We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPRINGBREAK IN FOGGY BOTTOM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #64 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Smithtown, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SPRINGBREAK IN FOGGY BOTTOM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Washington Guest Suites in Foggy Bottom turned out to be the right choice for us and could be for you ! Its location was 3-4 blocks from the Metro(blue/orange), its proximity to the best eats Founding Farmers and Burger Tap and Shake are all within 3-5 blocks of the suites, as well as Whole Foods and a few good bars! The staff were friendly and so very helpful especially the day valet (forgot his name) and Stephanie. The rooms are spacious with a full kitchen, microwave and dishwasher but they are not Two Bedrooms as stated by Booking.com, they are 2 two rooms one has two beds and the other is a living room. Go figure! Otherwise, the guest suites provide a complimentary breakfast, a great view with a clean and comfortable stay that's within budget ! Enjoy the Cherry Blossoms, they have another week or two to go before being in full bloom. Enjoy the magnolias a the Smithsonian Castle and have a great stay in our nation's finest city, Washington , DC. One love to all, Angella, Massapan & Rock

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Angella F,

Thank you for posting a review of recent stay at the Washington Guest Suites. We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit. As you highlighted our location is in a prime location with everything that you need within walking distance. I apologize for the incorrect description on Booking.Com and I am in the process of correcting so the room types will be clear so the expectations are met. Next time your in DC we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    138
    73
    29
    22
See reviews for
147
45
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

For the price of this room, the size was amazing, almost a waste for only one night stay. This was so convenient to walk to many areas but the street itself was quiet. I have a hard time sleeping with hallway noise and this room was far from the door and divided from the main living area.

Wolfgang Puck coffee in the room was a bonus but had to go out for any meals. They are in the process of getting ready to update everything, the living areas are in need of new furnishings but the bedrooms were good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Sharelaughs,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your short trip and with our spacious suites hopefully your next stay will be longer. We are about to undergo a very extensive update to the entire hotel. We look forward to showing you some of the changes when you return.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for business and appreciated the quiet location, very nice hotel suite and helpful staff. This is located very close to the Watergate, GW University and Georgetown. Convenient to the Foggy Bottom Metro. Everything was clean and well kept. The area is safe and well located with restaurants nearby but no hotel restaurant. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Lazonia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to highlight your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the location as much as we do. We will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

When I first went to stay at this hotel 15 years ago it had a different name but was still 'tacky'...so much so that we walked into the foyer and back out again to move to another hotel. Arriving late at night I was dismayed to find that the hotel was hte one I'd been to before but with a new name. Time had not improved the place but arriving late at night and with an early moring start I checked in.

The place is well past its prime and it shows. Breakfast is a buffet in a small room ... nowhere to sit. Come down, help yourself and take it back to your room to eat. People in nightwear waiting to make their choice was not a particularly good thing to see.

If you have a limited budget this might do but I will never visit there again.

In fairness, the beds were both clean and comfortable but I would prefer to spend more and stay in a better class of hotel

Room Tip: I am not sure I can say anything here other than stay elsewhere if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
rogchez,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take all of the comments very strongly and making efforts to improve where we fell short during your stay. We have a lot of exciting "New" improvements that are being made. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is at a great location, and the rooms are comfortable.

I've stayed in this property 6 or 7 times in the last couple of years, sometimes by myself, sometimes with wife & daughter. Close to Whole Foods, close to the Metro, an easy jog to the Lincoln Memorial, Washington monument, etc.

Yes, it's a little tired. But the amenities, location, ktichenette, etc. more than make up for it.

And it is a great price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
GaryD,

Thank you taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and business over the last 7 years. We look forward to seeing you again soon and you will notice a lot of "New" changes when you return.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was booked in here for a few days whilst working nearby. Had a large bedroom with large lounge and an ok sized kitchen and bathroom. My main criticism would be the breakfast. Tea, coffee, doughnuts and pre-packed carton cereals are provided in a small room on the ground floor on a help yourself basis but there is nowhere to sit if you were travelling with a group and wanted to have breakfast together (as we did). I assume everyone takes the breakfast back to their room. Having read the previous review about roaches I saw a lice on the wall in the breakfast room which was swatted away by a cleaner, after which i never went back. The food in the breakfast room is not covered over. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the kitchen in the room too. However on the plus side the beds were very comfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
MsBoo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take all of the comments very strongly and making efforts to improve where we fell short during your stay. We have a lot of exciting "New" improvements that are being made. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

or room was very beautiful, the huge down fall was finding a dead roaches and a bunch of live baby roaches. I would not stay here again because i don't want to bring them things home with me. I kept my belongings on top of the dresser and my husband notified the front desk and theyvsaid they will send someone up.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Chevonne T,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your candid review of our property. I am currently looking into the matter that you have reported as I can ensure you this will be resolved in an expedited fashion. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can receive more information.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.