We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

My 80 year old mother and I stayed at the Doubletree for 12 days. It is located in a quiet area of DC and only a couple of blocks from the Metro. Our room had 2 queen sized beds, a kitchen with a 2-burner stove, dishwasher, clean refrigerator, coffee and tea service, sink, dishes and utensils. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was very friendly, helpful and always greeted us with a smile. The beds were wonderfully comfortable with nice linens. There is a continental breakfast Saturday and Sunday mornings. The maid service is the only weak spot we noticed; sometimes the dishes weren't washed or the coffee/tea/soap supplies weren't replaced, but when we called the front desk, they were always apologetic and got the requested items to us very rapidly. It is in a very convenient location: in the Watergate complex (about 3 blocks away) there is a Safeway grocery store, a CVS pharmacy, casual Chinese restaurant, beauty salon and bakery. It is one of the few places in DC within walking distance of the memorials (even from the Metro they are a long walk). There is a farmers market every Wednesday nearby with truly scrumptious things to take back to the room for dinner. The Kennedy Center was for us the real find: it has free public concerts every evening at 6-7pm with a truly wide range of talent from all over the world and it is also within walking distance of the hotel (or you can take the free shuttle from the George Washington University every evening). We walked everywhere or took the Metro and really looked forward to returning to our comfortable room at the Doubletree. My mother and I consider this to be one of the most pleasant hotels that we have stayed at and is certainly a value given its location within DC. I chose it using Trip Advisor and found the reviews to be quite helpful.

  • Liked — Comfy bed and great location
  • Disliked — Spotty maid service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    149
    75
    29
    22
See reviews for
158
46
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed at the Doubletree for 2 nights in April. My husband and I -- and our 2 teenage daughters -- shared a two-room suite. The advantages to this hotel are (a) its location near key tourist sites and midway between the mall and Georgetown, (b) price, (c) proximity to the metro, and (d) proximity to GW University. Interestingly, when researching hotels for a family visit to DC maybe 6 years ago, I had at that time settled on this same hotel, again for location and price reasons. This time we were combining a visit to GW with a little sightseeing. The hotel is somewhat "tired", and everything about it says SMALL . . . the lobby, the elevators, the rooms. We did feel cramped in our room with the 4 of us, but we had been spoiled by the hotels we'd stayed in the prior 2 nights in Greensboro and Richmond. DC hotels are, of course, significantly more expensive across the board, and you are not paying top dollar at the Doubletree. We did not use the kitchen other than to stock the fridge with cold drinks. There is a 7-11 virtually across the street.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

My family stayed in the Doubletree for five nights back in March. I had wrote up a review back then and never got around to posting it until being reminded of it after recently learning from an NPR story that a “water fly” is in fact a cockroach! So here goes…

The Doubletree is an older property, shows its age here and there but overall well-maintained and clean.

The hotel is in a very convenient location, a two minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro and a Safeway just across Virginia Ave in the bottom floor of the Watergate complex. The Lincoln Memorial is within walking distance though it wasn’t so pleasant a walk when the temperature was in the 30s.

We were in a 9th floor room facing New Hampshire Ave. and noise was not a problem. New Hampshire Ave is a pretty quiet street. I understand there are rooms on the other side with a view of the Kennedy Center.

The suite arrangement was very comfortable, the front door opens into an entry hall, the living area had plenty of room for a dining table, couch, television and desk. The kitchen was a separate room from the living area. The bedroom was another separate room with two very comfortable beds, another TV and a large closet area.

The kitchen was serviceable, with minimal counterspace, a new, large, clean refrigerator and microwave and a stove and dishwasher. I’m always wary of hotel microwaves, they so often have the stench of old cheese and popcorn – not a problem at the Doubletree. We loaded the dishwasher and housekeeping would run it each day, though it doesn’t seem like they put any detergent in it. Having the kitchen and a grocery store nearby was really convenient and cheap. We could prepare a big breakfast, eat lunch out and several evenings we prepared dinner in the suite too. Cooking utensils, dishware and silverware were limited but enough to get by.

The (for a fee) wireless Internet worked flawlessly after spending almost an hour on hold waiting for assistance from the third-party Internet service provider.

