We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs lots of repairs/upgrades but location is great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Needs lots of repairs/upgrades but location is great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Front desk, valet staff, and location were excellent. The street is quiet but its still DC and you can easily navigate yourself around town.
The room was - for lack of a better word - gross. The couch was dirty, the pillows were peeling, the chairs were stained. The floor needed to be replaced. The bedroom looked like it had a new bed but the chair and the headboard were stained. The furniture desperately needs to be replaced.
The layout of the room is very tiny because the building is older but I think a lot of upgrades are needed to make this place worth a second stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to let us know about your stay. If you have the time I would appreciate a moment to discuss your concerns. Please call the hotel at your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    173
    77
    34
    23
See reviews for
202
53
28
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had no problems even though it was during that 105 degree heat wave! The AC kept our room ice cold but you needed to call the front desk to get ice delivered. This is an older property and some items have been upgraded like the flat panel TV's. The room was clean, shower head was clean but the bathroom counter was super low (approx 24" high). The free starbucks coffee + tea in the lobby was always stocked and filled. We asked for more towels and they brought them very quick! Towels were clean and smelled fresh.

The rooftop pool was small but the kids enjoyed it on a hot evening, too bad it closes at 8pm, pool towels are provided on the roof. Location to the foggy bottom metro is less than a 5 min walk which was very nice!
My main complaint was the pillows are horrible, these are flat worthless bed decorations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We choose the hotel based on location, we were attending the World Jump Rope Competition so the location for us was excellent. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The rooms are great, especially the fact that they haVe full size fridge and your able to cook and don't have to eat put for every meal.
The bathroom was not the cleanest. The floor looked as if it was mopped with dirty mop and streaks of dirt as well as hair were scattered.on the floor under the sink.
We arrived at the hotel early since we needed to be sat the competition, they stored our bags and told me a room might be ready early, but if not check in was 3. We came back to hotel during a break around 3:30, a room was not available and we needed to wait @15-20 minutes. Not really a big deal.
Since the hotel is by George Washington University there is a place that has several places to eat as well as a little market that has all kinds of food and sundries.
We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was my second time at this property, which is right in the middle of the Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just a stone's throw from the George Washington University campus. I stayed recently on a Sunday night and was able to grab a room for just $119, a great deal for the area. For the money, I scored a true two-room suite with a separate kitchen, no less. The room was bigger than many Manhattan apartments. Overall, nothing fancy or lavish, but it got the job done.
This is a smaller Doubletree, it almost has a boutique feel in keeping with the residential nature of the street it's on.When I asked for my breakfast voucher I was entitled to as a Hilton Hhonors member, I was given one of those doortags where you check off what you want and then leave it on the door. Turns out, there's no actual restaurant, so all dining there is room service. The breakfast was still free, even though you sign a receipt when it's delivered. I had asked the meal to arrive between 7-7:30 a.m. The server came at 7:01 a.m. I went on the healthy side, and between the toast, yogurt, fruit and coffee, I was filled up.
Overall, this is a great neighborhood to stay in. There are restaurants nearby and a lot of street life in and around the campus. Hint: If you come by Metro, exit right and walk onto the campus, which is a continuation of Eye Street. When you leave the gates, the street you see going diagonal in front of you is New Hampshire. The hotel is about a half-block on the left.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Double Tree Suites in Foggy Bottom. This is obviously an older hotel but they've done a good job of keeping the rooms modern and nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the kitchenette is outdated but functional and I enjoyed having a big desk/table to work at in the living room. The location is great. It's close to the Metro and walking distance to many historic sites. I felt very comfortable walking at night coming home from tours, one at the White House (I actually took the metro) and the other at the Lincoln Memorial (ended at 9:30pm and felt like about a mile walk) There is a Whole Foods store close by with a good buffet, and TGIF a few blocks away for a quick lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed at the Double Tree at Washington DC in September for two weeks. The stay was very mundane. The rooms were spacious but truly business style with no asthetic touches. All in all a business accomodation. The functional aspects of the room were fine. Staff were very matter of fact and there was no warmth in the approach to guests. Wi Fi was chargable which made the whole experience even more tedious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your stay and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Stacy Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IceGurlie
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the DoubleTree Suites for the first time over Memorial Weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We booked this hotel after canceling a reservation at a sister property which had some construction noise issues and actually ended up with a better location and a much better deal.

We arrived late on Friday night and were concerned at first because no one came out to meet us and take the car or offer us a luggage cart. Eventually, someone came out to park the car and we managed to get our bags into the lobby. The rest of the check-in process went smoothly and we were thrilled with our clean, comfortable, HUGE suite. We didn't cook, but the full kitchen was great for storing drinks and reheating leftovers. The separate living room allowed us to spread out and the bedroom was a great size. Compared to the rest of the suite, the bathroom was tiny. It wasn't ideal, but we managed. The biggest challenge was when two people were trying to get ready and use the sink and mirror at the same time.

We didn't use the fitness center, but we did use the rooftop pool. It's small, but there were never more than six or eight other people there either time I visited. It was a nice amenity to have during a hot visit to the city.

The DoubleTree is about two blocks from the GW University/Foggy Bottom Metro station, so it's easy to get anywhere you need to go. It's located in a quiet, shady neighborhood and I enjoyed walking to and from the subway. There is no restaurant at the property, but they do offer room service until 10 pm and we were within walking distance of several decent places

Overall, we were happy with our stay. There are lots of hotels in Washington and I'm sure we will shop around when the time comes for our next visit, but I know we will consider the DoubleTree Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#63 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#51 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#41 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.