We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #49 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
South Side
1 review
“Great place Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here New Years Eve 2012 till New Years day 2013. Rooms were very nice, better than I expected. Everything was perfect. However when we got there it took forever for the bellman to get a working cart to help us unload. Parking is $40 a night which is ridiculous. Besides those problems my stay was wonderful. I brought my New years in right :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
BG,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay over New Years Eve. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I apologize for the delay on the Bellmen with the luggage cart, a flat tire could not happen at a worse time. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    156
    74
    31
    23
See reviews for
176
46
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed three nights in January 2012.

Pro - Whole Foods right around the corner
- Melvin and Sief (sp?) on the door were Fantastic. Both helped unload and load our car (travelling with small children... the detritus of a backseat/trunk after 6hr drive. Helped move us in and out. They're fanatstic
- great location for our GWU work.
- Wonderful Italian restaurant right across the street. Very good food.

Cons - too much $ for the quality of rooms
- stove didn't work (they fixed it 2nd day)
- not well insulated; with the curtains open, hard to keep the room warm
- no pool
- some attitude from the front desk on check-in (hhonors gold. really folks?)
- front desk gave me incorrect walking directions twice.

Overall, very nice having kitchen and fridge, esp with the kids. No breakfast included, $10/day PER DEVICE for internet. Probably won't be staying here again. For the money, there's much better around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
HokieCarl,

Thank you for giving your feedback of your most recent stay. I appreciate such candid feedback sharing the pro's and the con's. This will only help us provide a better experience for all of our current and future guests. Saif and Melvin have been recognized for the terrific service they have given your family and all of our other guests.

We are in the process of making a few changes at the hotel and we now offer a complimentary grab and go breakfast and also complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel.

When your in the DC area for your next visit stop by and see the changes that we are currently making.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is in a nice quiet neighborhood but still very close to the key attractions. Just a short walk. A very good choice if you are looking to visit GWU with your college-bound kid.

Nice rooms, with very comfortable beds

Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
ETY_1986,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your most recent stay. I am glad we were able to meet all of your needs and provide comfortable accommodations while on business. We hope to see you again in the near future and I hope to able to meet you.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days just prior to Christmas 2012. The rooms generally were a bit old and tired and could do with updating. The curtains were torn, and was just generally a bit dirty. Bathroom was fine with good shower. The beds were very comfortable. Self catering was basic - a microwave, fridge, stove and coffee maker. Would have been good to have proper crockery coffee cups (2 paper cups provided only) and a toaster. The availability of a laundry was great but the hotel couldn't provide change (the in room book said they would). The staff members on desk were not particularly friendly or helpful. We couldn't use the hotel security safe because the staff member on desk couldn't operate them.
Used the gym a couple of times - was small but very clean and modern equipment.
On the positive side, there is a great supermarket (Whole Foods) at Foggy Bottom Metro and both are a very short walk away which made getting about Washington really easy. We walked to the White House - maybe a 10 or 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
the6travellers,

Thanking you for taking the time to post your feedback in your most recent stay. I want to apologize for the service that you recieved and feedback as you provided has been added to our on-going training efforts. When your in the DC area next time please contact me directly so I can show you our improvements.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for five nights with two teenage daughters. The location is great. About a two minute walk to the Metro station, five minutes to a great supermarket (Wholefood Market) and resturants. Have a look in the GWU dining hall next to the Metro station (located with Starbucks). Really cheap food and it is open when the resturants are not!! About twenty minutes walk to the Whitehouse and the National Mall.

The motel first appears to be very tired from the lobby, but the rooms are a good sized and comfortable. The kitchen had basic utensils. A toaster in the room would have been nice. We found the staff friendly and helpful. As others have mentioned, be ready for the $36/day to park a car. We only had our hire car for one nigt so it was not too painful.

The wifi is complementy to HHonors members. When we arrived we were not members, but the guy on the front counter pointed out it is free to join so we joined and got the free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Jpflying,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with your most recent stay. I am pleased to announce that we now offer complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel and also a "grab and go" breakfast for the traveler on the go. We look forward to your next visit and if you need anything to assist in your planning your next trip please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a good hotel for the price and location. Obviously don't come expecting that this is a luxury hotel but we found this a great value for our 3 day stay.

Pros:
- great location 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom metro and Kennedy center
- walking distance to national mall, white house
- good sized suites, 2 blocks from whole foods so you can stock up on food to heat up in the room
- really good housekeeping
- good HHonors elite recognition. We got free breakfast delivered to the room

Cons:
- uninviting lobby, staff could be friendlier
- furnishing and interior have little character
- parking is expensive. We parked in the watergate complex during the day and the street at night (free)

Overall a good choice to tour the DC attractions. Depending on the rates you pay this could be a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Marietta,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your candid review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and hotel. Cleanliness and Friendliness is what we strive for on a daily basis. I am glad that we met your expectations with a very clean room. I do apologize that one of the con's you had mentioned was the friendliness of the staff. We have posted your review and will assist us in improving on a daily basis. 2013 will be an exciting year for our hotel, so we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, wv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderful, low key, and comfortable hotel. It's practically on the George Washington campus and it's only a few blocks from the Kennedy Center. It's also on a charming residential street. It's easily accessible, quiet and has valet parking. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are fantastic. I had a suite, complete with full kitchen and separate living room area. It makes for a much more pleasant homelike stay and it was very reasonably priced.

I personally do not like loud, over lit, impersonal corporate, cookie-cutter hotels and avoid them if at all possible. This hotel is warm and welcoming and the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. Also, there is a wonderful Italian Bistro and bar directly across the street that I highly recommend. I walked only two blocks to Circa's and had one of the best meals in my life.

I highly recommend this hotel and will gladly stay there again. It's especially good for going to the Kennedy Center and it's an easy in and out of town as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond about your most recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our wonderful hotel with the best location in Washington DC. We hope to see you in the near future and wishing you and your Family Happy Holidays!!!!!

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.