We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #48 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Australian
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for five nights with two teenage daughters. The location is great. About a two minute walk to the Metro station, five minutes to a great supermarket (Wholefood Market) and resturants. Have a look in the GWU dining hall next to the Metro station (located with Starbucks). Really cheap food and it is open when the resturants are not!! About twenty minutes walk to the Whitehouse and the National Mall.

The motel first appears to be very tired from the lobby, but the rooms are a good sized and comfortable. The kitchen had basic utensils. A toaster in the room would have been nice. We found the staff friendly and helpful. As others have mentioned, be ready for the $36/day to park a car. We only had our hire car for one nigt so it was not too painful.

The wifi is complementy to HHonors members. When we arrived we were not members, but the guy on the front counter pointed out it is free to join so we joined and got the free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Jpflying,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with your most recent stay. I am pleased to announce that we now offer complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel and also a "grab and go" breakfast for the traveler on the go. We look forward to your next visit and if you need anything to assist in your planning your next trip please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a good hotel for the price and location. Obviously don't come expecting that this is a luxury hotel but we found this a great value for our 3 day stay.

Pros:
- great location 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom metro and Kennedy center
- walking distance to national mall, white house
- good sized suites, 2 blocks from whole foods so you can stock up on food to heat up in the room
- really good housekeeping
- good HHonors elite recognition. We got free breakfast delivered to the room

Cons:
- uninviting lobby, staff could be friendlier
- furnishing and interior have little character
- parking is expensive. We parked in the watergate complex during the day and the street at night (free)

Overall a good choice to tour the DC attractions. Depending on the rates you pay this could be a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Marietta,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your candid review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and hotel. Cleanliness and Friendliness is what we strive for on a daily basis. I am glad that we met your expectations with a very clean room. I do apologize that one of the con's you had mentioned was the friendliness of the staff. We have posted your review and will assist us in improving on a daily basis. 2013 will be an exciting year for our hotel, so we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, wv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderful, low key, and comfortable hotel. It's practically on the George Washington campus and it's only a few blocks from the Kennedy Center. It's also on a charming residential street. It's easily accessible, quiet and has valet parking. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are fantastic. I had a suite, complete with full kitchen and separate living room area. It makes for a much more pleasant homelike stay and it was very reasonably priced.

I personally do not like loud, over lit, impersonal corporate, cookie-cutter hotels and avoid them if at all possible. This hotel is warm and welcoming and the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. Also, there is a wonderful Italian Bistro and bar directly across the street that I highly recommend. I walked only two blocks to Circa's and had one of the best meals in my life.

I highly recommend this hotel and will gladly stay there again. It's especially good for going to the Kennedy Center and it's an easy in and out of town as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond about your most recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our wonderful hotel with the best location in Washington DC. We hope to see you in the near future and wishing you and your Family Happy Holidays!!!!!

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just happened to check out my VISA charges this morning and discovered a $50 charge from the Doubletree. Turns out they charged $50 against my credit card in the event that I charged anything at the hotel. First of all, I'm not sure what there is that you could charge there. There's no restaurant or special amenities that I'm aware of. Secondly, I felt it was very sneaky to charge this amount to my credit card without bothering to mention it to me. Even if it were in the fine print, they should have brought this to my attention so we could have had a face-to-face discussion about it. And, of course, this fee won't be refunded to my credit card for 5 to 7 business days. This seems pretty unethical, although I'm sure their manager will write some response to this saying I should have known or something.

The only reason this hotel can survive is its wonderful location near the Kennedy Center. Otherwise it's pretty old and dated. The full kitchen turned out to be a two-pod coffeemaker for a grand total of two cups of coffee, no bowls in our suite for cereal, and two plates and a couple pots, not exactly a functional kitchen. The bed sagged towards the middle, so we both woke up with stiff backs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. However, I would like to apologize for the authorization hold that was placed on your card. We will address our front desk staff in regards to this incident, and we again apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.


Happy Holiday's to you and your family!!!!

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was looking for a hotel that was close to everything on my 'to do' list and because the price wasn't right on Embassy Row, this Double Tree was my 2nd choice. But if ever in DC again, we will definitely book at this hotel.
The room/s were wonderful. Separate bedroom with king bed with en suite, a 'living room' area along with a kitchennette complete with full sized fridge, sink, etc. Clean and exceptionally comfortable. All for the cost of a regular hotel room! And warm chocolate chip cookies at check in? Yum!
Looking out our window on New Hampshire Ave., the Watergate Hotel/office building can be seen right down the street. Also within walking distance is the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (which offers a shuttle service as well at the Foggy Bottom Metro stop a short walk from the hotel). The Metro was easy to figure out and the hotel easy enough to find when we got off at Foggy Bottom. Pennsylvania Ave. is only a couple blocks away and the White House is a 20 minute walk. With DC being a wonderful and safe walking city, the Double Tree is perfect for everything you'll want to visit either on foot or via the super metro system.
We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: No restaurant on site...restaurant across the street only barely acceptable for breakfast...better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was unimpressed with this hotel. When we checked in it was raining, the street in front of the hotel was blocked off b/c of construction and we went into the back entrance.
Everyone was very nice but I was turned off at the decor of everything I wanted to check out before I even checked in.
Coming and going was annoying me b/c of the contruction in the front of the hotel door.
There was sand and dirt everywhere and my shoes were a mess.
If you can find another place to stay you should do that!
Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Level Contributor
185 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's located within walking distance of a lot of things: 2 minutes from the metro, 5-10 mins from the World Bank Buildings, and 10 mins from George town. The suites are big - nice size room, bathroom, living room with work desk and kitchen with fridge. This place could be really good if it was just renovated a bit and the staff working the front desk were better at customer service. There is no restaurant in the hotel but delivery is pretty easy.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get either of the rooms right by the elevator as they are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#18 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#52 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 137 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#44 of 137 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 137 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing