We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The location can't be beat -15 min. stroll to Georgetown and 1.5 blocks from a Metro. Great Whole Foods market 2 blocks away. Surprisingly quiet location. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. The included breakfast is good and nice to get you started quickly on your way. Rooms are large for a city hotel and having a refrigerator and microwave is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hi Karen C,
Thank you for your comments. As you experienced, our suites really are designed to make you feel like you are at home. It's great that you found the proximity of local amenities convenient. We are truly lucky to be so centrally located. We do hope to see you again soon on a return visit.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    149
    75
    29
    22
See reviews for
158
46
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a great property with excellent service. Extremely affordable and complementary breakfast. Parking available on the street if you can find it. Excellent stay and would definitely stay again. Ask for Jasmyn, she is amazing!!!.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello James G.,

Thanks you for your comments. We thrive on guest feedback and appreciate you taking the time to offer a few words. So happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Jasmyn is amazing as are all our guest service representatives.

We hop to see you again soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Residence Inn in Foggy Bottom for one Saturday night. Upon arrival, the staff could not have been more friendly. We valet parked our car ($40/night) and the valet showed up quickly and was very friendly. The front desk staff was also friendly and we were checked into our room very quickly.

We were given a great room (1001) in the corner of the 10th floor. It was huge. It had a small kitchen, living area with modern furniture, and spacious king bedded bedroom that could be closed off completely from the living room. The only odd feature about the room was the bathroom. It was very small. Barely enough space to close the door behind you. The bathroom, however, did have a great shower.

My only complaint about the hotel was the complementary breakfast (I know, how do you complain about a free breakfast!). I found the choices, especially in the cereal department, to be lacking. Additionally, the way the milk and yogurt is stored (under the counter mini-fridges) did not make these products very cold. I was told by the staff (again very friendly) that people don't always close the doors properly. This, to me, seems like a potential problem that could be addressed by keeping the milk and yogurt out for breakfast service in an ice bowl or other cold container.

Overall, I would happily stay at the hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway. They seem to be bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hello dctravel,

You are so very appreciated for taking the time to offer a few words about your recent visit with us. You certainly did snag a fantastic room with awesome views. Good of you to give that room tip end of the hallway rooms to future guests.

We certainly will consider all suggestions as our aim is to provide our guests with great and memorable service.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel from 8/3 through 8/8. Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the breakfast each morning and reception in afternoon. Very clean. Great location, close to metro. Would definitely stay here again.

The only recommendations we have is to add faster internet access and premier movie channels (even if for purchase.)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello Ipfaffe,

You comments are so welcome and appreciated. We do believe we have the most friendly staff in DC. They really do enjoy meeting and serving our guests. On your next visit, ask about our enhanced faster internet service. Your other recommendations are certainly under consideration. Thanks again.

All the best to you and the family.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed with a large group of 7 families with children. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. We were able to order take out on Friday and Saturday evenings and use the common area to eat. They staff was never in our way, nor did they make us feel in their way. The breakfast had choices for everyone. I don't think you could beat the location. It is on a quiet street, but close to Georgetown and a Metro. A Whole Foods is minutes walking distance from the hotel and a convenience store is even closer. Parking is a little high, but this is a city and you get in and out privileges at that rate. If you are internet savvy you can find good deals on multi-day parking close by. But, you will not get in and out privileges. With a metro so close you do not really need them. If I ever find myself needing a place to stay for a weekend or longer this will be my goto hotel.

Thanks to the staff for being so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi 2baGuy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your stay with us. We remember your group.. You all were wonderful guests and we were happy to be at your service. We are pleased to know that we met all your needs without getting in your way. You are correct in that our property is nestled on a quiet street, but with close proximity to plenty of off-property amenities and sites. It is great that you discovered several of these.

We will certainly convey your kind words to the staff. Many thanks to you and the other families for being such great guests.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I can't say enough about how pleasantly surprised we were by our stay at the Residence Inn/Foggy Bottom! As soon as we saw the quaint neighborhood and experienced the friendliness of the staff immediately upon our arrival, we were just so happy with our choice. I'm one that really believes the hotel can make or break your visit, and in this case, it helped make the trip much more comfortable and enjoyable.

We have two kids and the suite with kitchen was great for keeping drinks and snacks. The kids enjoyed the rooftop pool, the breakfast room was lovely and there were many choices, something for everyone. We stayed on the 8th floor and one of the things that struck me most was how QUIET it was! Usually, you have street noise, doors slamming, etc., but at night, the our room was extremely quiet, which is great if you're a light sleeper (like me!).

Greg, the doorman, was so friendly and helpful, as was everyone at the desk. The hotel is very clean and the location is ideal for sightseeing, just a short subway or cab ride away from the Mall and all the attractions. (Just a tip: cab was same price as subway for 4 of us and drops you off right at your destination.) The neighborhood is VERY cute and there are restaurants very nearby. Watergate is just across the way.

One note: Parking is expensive, as it is everywhere, but based on another TripAdvisor review, we used SpotHero and paid $75 for parking our car just a few short blocks away in a garage in a very nice area. We didn't really need the car, as we walked, took cabs or subway all week.

Overall, I can't say enough about how much I would recommend this hotel based on its location, lack of noise and friendly staff. We'd definitely return the next time we come to DC.

Room Tip: We stayed on 8th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear PRStrategist,

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and doubly pleased that you took the time to share your experience. Thank you.

It's good to know that you enjoyed so many of our amenities. Indeed, our guest suites provide the familiarity of your kitchen at home. Great parking advice too!

Thank you for commenting about our friendly staff. Greg is a fantastic new addition. We are happy he is now part of our family...and yours.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great hotel and Ideal for an extended stay: clean, modern, nice furnishings and amenities, and excellent location in Foggy Bottom. I stayed here on business accompanied my wife and infant son, who were extremely comfortable. The kitchen is great, and close proximity to both Whole Foods and Trader Joe's makes it ideal to prepare meals. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi Alex T,
Yes, our property is designed for extended stay guests; although we are happy to welcome all guests. It is a wonderful thing that you can enjoy a home cooked meal here with our full kitchen and close proximity to grocery stores. We are so happy your family felt at home, away from home. Please consider us again on your next stay in the area; whether for one night or 100.
All the best and thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.