We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very very Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So very very Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

A few minutes from Metro with car safely parked , Staff just could not be more helpful, informative and courteous lovely room with added advantage of not only a good breakfast but also enjoyable evening food Mon - Thursday with a beer or glass of wine. Walked the Mall paid respects to JFK even saw Mr Obama , then in no time back in the comfortable Residence Inn

Room Tip: All rooms well sound proofed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi johnboyrh2,
What a whirlwind tour you had! We are happy that at the end of the day you came back to the comforts of your room and our amenities. Our Monday thru Thursday social is designed to help our guests relax after a hectic day of taking in the sights, business meetings or other activities. Glad you enjoyed it.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    149
    75
    29
    22
See reviews for
158
46
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linton, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We got this room for $89.00 per night on Hotels Tonight. Free Breakfast was better than most. Best Hotel coffee I have ever had. Eggs/spinach Benedict was great. Staff was beyond friendly. I did not pay to park ... Won't pay 40 bucks per day to park ANYWHERE :) one block from metro one block from Whole Foods which came in handy ( I have food restrictions )... The rate was $265 on all other sites linked by trip advisor... I feel like I hit the hotel lottery with this one. Both elevators were working fine for our entire stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Kim C,

What a steal of a deal! We were happy to have you and hope to see you again soon. We make it a point to provide fresh coffee for our guests 24/7 and are all smiles at your review. Our LGSA team will be so happy to hear it. Here's to finding another deal for your next visit with us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon Vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed a week. Great customer service. Great breakfast, fruit, coffee cereal. And a hot meal eggs meat. Waffles. All the Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Hope we get another chance to go to Washington,Dc and we will stay there a again. Close to everything, Metro and bus. Shopping. (food)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Vermont-Lou,

"Close to everything..." is how we often describe our property. We are pleased you found that description to be true. We consider our breakfast second to none and are happy you enjoyed that too. Thanks for sharing your impressions.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend.We were moving our son into George Washington University for a summer program and this was the most convenient hotel. The staff was extremely helpful answering all our questions and getting us pointed in the right direction. The breakfast was swamped Sunday morning but the staff did a good job keeping up with it. Rooms are spacious,quiet and clean. We will stay here again when we pick our son up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Mark H,

Congratulations on your son's entry into the GWU summer program. Our staff is always ready to share their knowledge about the surrounding area. We are glad we were able to answer all your questions. As you noticed, Memorial Day weekend is a busy time for us, but we do our best to maintain the same level of service...always. See you on the return trip for your son.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night and overall had a pleasant experience. The room was rather large compared to other Residence Inns that I stayed in. I loved the decor with teal walls and brown/teal carpeting. The room was immaculate, extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood so its very quiet. We did hear about a pool on the roof so we went to check it out - that didn't work out too well. It's very small, almost like a cruise ship type pool and a bunch of kids took it over with cannonballs, splashing etc so we left. The one thing that was a problem was that there is no taxi service available and they don't call one for you. Concierge or yourself has to stand in the middle of the street and hope one happens to drive by. It's in a residential neighborhood so not many come by. The location is about a mile or so from most attractions. I would have to say that I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi LisaNewYork,

We appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Happy you liked the property's decor and the cleanliness and comfort of our accommodations. Transportation is usually available right outside our doors, but we'll be happy to prearrange a cab for you on your next visit. Hope to see you soon.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I am pleased that we chooses this hotel. It locates a few minutes from metro station and some places in walking distances ad well. The breakfast was good with good variety. WiFi strength decent. Overall no negative comments. Highly recommend for Family with kids.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Good day mobpas,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy you found our location convenient and our breakfast satisfying. We do enjoy welcoming families to our property.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this location for 2 nights while visiting our daughter. The hotel had just been newly renovated and it looked fantastic! Loved the awesome breakfast area, food was great and the seating was comfortable and well thought out. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room was meticulously clean and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return when we're back in the area!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Rileyjax,

We are so very proud of our renovations and so very happy you like them. The property was designed with you in mind to be inviting and comforting. Thank you for noting the breakfast area and the cleanliness of the room. We will be sure to share your generous thoughts with the staff. We do hope we see you again when you next visit your daugher.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.