We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Highly Recommended for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, Highly Recommended for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great hotel and Ideal for an extended stay: clean, modern, nice furnishings and amenities, and excellent location in Foggy Bottom. I stayed here on business accompanied my wife and infant son, who were extremely comfortable. The kitchen is great, and close proximity to both Whole Foods and Trader Joe's makes it ideal to prepare meals. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi Alex T,
Yes, our property is designed for extended stay guests; although we are happy to welcome all guests. It is a wonderful thing that you can enjoy a home cooked meal here with our full kitchen and close proximity to grocery stores. We are so happy your family felt at home, away from home. Please consider us again on your next stay in the area; whether for one night or 100.
All the best and thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    149
    75
    29
    22
See reviews for
158
46
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The location of the Residence Inn was perfect for our purpose of travel. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. It really had that "Welcome Home" feeling. The Residence Inn offered evening gatherings from Monday thru Thursday and it was a great time to enjoy good food with other guests. The location of the Residence Inn to local restaurants and shopping was also a plus. It was also an easy walk to Georgetown and the Washington Harbor area. Easy access to the Metro and easy walk to the Lincoln Memorial. All hotels in DC that we have stayed in charge a high parking fee with an added tax so be prepared. It would be nice if it was a complimentary service.

Room Tip: We had an end room and that was perfect. I would think that the rooms near the elevator may be a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good day PattiM46,
We really do want our guests to feel at home at our property. That is why we work so hard to make sure our amenities and services are delivered with ease and a genuine "we are happy you are here" demeanor. It is so kind of you to offer tips to future guests. Thanks for recommending us.

Warmes regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great location in DC. Walk to nice restaurants. Room was very clean and mattresses were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was also good. Only negative was the cost of car valet service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello Minivanmom11,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our property. Our location does offer easy access to great dining and sightseeing. Yes, parking in the area can present some challenges, but we are lucky to be able to offer the service to our guests; albeit at comparable rates for the area. Still, we are glad your stay was a great one. We hope to see you again on a return visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I'm staying here 10 nights on business. The location can't be beat - less than two blocks from the metro and also very close to Whole Foods and several good restaurants such as BTS and Founding Farmers. Internet speed is good, the room is clean, and the hot food at breakfast is varied daily. Mostly what I've noticed here is that the staff is unusually friendly and helpful. I'll choose this again when I need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello backpacktravelers,

Thank you for your comments. Our staff thrives on the interactions they have with guests. We genuinely want our guests to have a great stay and to find our accommodations exceptional. Thank you for commenting on that. And you are correct, we are so very close to so many attractions and great places to shop and/or eat. You mention several great choices.

Take care and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My teenage children, husband and I stayed at this Marriott property to tour the sights of Washington, DC. It is extremely easy to get to, via the Metro, from the Ronald Reagan airport. As a matter of fact, it was only about a block away from the Foggy Bottom Metro station. We arrived there at 9:30am, were welcomed by the hotel employees who offered to store our luggage, as check in was not until 4pm. This allowed us to go out and about to sight see. The hotel was extremely clean, quiet, welcoming and offered free breakfast to all its guests. As a matter of fact, the day we arrived, the front desk clerk offered us breakfast even though we had not checked in yet! Having breakfast at the hotel daily saved us a tremendous amount of time and money. The Marriott offers many selections for breakfast including waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, fruit, yogurt parfaits, cereal, coffee, tea, milk and juices to name a few. There is something for everybody! The best part of the hotel is the amazing staff! All are so friendly, polite and graciously accommodating! I can't say enough about them! Thank you to all the employees that made our stay in DC so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Nancy W,
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and especially our employees. Here at Residence Inn Foggy Bottom we really do enjoy our guests and make it a point to make them welcome. We are glad you felt that. We hope to see you again at our property.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I gave this a "Very Good" because they seem to be new and are still working out some kinks, however, the staff is extremely helpful and if there is a problem they "own" it until it's resolved. Ebony in particular is very helpful and professional. I have already booked additional stays throughout the summer.

Room Tip: I prefer high rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Greg B.,
Thank you for your comments and rating. We strive to provide the best service Part of that is making sure our guests' needs are always met and is the primary goal for every interaction. And you are right, Ebony is a gem. We are lucky to have her on our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed overnight last 4th of July. Check-in was easy. The room was very clean. Luckily valet parking was offered (for a fee) as street parking is close to impossible at that time. It was an easy 6 block walk from the hotel to the Lincoln Memorial for prime seating in tront of the reflecting pool to watch the fireworks. Alternatively, one could just stay at the hotel rooftop to view the show. The hotel is only a block and a half away from the Foggy Bottom Metro station thus everything in the DC Metro is accessible.

Room Tip: request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi 777traveler888,
Thank you for staying with us over the July 4th weekend. What a great location you and your family chose to watch the fireworks! Happy you found our location accessible for all your jaunts around the city. We hope to see you next 4th or perhaps sooner. Thanks again and take good care.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.