotel security worked, if reception checked who was coming and going - food delivery guys seemed to walk straight in off the street and up to rooms.
All in all, we loved AKA White House and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with exceptional service!

We are sorry to know that you were unable to locate the pots and pans in the drawer below the oven. During your stay, if you notice any missing amenities or are unable to locate them, please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk team who can assist you in finding the items or in providing you with extras which we are sure to always have stocked!

While we do apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you by the gym renovations, we are pleased to inform you that our renovations are complete and the gym is once again open! Including state-of-the-art TechnoGym equipment, it is an ideal facility for guests to enjoy 24/7. We also continue our partnership with Results Gym and are glad to provide information regarding personal training.

We will be sure to share your feedback with our employees! This will surely help us to improve upon the service in which we take great pride! For any future reservations, please contact us directly before your stay with any special requests, such as a suite with a windowed bedroom, and we will do all that we can to arrange your stay to your preferences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.