We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Sub-Par Facility” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #67 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Sub-Par Facility”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great location near George Washington Campus and stayed for two nights. However, was very disappointed in the fact that the heat was broken in the room, no hot water in the morning and the maid service never showed up to clean the room. When I brought each of these issues to the attention of the front desk manager, she was pleasant and said she would 'look into it'. While they did address the lack of heat (thermostat was broken and couldn't be fixed in the evening so had to wait till the following day), they apologized for the fact that there was no hot water (said it was broken and would be fixed later in the morning) and said the maid was very busy so couldn't get to my room till the evening. I have stayed at Marriott properties, including Residence Inns in the past, but NEVER had so many problems. Oh, and did I mention that one of the elevators was out of order for repairs….Anyway, I won't go rushing back...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
AmyW,

Thank you for your response and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. It has been a rough winter for the city and we have attacked the heating issue very aggressively as we didn't foresee this issue post renovation. Though never an excuse, we deeply apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you and your family during your stay. I am glad that we were able to get the problem corrected.

As longstanding guest of Marriott properties, we will use this feedback provided as a tool to enhance our guest experience while choosing us as their place of residence. Our elevators are in the final stages of renovation and we are extremely excited that our guest will have the use of two functional and remodeled elevators.

We ask that in the future that you consider us again for your home away from home if nothing more to experience the completed work of the elevators and the smiles of the front desk that will great you. Let us know if we can assist with your future reservation.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    137
    73
    29
    22
See reviews for
144
45
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location of the hotel can't be beat. Easily walkable to the monuments, even on a brisk Winter afternoon. I wouldn't say the front desk staff was overly friendly, but they were not rude either. The breakfast in the AM was good. Even though my husband has gold level status for Marriott properties were were given a room on the 3rd (out of 10) floor, right off the elevator, which generated a considerable amount of noise. Also, they held our luggage for us while while we went out exploring since there were no rooms yet available and upon returning we asked for our luggage to be brought up to our room, which seemed to surprise the front desk staff. When the member of the staff brought our luggage up to our room, he accidentally brought someone else's with ours. Luckily we are honest people and quickly ran out into the hallway to grab the staff member to let him know of the mistake. Just something to be aware of.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms that are right off the elevator, I believe they end with a 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Nic410,

Thank you for your response and we appreciate and do our best to serve all of our guest with enthusiasm, great customer service and a friendly smile. Most often we do our best to ensure that guest request are honored and as a Gold member we do our best to ensure that your loyalty is acknowledged without impeeding on the guest already in house.

We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication with your luggage; however we are thankful that you brought that to our attention to be able to recover and get the correct belongings to your party. Again, we apologize for that oversight and we will use this information as a learning tool for all staff.

We ask that when you are back in DC that you afford us the opportunity to make it up to you and would ask that while making your reservation to indicate a floor preference and we will do everything that we can to ensure that your request is honored depending on the hotel's availability. If necessary, please call us directly and we will be honored to make that reservation with your specifications.

Again, thank you for being a loyal member of the Marriott family and we look forward to serving you in the future while maintaining the standards that you have grown accustomed to.

With sincere regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have been Residence Inn fans for years, but this was our first stay here (it had been a Doubletree until recently). The location is fantastic - right at the edge of the George Washington University campus, a few blocks from the Lincoln Memorial, and a short walk to Georgetown. The front desk, housekeeping, breakfast restaurant staff and all other service people were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel seems to be far along in the process of being upgraded. They are still working with only one functioning elevator in this 10-floor hotel - the other one is apparently still being worked on - so this was the only real hitch. The one-bedroom suite was fairly typical in size for a Residence Inn (which should be more than enough room for most people), was quite clean and had all the usual amenities. The bathroom was smallish but perfectly adequate. (The hair dryer was missing when we arrived, but this was immediately corrected on request.) The beds were quite comfortable, and the ambient noise level was virtually zero. Breakfast was excellent. We never made it to the fitness center, unfortunately. The front desk perfectly executed arrangements for our 3:30 AM wake-up call and 4:30 AM taxi on the day of departure. There are a number of really good Marriott facilities within blocks of GWU, but this one certainly suited all of us just fine, met or exceeded our expectations, and will be nearly perfect once that second elevator is operational!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
PLW165,

Thank you for your wonderful response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Having been a Doubletree in the past and to see the transition to the Residence Inn-Marriott has been greatly received by guest like yourself.

