We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy man's salad.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chop't

Chop't
1300 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
202-327-2255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lazy man's salad.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

It is almost like they do half the chewing for you considering that everything is chopped into bite sizes. We got the vegetarian powerhouse with white balsamic and harvest cobb with sap dijon dressing - both were reasonable for cost, size and ingredients. We liked the veggie one better. Also got a pop - their black cherry coke and vanilla cream was delicious with promises of no high fructose syrup.

Overall very tasty and our location was very close to U Street Metro. However ifyou prefer something more sustainable (reusable bowls/no garbage), we def recommend sweetgreen. Similar but with a much more eco-friendly vision.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    56
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.E. TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, fresh and fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lots of selections and build your own options available. The line may be lined up out the door, but it moves fast. Great place for those watching calories. Everything was fresh and tasted great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I always love to stop at Chop't at Union Station when travelling through Washington DC.
The salads are delicious and are completely customizable. I love that they show the calorie count for everything on their menu, makes eating heatlhy so much easier.
I usually order the Cobb salad with avocado and sunflower seeds - and then I request it to be chopped up super thin - the flavors mesh together so well when it's chopped a lot!
If you like a great salad this is the place for you!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Challenge of Eating Healthy While Traveling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had heard of Chop't but had not been in a city with a Chop't in it until now. After of day of flight delays and rush hour traffic, I found myself pretty hungry for dinner around 8:30pm. It's so easy to grab a carb loaded bagel or fat laden fast food option close to the hotel, but I was lucky enough to find this place just a few blocks from the hotel.

The options are almost overwhelming, so I chose the Vegetarian Power Salad. I am happy to report that it was DELICIOUS and it was healthy.

I'm here for a few days and know I'll be back to try many of the other salad options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty, healthy, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The concept is SALAD, pick your own ingredients and they chop them up and mix them with your choice of many dressings. You can get a big salad or a salad/wrap for around $10. This will be a nice healthy change from eating either expensive and usually heavy restaurant food or the customary fast fried stuff. Fast food with a difference.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop't also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Chop't? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chop't, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.