We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Komi

Komi
1509 17th St., Between P and Q Streets, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)
202-332-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant is spectacular. We had dinner there for my 50th birthday. From the moment we booked one month prior from Australia we received excellent service. The greeting was wonderful and then the amazing food started, every dish was tasty and wonderfully presented. The small dishes are excellent and then the wonderful roasted goat shoulder with pita bread just fabulous. The accompanying wines were also excellent. A wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    30
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in DC. Period. (and I've eaten at all of them)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have eaten at every fine dining restaurant in DC, often multiple times. For a high end meal, Komi still dazzles and thoroughly impresses. A series of small elegant plates with beautiful presentations and subtle and almost mystifying flavors followed by a large joint of roasted lamb or goat or suckling pig shared by the table. One doesn't leave hungry, and all the senses are titillated. A wonderful experience, not to be missed by the serious foodie.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sensational food but very expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an amazing restaurant. We had 15 courses - think Mediterranean tapas (Greek-inspired). Starts small and builds to a crescendo, followed by 3 dessert courses. Our favorites: scallops two ways (seared and ceviche), rabbit liver mousse on grilled sourdough, grilled kid (baby goat) with homemade pita with a variety of condiments. Shared a wine flight -- the sommelier was friendly and informative. There is no menu, so you get what the chef decides to prepare for you (though they do ask food allergies, etc. when you book). $135pp, plus optional $70 for wine flight. Very subdued atmosphere -- a bit dark for my taste. Superb service by a friendly wait staff. A very special special-occasion restaurant. No party larger than four.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was a little worried about going to Komi's for the first time. High prices, no menu, umpteen courses and various picky eaters (no shellfish me no raw fish for others). But the worry was misplaced. After asking once what we did not want to eat, each course was seamlessly tailored to our individual preferences.

And what courses. The food is just divine and keeps coming. HIghlights of the 15 or so courses - the strawberry gazpacho with liver pate which was simply out of this world and the goat main course I defy anyone to cook goat better.

There were times when you simply wanted to stop them and ask for a full plate of one of the small bites you had just eaten. But overall there was plenty to eat.

With 15 or more dishes all the staff take turns in clearing and serving and each has a very professional and relaxed way of working which made it a pleasure to be there.

Expensive yes. But worth every dollar. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not so impressed ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Yes, among the many dishes there were very good bites. But "surreal" and "over the top" as other stated? No.
The hype sets expectations simply way too high - we have had more exciting and more consistent dinners than at Komi. Including in DC.
So, do go, you'll have a good time, but ratchet down your expectations a notch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komi also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Komi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.