We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We recently stayed here on vacation because they had a good rating on trip advisor and seemed to have a good value. The hotel was great. The service from the front desk, housekeeping, and food services was always good and the personnel were always nice. I want to especially mention Deborah in the mornings who always greeted us with a smile and took great care of us. The breakfasts were excellent and offered eggs, a meat, biscuits and other breads, waffles (the kind cooked in an iron not frozen) and there was always plenty. We ate all three of the free meals in the evenings and though they are not five star they were really good. There was always plenty and the quality of the food was good. I give them credit for creativity, there are not too many places that would prepare mass amounts of corn beef and cabbage, but that is what they did for St. Patrick's Day, and it was quite good. The room was always clean and the lobby/common areas clean as well. The internet was slow some but free which is a plus. I will say that it is not in the heart of downtown which was an advantage to me, it was quiet at night, and still within walking distance to the mall and with a metro stop around the corner the whole of DC was easily accessible. The only bad point is the parking garage is not kind to large vehicles, we were in a truck and it was difficult to get in but once we figured out if we pulled in the mirrors, it helped, we were good. I really enjoyed the stay here and plan on staying here again as I travel to DC some for business.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    265
    67
    21
    8
See reviews for
374
103
26
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel over Presidents' Day weekend. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. My room was always cleaned and stocked with any items I needed. The hotel is located around the corner from the metro which was great and only a few blocks from the Smithsonian Museums. The negative's were that there weren't any restaurants in the neighborhood and you would have to go away from the hotel area to eat out. Also the parking fees were very high, $33.60 a night. On Valentine's Day they gave my husband and I each a bag of cookies and of Hershey kisses which was a plus.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Ok so I had stayed here once before (last month) and did last night. There are a few pros and cons about the place. I ended up in this hotel b/c I did a blind bid on priceline so it was a great value for the price. If you don't know how to use priceline, I recommend it b/c you'll probably save 50-70% on your room rates.

PROS: smoke-free, close to the metro, free breakfast, free internet, spacious room, quiet, close to certain government buildings, meant for business travellers only

CONS: even though I booked the room on priceline, the check-in lady was trying to convince me that I will not receive points for my stay at all. Only after I explained that you do for incidentals did she put forth the effort to finally put it in. Talk about louzy effort! Now to the list: location sucks as night as its literally dead out there, the internet might be free but its slow unless you pay to upgrade, the room is big but the heat is not quick and my stay was cold.

Like I said, this hotel was worth it b/c I got it on priceline. I would not book this place if I had to actually pay full price, even on client travel. I would recommend staying in a more lively area like the Vermont Ave Residence Inn or Dupont or something. However, the hotel is great if your doing business in that particular area. Btw, this time around it must have been the room (8th floor), my cell phone did not have signal at all!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
257 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

The hotel was clean, the 1 bedroom suite was a good size, the included breakfast was good, and the metro was out the front door and turn left and left again. Very very convenient. The underground parking garage was tight and $30 nightly.

We visited just before New Years and left on New Years day. The hotel was absolutely overrun with families and kiddies. The breakfast area was a little hectic because of all of the kids. It's a buffet and kids naturally want to hold their own plate and scoop their own oatmeal...even though they may not actually be tall enough or strong enough to do that. Some parents were not very good about attending to their little ones and long lines would form because junior was straining to reach the oatmeal container. It would be better if parents would just supervise their kids a bit better...not the hotel's fault.

The pool was clean, the 2 internet computers in the lobby worked well. There was really nothing to dislike about this hotel. The only slight problem we had was the maid refused to leave enough towels for us. We had 4 people but she would only leave 2 towels. Also the bathroom vent did not work very well.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Residence Inn for 4 nights over Thanksgiving and we were extremely happy with our stay. Here are some of the things we liked:
- Very close to the Metro - we used it a LOT
- We asked for a room high up and we were given a room on the top floor - so no noise from the nearby train tracks.
- Our room was very spacious! Full kitchen, eating area, sitting area, bedroom area, bathroom.
- Nice shop located in the lobby to buy snacks, drinks, wine, souviners, etc.
- Breakfast was included and was very good. Not too crowded until the days after Thanksgiving when it was so packed with families that we brought our food back up to our room to eat.
- Complementary dinner buffet was served twice while we were there.
- It's within easy walking distance to the National Mall, Capitol, museums, etc.
- There were several small places to eat nearby such as Potbelly's, Starbucks, etc. but we didn't get a chance to try any out.
- I wish we would have had time to try out the nice swimming pool and work out room.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting DC. We would stay there again or maybe next time we will stay in a different part of town just to experience a new area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

i stayed with my family over the christmas break. we loved the hotel .the staff was very friendly , the rooms were clean and efficient ,the hot breakfast was amazing , well located , the fireplace in the lobby very welcoming ,the gym all top of the line equiptment , the laundry room very helpful to have , the complimentary dinner delicous and healthy !! my kids loved the hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Super value for the money. Really great breakfasts (not just continental) and even dinners a few times a week. Friendly staff but not bell-hops. Rooms are large and fully equipped but a bit sterile. Kitchenettes are great with most conveniences. Free WIFI is great. Location is very good. For travelers with families (especially young children) this hotel is a real winner.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#55 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington DC Down...
#83 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.