We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #72 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people but since its going under a new name, I'm not sure if the same hospitality would stay.

The staff are super friendly and accommodating. The place is clean and the suite was huge for a decent price. Everything was great minus the no AC until May. Thank goodness it was only one night that was super hot. Our room reached 90 F. Eek ... Breakfast was ok, would like more variety. The metro was super close. Whole foods, seven eleven, cvs, and restaurants are all walking distance. The hotel is located in a quaint neighborhood. :) you can even walk to Lincoln Memorial and back ... a good 15 mins.

We wanted to check our the pool, but was being renovated. Another con, elevators are super slow! Overall, a pleasant experience. Would def come back! Thanks for the cookies and bottled water.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
smellyphant37,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very excited with the transition to our new brand and all of the great staff will remain in place during and after the transition. Our pool opens Memorial Day Weekend and with the nice weather we are having this week we are considering opening a week earlier. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    136
    73
    30
    22
See reviews for
140
43
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Based on the mixed reviews here and on other sites my expectations for this property were fairly low, but we booked it anyway as it was a great price for a true suite during Spring Break trip with young kids. So glad we did! Turns out the hotel is really well located, updated, comfortable, and a great value. The staff was delightful and accommodating, beds very comfortable and the room was clean, stylish and perfect for a family stay. Parking is available on site (pricey but not unreasonably so for the area) and the breakfast of pastries and fruit is a bit underwhelming (though the Starbucks coffee was welcome) and the gym is pretty minimal, but all was more than adequate, especially given the price. One caution: the hotel is about to transition to a Residence Inn and a renovation has been announced so future conditions may not reflect the excellent experience we enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
scm Richmond,

Thank you for taking the chance and I am glad you were satisfied. We have been putting a lot of effort to make sure that we are living up to the hospitality we promise to deliver and I am glad to see how much we have improved. We have taken months to plan out the renovation so it will have minimal impact on our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you back at the property so you can see what we have accomplished.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in transition. Shortly it will become a Marriott Residence Inn. However, at the present it's a great deal for a one bedroom suite with a nice kitchen. The bedroom especially is nicely appointed with a king size bed, dresser, end tables and a very comfortable lounge chair. The rate they charged during Cherry Blossom Festival was the best i could find in the district. The location in foggy bottom, next to The George Washington University, on the edge of Georgetown, is excellent. The hotel is two blocks from the Metro. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Also the chocolate chip cookies are a nice added touch

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
taries,

Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and hopefully you were able to see the Cherry Blossoms in Full Bloom. We are excited for the upgrades that we are doing to the hotel, it will be a brand new hotel when complete. We will continue to strive to offer the best service and hospitality in DC. We look forward to showing off our new hotel when you return.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I checked in on Wednesday, April 3 and checked out on Sunday, April 7.

UPON ARRIVAL: The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. I was handed a list of adjacent restuarants and a map of the area, as well as a big choclate chip cookie.

THE ROOM: A suite that is huge, with a separate living room, full ktchen (refrigeratore, oven, microwave and dishwasher), a separate bedroom, a closet alcove and a good-size bathroom. The room was spotless and everything was in working order. (Can I live here full time?)

SERVICE WHILE AT HOTEL: The entire staff was excellent. Continental breakfast is served - donuts bagels, cream cheese, butter jam, coffee, milk and other things that I didn't pay attention to because I only had the coffee. I need protein for breakfast, On Saturday and Sunday there are croissants.

When I needed a cab and one was not outfront, one was called for me and because the bell hop was busy a maintenance man opened the cab door for me.

LOCATION: Excellent. The hotel is 2 1/2 blocks from the Metro's Foggy Bottom station (Orange & Blue lines) and 2 stops from Metro Center where one can switch to the Red line. There is a 711 a block away from the hotel, George Washington University surrounds the hotel. A number of good restuarants (recommended by friends) are located around the hotel. There is a Trader Joe's, approximately 0.3 miles from the hotel (at 1101 25th Street NW, Washington, DC 20037), that is open from 10am to 10 pm and has a good selection of wines.

Room Tip: Best rooms are awayv from the elevators and snack room, i.e., rooms __04 - __14 on all floors from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Waterlaw,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you loved our hotel. You mentioned that you may want to live with us. Why Not? Sounds like a good plan to me. Please contact me directly on rates for an extended stay.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It appeared the hotel was undergoing a management change, so that may have affected employee effectiveness during the stay over Spring Break. The cleaning staff completely missed cleaning the room the first night, did not run the dishwasher the second and third night and did not leave dishwasher soap so we couldn't run the dishwasher, did not replace coffee cups the third night and did not wipe the table tops. The front desk was accommodating in sending up the missing items.

The rooms are spacious, with a full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and two-burner stove top. However, they did not have basic kitchen tools, such as a colander, frying pan, can opener, dishwashing liquid, coffee cups, cereal bowls, or spoons (to eat with).. There was enough floor space to have more counter and cabinet space, but the specific set up did not allow for it. The furniture, paint, and bathroom were clean and in good shape, but the carpet was in need of replacement, and one elevator had some minor issues (showed the wrong floor on the floor indicator lights). Wireless internet worked well and was included in the room price.

The breakfast was extremely limited, basically either donuts or bagels and coffee. They ran out of juice and donuts early in the morning and cream cheese later in the morning. They had plans posted on their walls about a renovation of the lobby area, so this may change.

The location is excellent. It was a 3 minute walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro. Roti, a Mediterranean Chipotle-like chain, but good, inexpensive, quick eats, Whole Foods with a prepared food area, plus other restaurants are next to the Metro and Bertucci's delivers to the hotel. It was on an attractive, relatively quiet street for an urban setting. It was less than a mile walk to the Lincoln Memorial. It was significantly cheaper than hotels just a little closer to the mall, so it was a good value. Despite its minor drawbacks, which might be temporary as the new management takes over, the location was good enough to stay again. But then, it may be more expensive once it gets its renovation -- that location could likely get a premium price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Jan_T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your most recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location and I apologize that we fell short in a few areas. We went over your concerns in regards to housekeeping, breakfast, and staff effectiveness. We will use the feedback for our ongoing training. We are in an exciting transition with the construction of the lobby underway. Many physical changes to come and we look forward to your return so you can see.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved being able to walk from the Metro which we took from Reagan National to get to this hotel. Plus being so close to GWU campus was a big plus for us. We appreciated the warm cookies and the kitchenette plus having a bedroom separate from the living room, which had a pull out bed for our daughter. Bonus!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Jill and Steve Corv,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your enjoyable stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location as we feel it is the best location in DC. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Washington Guest Suites in Foggy Bottom turned out to be the right choice for us and could be for you ! Its location was 3-4 blocks from the Metro(blue/orange), its proximity to the best eats Founding Farmers and Burger Tap and Shake are all within 3-5 blocks of the suites, as well as Whole Foods and a few good bars! The staff were friendly and so very helpful especially the day valet (forgot his name) and Stephanie. The rooms are spacious with a full kitchen, microwave and dishwasher but they are not Two Bedrooms as stated by Booking.com, they are 2 two rooms one has two beds and the other is a living room. Go figure! Otherwise, the guest suites provide a complimentary breakfast, a great view with a clean and comfortable stay that's within budget ! Enjoy the Cherry Blossoms, they have another week or two to go before being in full bloom. Enjoy the magnolias a the Smithsonian Castle and have a great stay in our nation's finest city, Washington , DC. One love to all, Angella, Massapan & Rock

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Angella F,

Thank you for posting a review of recent stay at the Washington Guest Suites. We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit. As you highlighted our location is in a prime location with everything that you need within walking distance. I apologize for the incorrect description on Booking.Com and I am in the process of correcting so the room types will be clear so the expectations are met. Next time your in DC we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.