We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bryan Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We are glad we chose this hotel for our D.C. vacation. The location is just a short walk to the Metro, and being a blue line stop makes it very convenient for many DC attractions without transferring. The front desk staff and doorman were extremely helpful. The room was basically clean, yet getting a little worn. The Doubletree bedding was superb. The kitchen was good for breakfast and keeping our water bottles cold in the refrigerator, but dont expect to do much cooking. The utensils are extremely limited. We called several times to get 3 cereal bowls and spoons delivered. The room was quiet and we never heard any other guests. The Watergate complex with the Safeway and CVS is a few blocks away, and you can walk to Georgetown for dining. We booked several months in advance and paid a rate of $174 per night. Overall, a very good choice for us.

  • Liked — location and bedding
  • Disliked — limited kitchen utensils
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    158
    74
    32
    23
See reviews for
179
47
25
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

The room was not what we expected of a Doubletree Hotel. The non smoking room smelled of smoke unless the air conditioner was run constantly. The hide-a-bed in the sofa was boken and unusable and the bedding on it looked used.The roll-away bed to replace it took up most of the living space. When we arrived there were only 2 bath towells, one bar of saop and 1/2 a roll of toilet paper in the room.
We were not informed of the continental breakfast until we over heard other guests talking about it on Monday morning.When we asked where it was we were told it was only on week ends.
The doormen were all very polite and friendly. The location was good if you could overcome the faults found with the rooms.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We have just return from a great Vacation in Wash. DC, & found staying at this Hotel was the perfect choice for us, much better than we ever expected. Everyone of the Staff were above board & Friendly, especially Kate, the Front Desk Supervisior & Melvin, the Front Door Bellman. The room was on the 8th Floor, quiet, clean, & comfortable. Beds were extremely great, Kitchen was wonderful for the 3 of us, two Adults, one teenager, who bought our supplies at the Watergate Complex, that was a 5 minute walk away,had Safeway store opened until 10pm,Bakery,Post Office, Liquor,DryCleaning stores all in one complex. The Metro station was 1&1/2 blocks away, took us to everywhere,we wanted to go, Circulator Bus over to Georgetown, was closeby. Any problem we encounted, was resolved quickly, key wouldn't open door, phone was dead, plug for tub, need for more coffee mugs in room, even liquor soap for washing out glasses & utensils was done without delay. Even gave us a large pan to cook our Crab Legs in, for dinner one night. The 2 TV's & 2 Phones in the room were very convenient, bathroon door could use a hook to hang clothes on, but other than that, we found this place to be the best. The Ice machine,Vendor machines & washer & dryer in a little room down the hall, was very nice, the pool area on the roof, was very pretty, with Planters filled with Flowers, tables & chairs, radio playing nice music, pool a little too cool, but great to stick your legs into after a full day of walking. Would love to stay here again if ever the chance arises.

  • Liked — Location,Staff,Price,Size
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

We stayed here with a group of teenagers to see Washington. It's a block and a half from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, a block and a half from the Watergate, and two blocks from the Kennedy Center. It's about a mile from Georgetown, and a half mile from Lincoln Memorial, so it's easy to get anywhere from the hotel.
There's a Safeway at the Watergate - go down the steps by the fountain and it's to the right. There's also a 7-Eleven the other direction on New Hampshire Ave, but it looked dirty - I wouldn't buy food there. The Safeway is open more hours anyway. The kitchen doesn't have an oven, but other than that is a "full" kitchen. You have to request pots and pans, and the clean dishes are stored in the dishwasher. It saved a lot of money to be able to fix breakfast in the room - next time, we'll fix lunch too and take it with us. (Just remember you can't take food or even water into the Capitol.) The sofa bed was not too bad (or maybe I was just really tired), and it was nice having queen size beds so the kids could easily share a bed. The front desk staff were really friendly, and the maintenance was prompt.
Another poster suggested the week-long Metro pass - you might try the Short Trip pass which is cheaper and you can go anywhere in the district any time, or longer trips as long as they're not during peak commute times. The airport is so easy to get to on the Metro I would not take a cab.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

I thought this was a really nice hotel. We had 5 adults, and all wanted to stay together, so this worked perfectly. Our room had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. We called housekeeping twice for different things, and they came very quickly. One downside is that parking is $25/day, but you'll have that in a lot of big cities. It's an easy walk to Lincoln Memorial, and the subway is right there, and you can take that anywhere.
Overall, great location and decent price for downtown DC.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paying for parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.