Did have two problems though:

Upon checkin I find a two inch insect parked in the front door jamb. It looked like a roach to me, but on the other hand it didn’t scurry away at the slightest provocation the way roaches typically do. The maintenance person said it was a “water fly”? – anyway it was promptly removed and I never saw any other evidence of bugs during the remainder of our stay.

The other problem was with cigarette smoke wafting through the bathroom ventilation system. I was told the smoking rooms are on the 2nd floor. Since we were up on the 9th floor I’m guessing someone on a floor beneath us was cheating.

We had a fine stay there and would readily return when the kids are ready for another tour of the Smithsonian – maybe after the American History museum reopens!

  • Liked — Location, suite layout, quiet rooms
  • Disliked — The roach, cigarette smoke
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, IN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We had a fabulous experience in the quiet neighborhood of Foggy Bottom. It was convenient to the metro; walking in the GWU area was easy. We stayed 10 days and other than one night of noisy party girl neighbors, it was perfect. The room size was great; the kitchen was convenient. There's a farmers market on Wednesday afternoons and we were able to buy goodies to feast on in the room. The pool is small, but nice to cool off in from the sultry steamy heat of August. I had chills and instant relief after a day of walking DC.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We have stayed at the Doubletree Guest Suites everytime we go to DC which is apporximately 3 to 4 times a year. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are clean and bright. The front desk staff, doormen, maintenance, and housekeepers are all friendly, very professional, and knowledgeable. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Why give up a sure thing.

  • Liked — front dest staff and location to University
  • Disliked — not a lot of nice views from all rooms.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our family of 5 enjoyed our stay here tremendously. Our suite was large by D.C. standards -- basically 2 decent size rooms (bedroom w/ 2 doubles, living area w/ a sleeper sofa) and 2 small rooms (bathroom, kitchen). The Metro stop is a close walk (GWU/Foggy Bottom), there are several groceries nearby (Safeway in the Watergate, we preferred Trader Joe's but it's a few blocks further), and decent food options (TGIFriday's, Au Bon Pain, food court at GWU, Johnny Rockets). The kitchen is not equipped for cooking, but we had bowls & spoons for cereal & bagels in the morning, and used the full-size fridge for frozen dinners & beverages. We left every morning for a day of activity, then returned to a very clean, cool room each evening. We stayed for a week, so we also used the hotel self-serve laundry ($3.25 in quarters gets one load washed & dried, including soap). There are TV's in both rooms, so we could make multiple programming choices, and I really liked the kitchen being a separate area, not part of the living room as in some hotels. The neighborhood felt very safe, especially around the GW campus as they also have campus police patrolling. We parked our car for the week (with tax $28 per day, valet only, unlimited in/out). I especially appreciated the extremely comfortable beds, although the hide-a-bed was uncomfortable so we had to rotate the kids on that. The staff was friendly, although we had limited contact. We were given an excellent site-seeing & Metro map upon arrival, the kids were each given a nice backpack w/ goodies inside, and the doorman always greeted us. However, the one time I asked for directions they turned out to be too vague & resulted in walking an extra 4 blocks. Great soundproofing -- quiet and peaceful (our room was on a mid-level floor on the back of the building). I thought it was a great value for $165 a night compared with other places we have tried to squeeze into with our larger family, and we definitely saved money eating breakfast & several dinners in our room. On the down side, there was no internet access unless you brought a laptop & paid for wi-fi, the kitchen was not well-stocked (e.g. 2 mugs, 3 bowls, no sharp knife, no DW soap), and the bathroom was very small and unventilated. Overall, a great experience.

  • Liked — Location, larger size for families
  • Disliked — Foggy bathroom, ill-equipped kitchen
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We are glad we chose this hotel for our D.C. vacation. The location is just a short walk to the Metro, and being a blue line stop makes it very convenient for many DC attractions without transferring. The front desk staff and doorman were extremely helpful. The room was basically clean, yet getting a little worn. The Doubletree bedding was superb. The kitchen was good for breakfast and keeping our water bottles cold in the refrigerator, but dont expect to do much cooking. The utensils are extremely limited. We called several times to get 3 cereal bowls and spoons delivered. The room was quiet and we never heard any other guests. The Watergate complex with the Safeway and CVS is a few blocks away, and you can walk to Georgetown for dining. We booked several months in advance and paid a rate of $174 per night. Overall, a very good choice for us.

  • Liked — location and bedding
  • Disliked — limited kitchen utensils
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.