We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for almost Everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for almost Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was looking for a hotel that was close to everything on my 'to do' list and because the price wasn't right on Embassy Row, this Double Tree was my 2nd choice. But if ever in DC again, we will definitely book at this hotel.
The room/s were wonderful. Separate bedroom with king bed with en suite, a 'living room' area along with a kitchennette complete with full sized fridge, sink, etc. Clean and exceptionally comfortable. All for the cost of a regular hotel room! And warm chocolate chip cookies at check in? Yum!
Looking out our window on New Hampshire Ave., the Watergate Hotel/office building can be seen right down the street. Also within walking distance is the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (which offers a shuttle service as well at the Foggy Bottom Metro stop a short walk from the hotel). The Metro was easy to figure out and the hotel easy enough to find when we got off at Foggy Bottom. Pennsylvania Ave. is only a couple blocks away and the White House is a 20 minute walk. With DC being a wonderful and safe walking city, the Double Tree is perfect for everything you'll want to visit either on foot or via the super metro system.
We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: No restaurant on site...restaurant across the street only barely acceptable for breakfast...better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    172
    76
    33
    23
See reviews for
200
53
28
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was unimpressed with this hotel. When we checked in it was raining, the street in front of the hotel was blocked off b/c of construction and we went into the back entrance.
Everyone was very nice but I was turned off at the decor of everything I wanted to check out before I even checked in.
Coming and going was annoying me b/c of the contruction in the front of the hotel door.
There was sand and dirt everywhere and my shoes were a mess.
If you can find another place to stay you should do that!
Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's located within walking distance of a lot of things: 2 minutes from the metro, 5-10 mins from the World Bank Buildings, and 10 mins from George town. The suites are big - nice size room, bathroom, living room with work desk and kitchen with fridge. This place could be really good if it was just renovated a bit and the staff working the front desk were better at customer service. There is no restaurant in the hotel but delivery is pretty easy.

Room Tip: Make sure not to get either of the rooms right by the elevator as they are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel has lots of potential, great Foggy Bottom location, very near 1st DC Metro stop on the Orange/Blue lines, nicely arranged and very spacious rooms. However, I would only stay there again in a pinch. Here's why -- I never felt that the staff really cared about customer service (with the exception of one doorman who went out of his way to assist with dinner options). I suspect there is a lack of management focus on honest customer service.

I checked in when the hot water was out in the entire hotel. I discovered this when I tried to shower after working out. THE FRONT DESK DID NOT TELL ME WHEN I CHECKED IN. I found this to be deceptive. The water remained out overnight despite assurance that someone was on the way to repair it. I don't mind taking a cold shower in the morning and I understand that these things happen occassionally. However, there was no visible attempt by the hotel to mitigate this problem with the guests. With a manager present at the front desk I inquired what the hotel planned to do for its guests. The manager quickly left the area, it appeared she did not want to confront the issue. The receptionist went to the back room and when she returned she promised 4000 HHonors points. No apology, and no affirmative action to alert guests about the points. I got the feeling they were hoping no one would ask.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Steve A,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. We’re sorry we didn’t provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. We know how important a hot shower is and your comments will help us to improve the situation. However, I would like to apologize for the level of service you received while staying with us. We want you to know that we will address all team members regarding this incident. We hope you’ll give us another chance and stay at our location again in the future and if there is anything I can do to rectify this, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let me start by saying the staff at this ill appointed hotel was great. Once again, we checked in incredibly late...valet was available and willing to assist with our bags, parking our truck and the front desk clerk was sweet and willing to assist, as well...our room (810) had curtains with holes in them (living room area), a couch that needed to be re-upholstered or tossed, a loud refrigerator and the bed was mediocre at best...we chose not to complain because the staff was really outstanding, we were tired and in no mood to lug our stuff to yet another room. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Metro and Georgetown....there is a Whole Foods nearby--great for picking up snacks (that can be refrigerated). I used to think Doubletree was an esteemed brand, but it appears that Hilton is letting these establishments deteriorate. I am sure this hotel fills up with people visiting Georgetown; however, I would hesitate to visit a Doubletree again...this is my second experience with a dilapidated establishment with the doubletree name...the only one I think may live up to the standard is in NYC (near Times Square). And there are no cookies for the guests anymore...I was happy to see the coffee service and fruit, though...this hotel does not have a restaurant and room service is...room service prices...this was my second stay in a Hilton hotel in one week, this time I got smart and brought my own wifi hot spot, so I don't know if they were charging per device like the Embassy Suites in Hunt Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Janet S.,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your positive and some of the negative experience you most recently had. I am working with the team to make sure that we address all of your concerns. I am glad you enjoyed the aspect of the Starbucks Coffee and fresh fruit that we provide in our lobby. I am disappointed you were not able to enjoy one of our signature cookies. We still offering them 7 days a week and I need to investigate why did not receive one. I hope you will decide to give our property another chance and let us show you our improvements we are making. Thank you again for your candid feedback and hopefully we will see you again.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a very convenient place to stay - near GW with lots of restaurants and places to go. The valet parking is required because there is no self-park, and it runs you $36/day.

The rooms all have kitchens, which makes staying in DC affordable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Pannipannini,

Thank you for your recent posting about your stay at the Doubletree Suites. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location as much as we do. Parking in DC, need I say anymore? On the positive side once you arrive at the hotel and give your keys to the valet you don't have to worry about driving until the departure date. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good location, very close to Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Spacious and clean room, with comfortable bed. The front desk staff was unfortunatelly neglectfull and uncomitted to client satisfaction.
Another downpoint was the expensive wi-fi and no safe deposit box inside the room, only at the lobby which was not good enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonSallinen, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Fernanda P.,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our Doubletree Suites. I want to apologize for the service that you experienced at the front desk. I am looking into the matter and utilizing your feedback as a tool to continually train the staff on an ongoing basis. I really appreciate you letting me know about your experience and we will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Jon Sallinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#62 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#50 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#42 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.