We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Cafe

Pavilion Cafe
7th St. and Constitution Ave. NW, In the Natonal Gallery Sculpture Garden, Washington DC, DC 20565 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202 289 3360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #565 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Wilton Manors, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, great views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First visit to the Pavilion Cafe while visiting DC last weekend. A beautiful setting right in the National Mall right at the Sculpture Garden. Great people watching as well.

Lots to choose from on the menu, from quiche, to salads to sandwiches. I had the Quiche Lorraine, which comes with a small side salad. Perfect light lunch for a midday break. The quiche was warm and really good. Got to sit outide and see the fountain and people on a beautiful spring day.

I would return to the Cafe if I lived in DC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback from your recent dining experience with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your quiche and side salad while relaxing in the National Gallery of Art’s beautiful Sculpture Garden. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Cascade Cafe provides tourists with a perfect opportunity to rest from walking the Mall and visiting the glorious Washington museums. Centrally located, user friendly, scenic location with an adjacent duck pond, the food was the great surprise. We had two salads which were generous in size and featured super fresh produce. A large glass (enough for both of us) of sangria was very tasty. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stopped here with my family as we made our way between museums. It's next to the National Gallery of Art and within an easy walk of the Air & Space Museum and the Museum of Natural History.

It definitely gets packed during lunch so there will likely be a wait, but they are fairly quick. Sandwiches are all good, deserts decent as well and their sangria is surprisingly good. I was also surprised at how reasonable the prices are.

Tables inside are at a premium but in the nice weather there's a ton of outdoor seating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us; this weekend was ideal weather for enjoying a cold glass of Sangria along the mall. We are glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Sandwiches!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a great cafe to stop at while touring the mall. Sandwiches are delicious and pretty inexpensive. We sat outside and enjoyed the spring sun. Service is pretty quick and the food is tasty.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, Manager at Pavilion Cafe, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Sitting down on the Mall and enjoying a tasty sandwich in the sun is a great way to spend an afternoon. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“a hair in my sandwich”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On March 24, I went to the pavilion cafe with a friend and ordered a tuna sandwich. There was a hair inside my tuna sandwich. When I complained (very softly ) I didn't get any apology, but instead I was accused of having put the hair inside. They (two people) added that if I kept on complaining they will call the security; when I became louder, they offered me a "credit". But who wants to go back to a place that treats you so poorly?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SculptureGardenCafe, General Manager at Pavilion Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to report on your visit to the Pavilion Café, and please accept our apology for your unfortunate experience. We do not want to think of you or any guest leaving the café dissatisfied or unhappy with your experience while visiting us.

Our goals of having outstanding customer service and of serving high quality food are important to us. We appreciate your comments and concerns, and assure you we will use the information you have given us to help us improve our operation and our training practices.
Please allow us to do whatever we can to improve your impression of the café. If you would contact the general manager, we can work out the details.

Thank you again, most sincerely, for sharing your experience with us. It is through hearing the good and the not-so-good about ourselves that we learn, and become what we strive to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavilion Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pavilion Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.