We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smithsonian American Art Museum

Smithsonian American Art Museum
8th and F Streets, NW, Washington DC, DC 20013
(202) 633-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #18 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Smithsonian Institution that owns more than 40,000 works depicting the history of art in the United States.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

There is so much to see... so beautiful... we were completely awestruck!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    118
    22
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is by far my favorite of the Smithsonian Museum's. It's away from the mall and less patronized than the others. There's always something interesting and different on display.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Building Interesting Collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I love the folk art and the old models submitted with patent applications, found on the first floor. There are some amazing mouse traps there! On the third floor I like the modern art collection, which has a lot of good 20th century pieces, but is not overwhelming in size. The renovated building is lovely, the tile floors alone are worth a visit. And, of course, it's free.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Check out the classics.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Their map leads you straight to the goodies. Very funny Impressionists, nice landscapes, good Van Goghs. It's all here and the price is right.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great! We Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We started in the Art of Video Games Section. After that we thought we would leave but we went around the 3rd floor. It was very cool. The exhibit with the portraits of the Presidents was very cool. The courtyard area was very relaxing. All of the sculptures and busts were very elegant. I would reccomend this museum.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithsonian American Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian American Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithsonian American Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.