We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Special Dinner Perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tasca

La Tasca
722 7th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
(202) 347-9190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tasca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #261 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: H Street
Transit: Metro - Chinatown/Gallery Place Metro Stop (red, yellow, and green lines)
Description: Happy Hour, 4-7 PM Everyday! Bar Only: $3.50 glasses of draft beer, house wine ($15 bottles), Sangria ($15 pitchers); $3.00 select tapas; Ask about our seasonal drink specials. Seating for 275 people on two floors. Book a complete floor for your own private party with private bar. In the Heart of the Penn Quarter, take the Metro Red, Yellow, or Green Lines to Gallery Place/ChinaTown.DINER’S CHOICE: La Tasca DC was recently named in “GOOD FOR GROUPS” CATEGORY
Pasadena
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Made Special Dinner Perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hosted a surprise16th birthday party here for my daughter. I was so please from the time I made the reservation to the time we concluded the party. They assigned 2 waiters to our table and the food seem to keep coming. Everything was absolutely delicious! Cooked to perfection. Nothing arrived cold or over cooked. I would definitely recommend La Tasca to anyone looking to host a large party. The one thing I would have liked was to have had someone designated at the hostess stand to lead us downstairs to the party (that was already seated). As it was, they just told me to go down and look for our party. I think it would have helped to have one person who was handling the party from start to finish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    140
    71
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I tried the stuffed peppers, steak and potatoes, and pork tenderloin. The peppers weren't my thing, but the steak and pork tenderloin were very good. This is a great place to try different flavors/foods.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Great lunch time tasting experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been here twice at lunch time and both times took the $22 unlimited tapas option which is well worth the price. Since most of the tapas range from $7-8, it's a better deal to get the unlimited option. I've found the quality and taste of the tapas to vary considerably, so I mostly pick my favorites, while experimenting with a few new ones. Two of us started with 5 tapas, including an excellent spinach salad and tasty dates wrapped with blue cheese. The cheese bread (pan de ajo con queso), which I really liked last time, was dry and not so good this time, and the ham and cheese platter (tabla de jamon y queso) was just a ham and cheese sandwich--dry and not so good. We then went on with 4 more substantial offerings. The buey al jerez (angus beef with mushroom sauce) was the tastiest I've ever had of steak strips and the best offering I've had at La Tasca. Likewise, the mussels (Mejillones) were excellent--juicy and tasty. Wine is limited by the glass if you like reds, but standard pricing. I wish they had a dessert tapas offering, but they don't.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NEVER A BAD MEAL OR SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The fresh pasta, the creamy sauces and fresh ingredients make this one of our favorite standouts. Been coming here for years, what ever changes may occur in the staff, it is never felt at the dining table. The service is impeccable. The restaurant is intimate for a large space and very elegant. Perfect for a group or couple. Dress for a nice evening out because, eating here is an event for your taste buds. Celebrate it, it will be a special night. Leave room for the decatant desserts and please don't count calories here. Worry about exchanges, exercising later and just let your mouth rejoice. You will leave with a smile on your face. Local street parking at/right after 6:pm(rush hour ends) is great, free & easy to find. Later use valet/garage parking and bring $$$.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Downtown Eats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A great option for killing time while waiting for the game to begin or just for people watching. It's a bit on the pricey side for not a lot of food. But then if you wanted to go cheap, you might opt for the Greene Turtle instead.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to La Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.