We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #70 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although the hotel was under renovation, we were warned ahead of time and knew what to expect. Very clean rooms although a little outdated. We weren't in the room the much anyway. We took the Metro right from the airport and walked 2 blocks to the hotel. We never had to rent a car the whole time we were in the city! Minutes from Lincoln Memorial and all the other sites. The only complaint is the coffee maker didn't work and we told the front desk about it on our way out for the day. Wasn't fixed or replaced when we returned so had to leave a note for that and some extra towels for the maid. We are not big breakfast eaters so the continental breakfast suited us just fine. Can't wait to go back and see what the hotel after renovations.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our renovations had minimal impact on your stay experience.

I'm also happy to hear that you were easily able to walk to the hotel from the Foggy Bottom Metro station - just a hop, skip and jump away!

We are very excieted to reopen at the Residence Inn by Marriott in September of this year....you will be pleasantly surprised with our new look and feel! See you back soon!

Jessica Conley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    135
    73
    30
    22
See reviews for
140
43
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is difficult to rate this hotel. It was billed as a 3-star hotel, and based on that, it fell a little short. The room was neat, clean and the full kitchen was a benefit. The lobby and common areas, because of the renovation (which we didn't know about until we arrived), was in a little bit of chaos. There was unfinished sheetrock, exposed wire, plaster dust and holes in doors. There is no room service and the continental breakfast was just OK
Although it was in the 80's when we were there, the pool was not open. I don't know if it will be open until the renovations are complete.
If I had been told that this was a 2-star hotel, and paid a 2-star rate, it would have more that met expectations.
Would I stay at Washington Guest Suites again? Not in it's current state and at the same price. When the renovations are complete I would be willing to try it again.
I would just advise people to lower their expectations. It is a safe, clean place to sleep. There is nothing fancy about Washington Guest suites at this point.

Room Tip: Don't go here expecting a view. Our room (on the sixth floor) was facing the National Mall and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and for being so understanding durning this exciting renovation time! Our first floor and lobby renovations will be complete by mid June 2013 and then we will start on the suites - two floors at a time. Once the suites have been competed, we are scheduled to reopen as a Residence Inn by Marriott around September 1st, 2013. Please be sure to visit us at that time, as we would love to show you our new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good location, close to the Watergate Hotel, 15min walk from the Lincoln Memorial. Good sized rooms and very clean. Close to the Hotel there´s a Whole Foods Market and the George Washington hospital. They are currently in a renovation process but still an enjoyable staff and surroundings. Thank you for a lovely stay.(Complementary wi fi. always good to communicate home)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are very excited about our renovations and we look forward to your next stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in the Washington Guest Suites for 3 nights in April 2013. The suite was clean and was a great size for the 4 of us. The bathroom was pretty small and we only had enough towels left daily for 2 people. We called the front desk each night and new towels were delivered promptly. We were happy to discover that the hotel was located within walking distance of the National Mall and also located a few blocks from a bus stop for the tour bus that we bought passes for. There are restaurants and a Whole Foods within walking distance as well. The breakfast bar consisted of bagels, juice, fruit, and coffee. We went toward the end of the breakfast period and there wasn't much left. It would be great to see a make you own waffle iron added as an option. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not located near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I'm very pleased that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. As I'm sure you noticed, we are currently undergoing a complete renovation to soon become a Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. The Residence Inn breakfast will be beyond par - with a "make your own" belgian waffle station with tons of toppings, as well as a full hot buffet breakfast! We are looking forward to your next stay and we are excited to welcome you to the Residence Inn by Marriott experience!

~ Jessica Conley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have been using this hotel property for years when it was the Doubletree. It is convenient to all the key locations I need to visit in DC. The changeover is a welcomed addition but on a recent stay I truly believe there was a safety issue that was completely ignored even after multiple calls to the front desk. The tenth floor had no hallway lights. This cannot possible be safe. We were notified of the construction by the hotel one week before our trip and given the peak season in DC it was not possible to find another hotel. Some kind of discount or 'make good' should have been made for the conditions we had to withstand, especially the lack of lights.

I sent an email to the folks that advised us of the construction the week before but have not heard a word from them.

We look forward to the new hotel but more attention needs to be paid to loyal guests who were truly inconvenienced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We are very excited to bring you the brand new, fully renovated Residence Inn by Marriott hotel soon! I've just taken over the General Manager position and I'll be sure to address your safety concerns with our renovation team. Thanks again for choosing the Washington Guest Suites - be sure to come back soon to check out everything our amazing new hotel has to offer!

~ Jessica Conley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Although the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, this place is undergoing ownership change and a complete remodel. We have to share the halls, elevators and other facility with construction material, personell, dust and noise.
Given all the activities during the day, I wonder how they expect to take in customers and charge them the rates. We prepaid when we booked and could not get out but would not have stayed here an hour if we were not stuck.
Wait till they finish the remodel, then it will be a very nice place in a great location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Mehdi and Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are currently in the process of renovation in lobby and we are doing everything that we can to minimize any impact for guests. We will soon be complete with the lobby and as we complete we will try our best to avoid any disturbances.


Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arrived at 7PM, room was ready, clean. location was great as it was walking distance to georgetown restraunts, metro, museums. wish the room had a balcony. check in was easy, everything went well. there were too many students staying at the hotel, although there was nothing the hotel could do about that. There was not a restraunt or spa on site, so my rating reflects that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
KM10153,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and next time you will have to stay longer to enjoy the hotel and all of the local attractions.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.