We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“suites were sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #71 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“suites were sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the hotel is located close enough to public transportation (the metro) and provided a shuttle to the station. rooms were very spacious and comfortable. breakfast was ok; pretty typical of all hotels that provide the complimentary meal. staff was friendly, but no overly so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    73
    29
    22
See reviews for
141
43
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is two blocks from the Metro, close to the monuments, and although they were just finishing with renovations and had just one elevator working (slowly), the staff made up for it! Everyone from Kasem (spelling incorrect, I know) at the front desk, to the two valet/bell men, to even the super nice young men working on the pool deck/upper roof, the staff was superb! The room was large and very nicely appointed, bed was very comfortable, nice amenities, and perfect for visiting! That is where I would stay on any return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review the brand new Residence Inn Foggy Bottom! I'm happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our very spacious guest suites and our perfect location right here in the heart of the Foggy Bottom/Georgetown area~!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Thanks again,
Jessica Conley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I needed to pass through Washington DC for business travel, and I needed some extra help to complete my work. The staff was extremely helpful. Moreover, the hotel was clean. The breakfast and social hour was better than you'll find at most hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you as our guests here at the brand new Residence Inn Foggy Bottom! I'm excited to hear that you were able to take advantage of our daily Hot Buffet Breakfast as well as our Evening Social Hour - which we just added complimentry beer/wine! We are looking forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Thanks again,
Jessica Conley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here 9/27 - 9/29/13, visiting daughter at George Washington University. Excellent location for GW visits, one block away. Staff very friendly, all furnishings brand new. Elevator slow, but was being replaced, should be finished in 3 weeks. Foggy Bottom Metro one block away, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review~! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our brand new hotel and perfect location! We are looking forward to your next stay!

Thanks again,
Jessica Conley - General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After having trouble with the Holiday Inn next door, My party of four went down the street to the Double Tree.

The difference with the staff at the front desk of the Double Tree was night and day. They booked us two JR Suites for our troubles with the Holiday inn for less money.

The rooms were huge with King size beds and large bathrooms - even had a couch, chairs, bar area, and great desk.

I would highly recommend staying at this Double Tree.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is in the midst of a renovation, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover how comfortable it is. i got it on Priceline for a very reasonable price. The rooms are very large by any hotel standard, but particularly for DC. The rooms are clean and redone in a modern style-- the room was so newly redone I wondered if anyone else had stayed there. There is a nice free Continental breakfast buffet downstairs in the morning.

I know others had bad experience with construction noise. I was not there at all during the day-- left by 8 am, wasn't back until 10pm-- but at night it was very quiet.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

I will stay there again, at least until the construction is done and prices increase!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, hoping to get some good R&R. Although the rooms were nice and clean, the construction was unbearable. I don't know if it was the specific room we were in, but it felt like it was literally in our room- the walls would vibrate in the mornings. When we went to complain, we were told that we would be comped for our parking (which is $36/night)...in the end we were not fully comped, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
KAS71111,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that you weren't able to fully get the R&R that you had desired during this stay. As you are aware that we are currently undergoing renovations to become the Residence Inn - Marriott. With this renovation, there have been times where there would be noise and we tried our best to inform guest upon check in that construction would begin around 8 am in the morning and concluding around the 8 pm timeframe. We are definitely in the final stages of this beautiful renovations and looking forward to having guest such as yourself come and be apart of the Residence Inn experience.

The rooms that you did enjoy will have a new look as well as many facets of the hotel.

Our hope is that you allow us the opportunity to make up for the experience that you had while first trying to rectify the parking that was offered. Please don't hesistate to give us a call and speak with me to clear this up for you. Meanwhile, our hope is that upon your next return visit that we can make it a pleasureable R&R experience while offering you all the new and improved immenities that come along with this renovation process.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused but thank you for visiting.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Amex, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.