We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on 4th of July” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great stay on 4th of July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a perfect stay on 4th of July. We were within walking distance to the heart of Georgetown. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, but this did not impact our stay. Our room, as well as the lounge was very modern. Our room was large, the bed was so comfortable, and the toiletries were better than most midrange hotels. The complimentary continental breakfast was good. You just have to eat it in the lounge or in your room until renovations are complete Very friendly staff. Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful response and we are so happy that you chose us to spend your 4th of July holiday. We are please to hear that your stay with us was pleasurable and we appreciate your patronage through our renovation stage.

We look forward to your return as we become the Residence Inn by Marriott. As a team, we are excited about the transformation and having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    149
    75
    29
    22
See reviews for
158
46
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family of four traveled to Washington DC via Amtrak. Only using public transportation, the Washington Guest Suites was very convenient to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. Although, one morning, construction crews began working at 6:20 am in the lobby. Being we were on the second floor, we heard it all. Another night, the crews worked until after 10 pm. Other than that and the totally torn up lobby, we liked the Washington Guest Suites. The Whole Foods Grocery Store was an easy stop and we were only a Metro ride away from all the sites we wanted to see. The hotel room itself was spacious and clean. They held our luggage for us after we checked out and even found my son's lost cell phone in the room. I would recommend a stay here- - - after construction is complete.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for being a part of our renovation experience! The new lobby is almost complete and of course we are now working on the full makeover in our suites! I'm glad that you took advantage of the metro rail system - as it makes getting around the city so convenient! I was also happy to hear that you took advantage of the nearby Whole Foods grocery store - it's a great way to save money while you’re vacationing and our fully equipped kitchens makes fixing meals and snacks a breeze. Thanks again for staying with us - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon as the brand new Residence Inn by Marriott - Foggy Bottom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First: the good stuff. The rooms were clean. It is in a great location, being close to the Foggy Bottoms Metro Station and a Whole Foods Store. On a very quiet street, 1/2 block from Watergate. Always felt safe. Beds were comfortable.
Now the not so good. Rooms very dated and shabby. Couch in our room was broken-down and ragged. The kitchen has the bare minimum. One could not fix a meal if one wanted. There were no water glasses, except the ones in the bathroom. We had four very small juice glasses.
Despite placards both in the bedroom and bathroom urging us to conserve by reusing towels and bed linens, the housekeeper ran the dishwasher every single day. One day, it was run for a clean glass that was sitting on the counter and a knife and a spoon. There were never more than four items in the dishwasher when it was run by the housekeeper. THE WORST PART
was no ventilation in the bathroom. Not a fan or any way to get air into the bathroom without leaving the door open. The breakfast was OK. No protein. Just carbs. Several days we found out-dated milk put out for people. Very small room. If you go late, there is not much left.
Lots of workers and mess around because of the renovation, but I knew that. Still felt it was a bit pricey for the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica C, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Foggy Bottom / Georgetown area - many of our other guests have also shared that they love our perfect location to all the sites in DC! I also want to thank you for staying with us and being part of our renovation experience. Our new Residence Inn by Marriott suites will have all new room amenities for the fully equipped kitchens, new funiture, a fully redesigned bathroom and new carpet and wall coverings. You'll have to come back to stay with us again - you're going to love our new look and feel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although the hotel was under renovation, we were warned ahead of time and knew what to expect. Very clean rooms although a little outdated. We weren't in the room the much anyway. We took the Metro right from the airport and walked 2 blocks to the hotel. We never had to rent a car the whole time we were in the city! Minutes from Lincoln Memorial and all the other sites. The only complaint is the coffee maker didn't work and we told the front desk about it on our way out for the day. Wasn't fixed or replaced when we returned so had to leave a note for that and some extra towels for the maid. We are not big breakfast eaters so the continental breakfast suited us just fine. Can't wait to go back and see what the hotel after renovations.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our renovations had minimal impact on your stay experience.

I'm also happy to hear that you were easily able to walk to the hotel from the Foggy Bottom Metro station - just a hop, skip and jump away!

We are very excieted to reopen at the Residence Inn by Marriott in September of this year....you will be pleasantly surprised with our new look and feel! See you back soon!

Jessica Conley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is difficult to rate this hotel. It was billed as a 3-star hotel, and based on that, it fell a little short. The room was neat, clean and the full kitchen was a benefit. The lobby and common areas, because of the renovation (which we didn't know about until we arrived), was in a little bit of chaos. There was unfinished sheetrock, exposed wire, plaster dust and holes in doors. There is no room service and the continental breakfast was just OK
Although it was in the 80's when we were there, the pool was not open. I don't know if it will be open until the renovations are complete.
If I had been told that this was a 2-star hotel, and paid a 2-star rate, it would have more that met expectations.
Would I stay at Washington Guest Suites again? Not in it's current state and at the same price. When the renovations are complete I would be willing to try it again.
I would just advise people to lower their expectations. It is a safe, clean place to sleep. There is nothing fancy about Washington Guest suites at this point.

Room Tip: Don't go here expecting a view. Our room (on the sixth floor) was facing the National Mall and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and for being so understanding durning this exciting renovation time! Our first floor and lobby renovations will be complete by mid June 2013 and then we will start on the suites - two floors at a time. Once the suites have been competed, we are scheduled to reopen as a Residence Inn by Marriott around September 1st, 2013. Please be sure to visit us at that time, as we would love to show you our new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good location, close to the Watergate Hotel, 15min walk from the Lincoln Memorial. Good sized rooms and very clean. Close to the Hotel there´s a Whole Foods Market and the George Washington hospital. They are currently in a renovation process but still an enjoyable staff and surroundings. Thank you for a lovely stay.(Complementary wi fi. always good to communicate home)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are very excited about our renovations and we look forward to your next stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in the Washington Guest Suites for 3 nights in April 2013. The suite was clean and was a great size for the 4 of us. The bathroom was pretty small and we only had enough towels left daily for 2 people. We called the front desk each night and new towels were delivered promptly. We were happy to discover that the hotel was located within walking distance of the National Mall and also located a few blocks from a bus stop for the tour bus that we bought passes for. There are restaurants and a Whole Foods within walking distance as well. The breakfast bar consisted of bagels, juice, fruit, and coffee. We went toward the end of the breakfast period and there wasn't much left. It would be great to see a make you own waffle iron added as an option. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not located near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I'm very pleased that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. As I'm sure you noticed, we are currently undergoing a complete renovation to soon become a Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. The Residence Inn breakfast will be beyond par - with a "make your own" belgian waffle station with tons of toppings, as well as a full hot buffet breakfast! We are looking forward to your next stay and we are excited to welcome you to the Residence Inn by Marriott experience!

~ Jessica Conley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.