We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DAS Ethiopian Restaurant

DAS Ethiopian Restaurant
1201 28th Street NW, Georgetown, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Zed's Ethiopian Restaurant)
202 333 4710
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
DAS Ethiopian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 2,567 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Nafplio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to DAS on a family trip with our 9 year old. We all enjoyed the food. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. It was a great experience

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    59
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First time Ethiopian diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience with Ethiopian food, and it was positive. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the food, did we order wrong?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a personal recommendation to try this restaurant. The decor and atmosphere was very nice, the waitress was good and the owner came around to say hello near the beginning of our meal. To start, we had the mushroom inguday tibs. This was OK but not at all spicy as we would have liked. Then we ordered the chicken and beef sampler platter but our waitress suggested that we order a vegetarian sampler platter along with the meat dish. This was an excellent suggestion as the vegetables were good but the meat sampler left us underwhelmed. There were small piles of mushy meat, a few small chunks, a tiny chicken leg and an egg. This was our first time trying Ethiopian and maybe we ordered the wrong items. I would stay away from the meat sampler plate if dining at Das.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was walking in Georgetown in June 2012 and met the owner of this restaurant on the corner while looking at the menu, although the restaurant was already closed. So when I returned to DC in February, I suggested to some friends that we might want to dine there. A reservation was made for three for 7 PM; many, many reservations were made for 7 PM, while it was freezing outside and crowded inside while people waited for tables. Not sure if they purposefully overbook, but we waited about 30 minutes, at least, for our table. The food was good; we ate the vegetarian sampler which was interesting. I had eaten Ethiopian food in NYC up on Amsterdam near Columbia many years ago, so I knew that I liked the food. The setting is very soothing; we were upstairs but sort of in a travel path, which was impactive. I liked the food, but I cannot say that it was amazing. But it was good. I would go back, especially with someone who is a vegetarian, but not sure it would be a "don't miss".

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and great Ethiopian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this place from Trip Advisor as it was very near our hote and frankly some of our old fav Ethiopian restaurants in Adams Morgan were pretty tired and run down when last we visited.
This was not a disappointment! We found a lovely setting with relaxing color and beautiful photos on walls. Service was attentive and the food was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DAS Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DAS Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DAS Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.