We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good thai food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Chef

Thai Chef
1712 Connecticut Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20009-1103 (Dupont Circle)
202 234 5698
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Thai Chef is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,355 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Street Food
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Between S and R
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“good thai food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

we stopped for pad thai one night and enjoyed it - it wasn't great pad thai, but it was good. it's clearly a popular restaurant. i'm conflicted about the service - the staff was friendly and quick to refill our water glasses, but we felt rushed. our dinner was served within 5 minutes of ordering it, and our check was on the table immediately following our last bite. we were in and out in under 30 minutes, so it wasn't a relaxing meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Waste Your Time! Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stay away from Taii Chef. The Thai food here is only average and the sushi bar (in a Thai restaurant?) was terrible. The prices are reasonable but, in this case, you get what you pay for. My date and I, whom both love Thai food, were very disappointed.

Even worse was the service. Our waitress was more interested in getting us out than serving us. And I overheard the front desk staff making fun of certain customers. Completely inappropriate at a restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Loved the sushi here! It was affordable and delicious. The people I was with ordered other things off the menu and they were also amazing! Definitely worth checking out this place!!! It was a little noisy in there though and the music selection was interesting...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Love that place, very nice Service !
They actually remember you and treat you like royalty !

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I edible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I sent the entree back as completely inedible. The soup was excellent as was the beer. No wi-fi. They didn't charge me for the entree which must happen a lot if my experience is any way the norm.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Chef also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thai Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.