We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice athmosphere, so-so food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Smith's of Georgetown

Mr. Smith's of Georgetown
3104 M Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Mr. Smith of Georgetown) (Georgetown)
202-333-3104
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,021 of 2,649 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Description: Welcome to Mr. Smith’s of Georgetown, the friendliest saloon in town! Located in the heart of the historic district, our restaurant, lounge and piano bar has been serving up only the best since 1965. As you enter you will see an Antique Bar with several patrons being served and entertained by one of our two famous Bartenders from Ireland and Scotland. Keep strolling along, stop by the Sing-a-Long Piano Bar with live shows six nights a week, then join us in the hidden Garden Patio. The largest in Georgetown, our indoor and outdoor Garden is the perfect spot to enjoy our famous Thousand Dollar Burger or daily Happy Hour specials. We also offer a full menu of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood entrees, as well as weekend brunch and delicious desserts. Our homemade food at reasonable prices, served in a casual atmosphere with excellent service, has made us a favorite for nearly 50 years. Visit our website for a schedule of events and specials, then come by Mr. Smith’s of Georgetown today!
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Nice athmosphere, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went in there Thursday night before President's Day with my buddies. There was a piano player/singer performing requests from a list for $1/song. We had a good time singing along and drinking beer & cocktails. Appetizers were less than stellar, but we had really nowhere to go to after midnight for food in Georgetown. Usually, this place is packed with heavy drinkers on the weekends, so it might not be for your average person.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Tourist Trap the bad , the good & the OK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

BAD:
- smith burger is junk food
- burger bun was garbage
- burger meat was dog food
- had to upgrade chips (default?) to fries
- martini was watered down

GOOD:
- outdoor seating was great

OK
- calamari appetizer

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Every time I am in Georgetown, I always hit up here. I just love the atmosphere, the food & the drinks. They do have where you can sit outside and enjoy the nice summer nights. In the winter time they light the fireplace which gives the restaurant a warm feeling. The weekend you will get a chance to sing a long with the piano player up by the bar. It can get crowded up there so do be prepared to squeeze out when it's time to leave.

But I must say..I do enjoy the place!!!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“If you are into hamburgers, go for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a very good hamburger, well prepared, well served in a pleasant environment in their "garden" section, with a good beer. Not the place for a fancy dinner, but perfect for a simple, quick dinner with no frills or pretenses but with good food and perfectly reasonable pricing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Restaurant is very cute on the inside - dark and cozy, with stained glass windows. We've been to the Tysons location numerous times before it closed; this is our first time at the Georgetown location. Food was OK - overpriced but it's Georgetown. Staff were extremely friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Smith's of Georgetown also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.