Our hope is that you were able to enjoy many of the attractions you desired while visiting as we are centrally located in the midst of many great attractions.

We sincerely apologize for the missing hair dryer, but glad to hear that our staff was able to recover to your liking. Our elevators are in the final stages of renovation; we are extremely excited as we know that guest like yourself will have the convenience desired. Please come back to visit and perhaps try out our fitness center. We have recently placed some new items in our fitness center to adapt to all fitness needs.

Our desire is to always provide the best service possible to enhance our guest experience.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel has two great things going for it: location (next to the FB metro, Georgetown within walking distance, good for going on a job by the Mall) and a very welcoming and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with full kitchen and two TVs (for some of the channels like CNN the connection broke frequently--had to settle for the local chnnels). The style is a bit old fashion. The lobby area was just redone and looks great. The breakfast is ok.It's reallt between very good and excellent but the staff is so nice I've made it my favorite stop each time I need acccomodation in DC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
HankVienna,

Thank you for your warm response. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay while here in DC. As you mentioned that we are so close to many of the attractions that DC has to offer and being just a block away from the Foggy Bottom Metro makes commuting that much easier.

As we have went through a major renovation, the intention to keep the warm feeling wasn't ever a question as it corresponds with the service that we strive to give our guest.

We look forward to you making this your stop when returning to the DC area and our goal is to not only make you comfortable but each and every guest that affords us that pleasure. Please let us know if we are able to facilitate your return visit in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location, wonderful service! Location is perfect. Can walk to attractions and restaurants. The staff bent over backward to make our stay enjoyable. They knew us by name immediately and welcomed us back when we returned from touring as if we were guests in their home. We would definitely stay here next time we visit DC.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Colleen G.,

Thank you for your response. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay while here visiting DC. We make it our business to ensure that our guest feel that they are at their home away from home.

Being in a good location makes it easy for our guest to commute back and forth to either work or leisure. The Foggy Bottom area places you in the heart of the Kennedy Center, Georgetown, and many of the tourist attractions such as the monuments.

We look forward to your return visit and if there is anything that we can do to help in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you for being our guest!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great location about a city block from the Lincoln Memorial. Facility is older and confining but updated, two room suites throughout, clean, great complimentary breakfast, and friendly staff. Metro station and rental bikes just a short walk from the front doors. If you're planning the tourist thing in the Capital, you're unlikely to find a better deal--

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
DanielArdon,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay while here in DC. As you mentioned, having the metro close by and the city bike program makes for any guest to enjoy the city. We hope that you were able to see all the attractions that you desired while here. If not, we would welcome you back to get the full experience.

We pride ourselves in ensuring that each of our guest have a wonderful experience and provided great service.

While planning your next visit we hope that you will consider making us your choice for your stay. If there is anything that we can do to make that happen, please feel free to let us know.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very clean, spacious, updated and friendly place to stay. The complimentary breakfast was awesome with so many hot and cold items to choose from. Had an issue with one worker in the dining area Tarika (I think) she interrupted in the middle of breakfast and told me I could not sit were I was seated because that space was reserved for wheelchairs. The dining area was full there was no one with a wheelchair and the table was the same as the others with nothing indicating it was handicapped. The hallways are a little dim and due to renovation only one elevator was working making your wait time a little long. The only bad thing is $40 a day to park. It is in a residential area so if you ride around you can find on street parking. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
NJNANNA,

Thank you for your response and we appreciate your feedback. We are gald that you had the opportunity to experience many of the great things that our renovation provided. As you are aware, we are currently still having the elevators renovated which we look to have completed sometime in February.

Though we try to accomodate all of our guest, we do try to make our hotel conducive to handicapp accessible guest. We apologize for the experience that you had that one morning and will utilize your feedback as a training tool.

We definitely welcome you back to enjoy the hot breakfast that you mentioned along with all the other attractions that DC has to offer. In the future, if there is anything that we can do to make your stay much more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.