We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice athmosphere, so-so food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. Smith's of Georgetown

Mr. Smith's of Georgetown
3205 K Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Mr. Smith of Georgetown) (Georgetown)
+1 202-333-3104
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,274 of 2,680 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Description: Welcome to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown, the friendliest saloon in town! Located in the heart of the historic district, our restaurant, lounge and piano bar has been serving up only the best since 1965. As you enter you will see an Antique Bar with several patrons being served and entertained by one of our friendly bartenders. Also, check out the Sing-a-Long Piano Bar with live shows four nights a week. We offer a daily Happy Hour from 4 to 7 pm, seven days a week. We also offer a full menu of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood entrees, as well as weekend brunch & Bottomless Champagne every Saturday & Sunday. Our homemade food at reasonable prices, served in a casual atmosphere with excellent service, has made us a favorite for 50 years. Visit our website for a schedule of events and specials, then come by Mr. Smith's of Georgetown today!
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
509 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice athmosphere, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Went in there Thursday night before President's Day with my buddies. There was a piano player/singer performing requests from a list for $1/song. We had a good time singing along and drinking beer & cocktails. Appetizers were less than stellar, but we had really nowhere to go to after midnight for food in Georgetown. Usually, this place is packed with heavy drinkers on the weekends, so it might not be for your average person.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Tourist Trap the bad , the good & the OK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

- smith burger is junk food
- burger bun was garbage
- burger meat was dog food
- had to upgrade chips (default?) to fries
- martini was watered down

- outdoor seating was great

- calamari appetizer

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Thank hank a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Favorite spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Every time I am in Georgetown, I always hit up here. I just love the atmosphere, the food & the drinks. They do have where you can sit outside and enjoy the nice summer nights. In the winter time they light the fireplace which gives the restaurant a warm feeling. The weekend you will get a chance to sing a long with the piano player up by the bar. It can get crowded up there so do be prepared to squeeze out when it's time to leave.

But I must say..I do enjoy the place!!!

Visited May 2011
Thank Vernique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
226 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“If you are into hamburgers, go for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a very good hamburger, well prepared, well served in a pleasant environment in their "garden" section, with a good beer. Not the place for a fancy dinner, but perfect for a simple, quick dinner with no frills or pretenses but with good food and perfectly reasonable pricing.

Visited February 2012
Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Restaurant is very cute on the inside - dark and cozy, with stained glass windows. We've been to the Tysons location numerous times before it closed; this is our first time at the Georgetown location. Food was OK - overpriced but it's Georgetown. Staff were extremely friendly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank optimist333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Smith's of Georgetown also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC

Been to Mr. Smith's of Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing