We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place for Tourists in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #72 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Place for Tourists in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great location about a city block from the Lincoln Memorial. Facility is older and confining but updated, two room suites throughout, clean, great complimentary breakfast, and friendly staff. Metro station and rental bikes just a short walk from the front doors. If you're planning the tourist thing in the Capital, you're unlikely to find a better deal--

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
DanielArdon,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay while here in DC. As you mentioned, having the metro close by and the city bike program makes for any guest to enjoy the city. We hope that you were able to see all the attractions that you desired while here. If not, we would welcome you back to get the full experience.

We pride ourselves in ensuring that each of our guest have a wonderful experience and provided great service.

While planning your next visit we hope that you will consider making us your choice for your stay. If there is anything that we can do to make that happen, please feel free to let us know.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    134
    73
    29
    22
See reviews for
140
43
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very clean, spacious, updated and friendly place to stay. The complimentary breakfast was awesome with so many hot and cold items to choose from. Had an issue with one worker in the dining area Tarika (I think) she interrupted in the middle of breakfast and told me I could not sit were I was seated because that space was reserved for wheelchairs. The dining area was full there was no one with a wheelchair and the table was the same as the others with nothing indicating it was handicapped. The hallways are a little dim and due to renovation only one elevator was working making your wait time a little long. The only bad thing is $40 a day to park. It is in a residential area so if you ride around you can find on street parking. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
NJNANNA,

Thank you for your response and we appreciate your feedback. We are gald that you had the opportunity to experience many of the great things that our renovation provided. As you are aware, we are currently still having the elevators renovated which we look to have completed sometime in February.

Though we try to accomodate all of our guest, we do try to make our hotel conducive to handicapp accessible guest. We apologize for the experience that you had that one morning and will utilize your feedback as a training tool.

We definitely welcome you back to enjoy the hot breakfast that you mentioned along with all the other attractions that DC has to offer. In the future, if there is anything that we can do to make your stay much more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for one night during this past weekend.

Pros:
1. Friendly front desk.
2. Nicely furnished, clean room, and nice size.
3. Good location (near many restaurants, bars, Whole foods)

Cons:
1. Two phones in my room - both broken.
2. Two elevators -- one never worked (not sure if it was shut off or what), the other kept getting stuck -- with people inside! So therefore rather than risk getting stuck, as this seemed to be occurring multiple times throughout our 1 night stay, we had to walk up/down 6 flights of stairs to our floor with all of our belongings.
3. Heating in room -- we had a one bedroom which was beautifully furnished. However, the heating was terrible. It was incredibly chilly in the bedroom. We even turned the heat as high as possible in the living room, hoping it would warm up the bedroom, but this was not the case at all. Although the front desk staff was great and the room beautiful, I'm not sure if I would stay here again during winter months.
4. Valet - the valet on Saturday morning was friendly and helpful. However definitely cannot say the same about the valet on Friday night.

Last pro - the GM asked about my stay and responded very quickly to my review. This attentiveness should not go unnoticed, but unfortunately the hotel does need to make significant improvements.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
JillM,

Thank you for your response and feedback. We will definitely use your feedback as training points and the other information will be attended to by our staff. As you are aware, we have just gone through a renovation and there are still some items that are still under renovation.

We sincerely apologize that you encountered some of the problems that you did during your stay, but would love the opportunity to have you back once the renovation is complete. Our hope is that our guest stay will be warm and friendly during all seasons of the year.

During your plans for a return visit to the DC area, we definitely want to welcome you back to see the completed renovation project.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

3 night trip with 4 kids. We got a high room as requested on the 10th floor. Room faced New Hampshire so nice view of Watergate. Only negative was the condom wrapper my kid found falling out of bed when she turned down the sheets. If it wasn't for just getting in from a long drive and 4 tired kids unpacked...we would of moved rooms. The receptionist girl was a little "moody" about us wanting to talk to the general manager about the wrapper.... The bell man needs a helper... he is one man trying to call for taxis, get cars, and helo thr front. I felt bad fod him. The room was great. Very roomy. I shopped around for a month and this waa the best deal. Valet price is a bit ridiculous! 47$ . But in total it was still cheaper than other hotels and included free breakfast. My kids loved the breakfast. Eggs, biscuits , gravy, sausage ..and so much more. Definitely worth it. Valet guy even helped jump start out car. I would stay here again and recommend to others for sure. I just wish the general manager would have taken time to address the condom thing. Its not like it was a dirty plate...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Saralinda G,

Thank you for your response and feedback. Let us first state that we deeply apologize for the discrepancy with the wrapper in the room and glad that you brought it to our attention during your stay. We have addressed the issue and have put other precautions in place to ensure that an incident like this doesn't happen again. We sincerely apologize for that.

All of your feedback is appreciated and we will use this to train our staff.

We do welcome you and the family back and if we can ever be of service that you let us know to ensure that you have nothing less than a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you and kids again.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here a few times when this place was a Doubletree - and although the rooms were dark and shabby, my biggest gripe was the unfriendly service. What a difference a year makes. The revamped property has made some small -- but appreciated -- changes to the rooms. They have cut passthroughs from the kitchen to the entryway, and from the kitchen to the living area, so the place feels open and inviting. They have repainted in bright colors, and most importantly, they have installed Staff 2.0 ... the new crew is genuinely friendly.
Foggy Bottom is a pleasant area, and just a few Metro stops from the business areas of DC.
If I had to change anything - I would add more fruit to the breakfast: don't get me wrong, you won't leave hungry ... but the only real fruit offering was honeydew ... no berries, no watermelon, no pineapple, no grapes. Doesn't detract from the place at all. Hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Boeing767,

Thank you for your wonderful response and we are so pleased that your return trip was delightful compared to your previous visit while a Doubletree. We are excited about the renovations that have taken place and the warmth that guest such as yourself bring to us while visiting.

The staff is excited and hopefully that is conveyed during each and every interaction with our guest.

We hope that when you decide to visit DC again that you choose us as your place of residence and we look forward to providing you more fruit options for our breakfast.

Again, we thank you for being our guest.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here for a week in Jan 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed. Checkin was easy, as was checkout--- friendly, as per reservation, and quick. Everyone was really friendly and helpful---- and that made the stay easier. The room/suite is enormous with full kitchen, dining table/two chairs, big living room with sofa/chairs/tv and desk area, bedroom with huge comfy bed, closet area, and nice bathroom. I had several suitcases for a long trip, and at no time did i ever feel cramped or concerned about space. The furniture, carpet, bed, linens, etc., are all nicely done and new. The bed was very comfy, huge, and really wonderful for a good night's sleep. In the lobby, there is free breakfast every morning--- fairly basic food, reasonable person who helps with breakfast service---and it's a nice option. I wasn't there most evenings, but one evening i saw a happy hour with food/drinks-- looked inviting. The location of the hotel is very convenient---- near a whole foods for groceries, many restaurants, near business area, 1-2 blocks from foggy bottom metro, etc. All in all---a winner of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Jenabaindelhi,

Thank you for your response and feedback. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, with the recent renovations, we didn't cut back on the space provided to our guest to ensure a nice stay and plenty of room to move about in their suites. Being centrally located to many of the attractions of DC and only blocks away from the metro makes for any guest to have access to work or for leisure.

Knowing that your experience was nice let's us know that we are headed in the right direction as our sole purpose is to serve. Next time you are in town visiting we welcome you back to stay with us thus allowing you to fully appreciate the evening social hour that you missed out on. We offer this service Monday through Thursday with a light meal and beer and wine is complementary.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was a great hotel. The suites are beautifully remodeled, spacious, modern, and clean with very comfortable beds and TVs in both rooms. The reception and staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was very nice, with lots of space and seating options. The location is very convenient, a block from the metro and walking distance to many attractions. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Andy60763,

Thank you for your response. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the renovations and the service provided to you during your stay. Being easily accessible to the metro makes for even a greater stay for most of our guest who are either here for leisure or work.

We welcome you back and if there is anything that we can do in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Amex, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.