We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre and over-priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Taj of India

Taj of India
2809 M Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)
202-965-4266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taj of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #657 of 2,699 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“mediocre and over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lamb Nilgiri Korma: Boneless meat cooked with coriander, green chilies, cream, coconut and cashew nut sauce. Lamb was very bland and over-cooked, and some chunks were fatty (I specifically said I did not want the lamb option unless it was lean). The rice was dry and flavorless, maybe reheated too many times. The chicken dish was also bland, the chicken chewy. The sauces were not complex.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    38
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not worth going !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Pathetic food ! I am an avid fan of Indian cuisine , but my experience at this restaurant was not pleasant at all. Not only were there no complimentary snacks , which is the norm at most restaurants , the general quality of food was atrocious . Inspite of asking for the food to be made less spicy, the food served to us was so spicy that after a few bites we decided to get up and leave ! Do not consider going here , there are loads of other better options in the vicinity .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“A bustling, busy restaurant with very good authentic Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall our experience was very good. On arrival, however, we were disturbed that no table had been reserved for us despite making an OpenTable reservation. The table we were given (there being no other) involved one of us sitting across 2 benches and being about 6 inches from tables either side. The servers were hard-working and constantly on the move, but we had to wait over an hour before we received our entrees. I had lamb rogan josh, my wife lamb biriani Both were really excellent, as was the dal side dish. Papadums a tad too spicy for us, but the Peshawar naan was excellent. Also the wine list was pretty good. A nice South African Syrah did the job well. This is a bustling busy restaurant but the noise level is low enough to allow conversation. Will we return? Absolutely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Much Enjoyed this Georgetown Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Healthy portions and delicious food. Nice to find a nice ethnic "joint" in Georgetown that's not hugely overpriced. Good service (sometimes too good) and reasonable "price performance ratio." Will eagerly return soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nothing fancy, but a clean, conveniently located restaurant where it is easy to have a nice conversation at the table. Many of the district's restaurants are so clattery, that ease of dinner conversation is much impeded, but not at Taj where---for some reason-- the volume has been lowered.

All four of us liked the food and felt it compared well to Indian fare in other large cities. The skill in food preparation was especially appreciated as the price for dinner was, like the volume, also much lower.

Would definitely recommend Taj to others, particularly if they are staying in the Georgetown area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj of India also viewed

 

Been to Taj of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.