We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bethesda Branch....tasty surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Heritage Restaurant

Himalayan Heritage Restaurant
2305 18th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly Veneziano) (Adams Morgan)
202-483-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #599 of 2,699 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Adams Morgan
Cross street: Kalorama
Description: Voted Best 100 Restaurants in DC - Washingtonian Magazine 2009 & 2010, and located in the heart of Adam Morgan, Himalayan Heritage Restaurant & Bar provides the perfect fusion of Nepalese and Indian cuisine. We serve only the freshest ingredients, choice meats, and a wide variety of vegetarian options, spiced just right and sure to please even the most discerning palette. Our personable and attentive staff will more than exceed your every expectation. We look forward to being of service, and seeing you at your next visit to Himalayan Heritage.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“The Bethesda Branch....tasty surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The appetizers were delightful surprises...not the usual Indian stuff, although you can find the usual dishes on the large menu. We especially liked the peanuts (appetizer #1) and the cauliflower (#15). Main courses were a bit less interesting, but still tasty. Overall, a delightful evening. Our waiter missed a number of beats, but he had a charming "Oh, I coulda had a V-8" way of remonstrating with himself that made everything alright.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“interesting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

interesting place and atmosphere, not something very fancy but still nice for family reunions, couples. the food is good, a good choice especially for vegetarians.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
“Charged us for 6 extra platters”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was very tasty, but they tried charging our group of 10 for SIX extra lamb orders, it was like $250 they were trying to scam! And we know they knew exactly what they were doing because they deleted the charges immediately. If they had honestly believed we ordered those dishes, they wouldnt have taken $250 off our bill so quickly!! Never going back, plenty of other indian cuisines in dc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great New Little Cozy Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We love Indian Food! One of our favorite places in Bethesda started to go down hill. A good friend told us about the Himalayan Heritage in Bethesda. We checked it out and were very pleasantly surprised! It's a tiny little place but that's part of it's charm...and the food is good too!
We always order Samosas, Butter Chicken, Lamb Biryani, and Naan. This place does all very well. Service is good too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cozy North Indian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed eating here. Everything was very tasty and the staff there was really prompt and pleasant to chat with.

Definitely worth a visit or two during some DC travels.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Heritage Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Himalayan Heritage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Heritage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.