We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Being In Thessaloniki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parthenon Restaurant

The Parthenon Restaurant
5510 Connecticut Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20015-2602
202-966-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Parthenon Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #298 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Livingston St. NW
Transit: Friendship Heights
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like Being In Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have visited this restaurant a few times now since moving to the DC area. We have spent a lot of time in Greece in the past and find it difficult during our travels around the globe to find good quality Greek fare. This restaurant is one of those great gems. The food is total quality. The grilled octopus is especially delicious. Parthenon also keeps a good stock of Greek wines on hand. Outstanding food. Service is great and the atmosphere is top notch. What can I say? We highly recommend a visit to Parthenon. A great experience for us and we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Greek Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visit this restaurant at least twice each month from April through October. We love the outdoor seating and the general view. An outstanding appetizer is the fried calamari with the luscious tomato sauce. I highly recommend this as a starter to your dining experience. The entrees are also very good, especially the classical Greek dishes. A wonderful evening or weekend experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A new old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good menu with good choices and selections. Went there for lamb and seafood, and each of the dinners used fresh ingredient, herbs and sides. Coming from a place that does not have particularly good bread, that served here was near the best ever. Ask Leo (server) for name and he will give it to you, but as it is in Landover, I'm sure that must or could do a very good retail business if they wanted--no time for me to try however. While we ate earlier than the norm (rush hour was not yet over) parking was ample. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYATTSVILLE
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Try the egg & lemon soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I were in the area and wanted to grab dinner before a movie. I hadn't been to this restaurant in years, but am glad I revisited it. The service was attentive, but not overly so. The atmosphere was pleasant. The house wine was very nice. I really enjoyed the egg and lemon soup! We shared a variety of appetizers because we were curious but weren't too hungry, and we left very satisfied. The menu looks so good, we'll have to return for a larger meal soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Was taken to this restaurant by family friends while visiting DC. Lamb was really tasty. Tried the salmon which was good as well. Very nice experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parthenon Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Parthenon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parthenon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.