We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DC Cafe

DC Cafe
2035 P Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20036-5910 (Dupont Circle)
202-887-5819
Improve this listing
Ranked #388 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

As one review stated a hole in the wall. Food was excellent, fresh, yummy.....man behind the counter very nice and kind. Outdoor seating..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Classic Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great basic Mediterranean food - gyros, shawarma, falafel, salads. All fresh and generous portions. It’s a hole in the wall but it also happens to be located on P Street in the heart of the DuPont Circle area and it's delightful to sit outside any time of year and watch the world go by. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Total hole in the wall. Great food! Found it by accident. Go there! You'll love it too. The owner is super-friendly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“My favorite food in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to DC and I made sure to come back here. The food was just as delicious as I remember. I got a huge chicken sandwich for about $8. The chicken was cooked fresh and the sauce was delicious. It looks like a hole in the wall, and the staff barely speak english, but it is well worth the stop!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Tiny hole in the wall, but reliably good for cheap Mediterranean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Authentic, large portions, zero ambiance, room for maybe five people to eat in there...but nice people, very reasonable prices, and all your favorites (falafel, gyro, shwarma, baklava, and so on).

I like to take some to go and bring it to my hotel when staying at the Palomar, a minute up the street.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC Cafe also viewed

 

Been to DC Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.