We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good for Business Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I gave this a "Very Good" because they seem to be new and are still working out some kinks, however, the staff is extremely helpful and if there is a problem they "own" it until it's resolved. Ebony in particular is very helpful and professional. I have already booked additional stays throughout the summer.

Room Tip: I prefer high rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Greg B.,
Thank you for your comments and rating. We strive to provide the best service Part of that is making sure our guests' needs are always met and is the primary goal for every interaction. And you are right, Ebony is a gem. We are lucky to have her on our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    149
    75
    29
    22
See reviews for
158
46
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed overnight last 4th of July. Check-in was easy. The room was very clean. Luckily valet parking was offered (for a fee) as street parking is close to impossible at that time. It was an easy 6 block walk from the hotel to the Lincoln Memorial for prime seating in tront of the reflecting pool to watch the fireworks. Alternatively, one could just stay at the hotel rooftop to view the show. The hotel is only a block and a half away from the Foggy Bottom Metro station thus everything in the DC Metro is accessible.

Room Tip: request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi 777traveler888,
Thank you for staying with us over the July 4th weekend. What a great location you and your family chose to watch the fireworks! Happy you found our location accessible for all your jaunts around the city. We hope to see you next 4th or perhaps sooner. Thanks again and take good care.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at this hotel using our Marriott points over the July 4 weekend. The staff were excellent and very knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast time was busy but they have 3 waffle stations, 2 toasters, plenty of fresh fruits (not the canned kind), lots of coffee and juices. The hotel is in a great location in Downtown Washington D.C. The rooftop pool is impressive but small. We watch the July 4 fireworks from the rooftop which was a real treat. Security guards walking the hotel regularly. Very safe, great for families or long term stays. I was sad we only stayed 3 days. Definitely would stay again in Washington.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi salvatore70,

We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. We were excited to be able to allow our guests to view the magnificent fireworks from the rooftop pool. Hope you got some great pics! We look forward to greeting you on your next visit and hope you are able to be with us for a longer period.

Thank you so much for sharing your comments.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location. The Metro stop is a block away. There are several very nice restaurants near and a Whole foods to supplement your eating. The hotel staff are great: knowledgeable and helpful. Our stay included a weeknight with a very good supper, perfect if you don't feel like going out for a fancy meal. Breakfasts were great, with the usual Belgian waffles, cereals, muffins plus eggs Benedict or something similar. Easy walk to Georgetown and the rest of DC is accessible by the Metro.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hi M0Nica1941,
We are very appreciative of your kind review of our property. It seems you enjoyed all the amenities that combine to make our property so user friendly. These include our complimentary breakfast, social hour and our centralized location. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit here.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We decided to take a trip to DC with our 10 and 7 year old boys and our time in DC couldn't have been any better and this hotel was one of the reasons for that.

The breakfast was awesome and really helped us save money. The food was very good and there was always enough there. The staff was great and very helpful with any questions we had in either getting around or where things might be.

In short, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for it placement, amenities and staff friendliness. It was within walking distance of the monuments, Arlington Nat Cenetary and Georgetown and gettign a cab (when necessary) was very easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good day Frank C.,
Thank you for your comments. We will share your comments about our breakfast with the staff. They are always happy to hear that guests were pleased with the offerings and service. Indeed, they thrive on providing stellar service. And, you are correct, partaking in the breakfast is an economic approach to vacationing in DC. We sincerely hope to see you and the boys again soon.
Take good care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful, stayed two nights with 5 kids. Rooms were clean and spacious, had no issues. It is in a great location and the metro is only a short walk away. The kids had a great time exploring Washington DC ! Only bummer is parking is 40 dollars a day, and has to be valet!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hi June B,
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We do consider ourselves a family-friendly property and consider ourselves lucky you chose to stay with us with your kids. DC is a great place to learn and explore. We are fortunate to be so close to the major sites; which allows our guests easy access. Hope to see you and the kids on a return visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This Residence Inn is a wonderful hotel in Washington. It's location is very convenient to many attractions and George Washington University. We used this hotel as a base for multiple adventures into DC. The staff of the hotel were knowledgable and exceptionally helpful. The rooms were large - all suites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The location is only 2 blocks from the Metro. Be sure to enjoy the breakfast and great evening buffet. Even in you are having dinner, the happy hour is a great way to start your evening. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Washington DC.

Finally, Taeketa, at the front desk, is a fabulous employee and representative for your hotel. She was a joy and very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Ruffus06,
Thank you for the kind endorsement. We do think about and work hard to provide the best amenities for our guests. Our breakfast and evening social are just two such offerings. We are so happy you enjoyed them both. Great advice to start the evening with the social before going out. Thank you also for the generous note about Takieta. We are fortunate to have her on our team..
See you both on a return visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.