We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Wash DC SW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Wash DC SW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

When was the last time you stayed in SW DC? Exactly!

Located in the SW business/gov't quarter, across the street from NASA. Mostly quite if coming in on a weekend. Loading/unloading for 3 cars. Street hourly pay parking available(free after 6:30pm) to avoid $35+ tax parking in the garage. Safe enough neighborhood to park on street.

Nice lobby/brunch area. The line can get long for the waffle station. More than 2 waffle machines should be made available, especially on the weekend.

Typical Res. Inn decor that you have come to know and love, but unique enough for each property.

We had the1 bedroom suite w/ 2 queens. Try to get front of building to avoid any possible train noise(commercial). Never heard anything, Probably stop running after a certain hour.

Room gripes: never to seem to have enough hooks in the bathroom. Never enough trash cans.
Not a big deal, but still... Towel shower rod falling down. Now if they could just replace that tacky coffee table flower arrangement! Def a fail!

Hotel is surprisingly close/convenient: 3 blocks to The Mall( American Indian Mus. and the Botanical Gardens the closest. Metro Train - Fed Ctr SW - 1 block.

Friendly/helpful staff makes this choice an easy one to choose for my next visit in town.

Room Tip: Stay in front of building, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello 1hotsun,

Thank you for coming out to visit our hotel. We know there are many choices, and we are happy that you have found your "hidden gem". I appreciate the feedback on the room issues, they will be communicated to the housekeeping department. We hope that we can impress you further on a future visit.

William A.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    252
    60
    19
    7
See reviews for
347
97
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Front Desk "Mr. James" and Concierge were fantastic & super friendly. The only reason I give this hotel a 4 is because it was difficult to find restaurants close by that were open. It appears everything shuts down during the weekend. Here's a couple of tips that may be helpful:
1. Do the Double Decker Bus Night Tour. The monuments & memorials are beautiful at night.
2. Stay away from Union Station when it gets dark, the undesirables come out.
3. Pack snacks & drinks for your walks.
4. Most museums are free, take advantage of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks in April 2014. The high light of this hotel has to be the excellent staff. The service was always outstanding friendly and helpful. The hotel is only a couple blocks from a Metro stop. This was our first visit to Washington DC and the location made sight seeing very convenient.. Breakfast was provided every morning a nice way to start your day. Dinner was provided 3 days a week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We - a family of 3 stayed in May 2014 at this wonderful hotel. The best part of the hotel was its location - wonderfully located to all the usual touristic attractions. This was our first visit as a family to Washington and it was important for us to cover as much of the city on offer together. Our concierge at the hotel was great in suggesting an evening tour of the city - thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel itself was very efficient and well-managed. The room was a 1-bedroom studio apartment with a lovely kitchenette - it was indeed very nice to have our own finger food during the breaks and with a mall right round the corner - we were spoilt for choices. The breakfast was okay, nothing to write home about in terms of choice but can't complain. The space is limited at the breakfast cafe and there is always a sense that we may be preventing someone else from a table if we did not eat it fast and scoot - I think maybe that was the real issue for us rather than food being served at breakfast which was quite alright, come to think of it.!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for the first time in May. What a gem! You are close to the National Mall, right around the corner from the Metro and down the street from the grocery store and a CVS. There is a train track that runs alongside the hotel but we never heard a horn just the click clack.

Room Tip: If you don't want traffic avoid the 2nd floor - the pool is on that floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This a newer Residence Inn property, conveniently located just a few blocks form the major attractions. Rooms are new and spacious. Make note that during the weekend it is free to park on the street, which I did to avoid the $35 fee to park at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Williamsburg and thought we would try the one in DC. The hotel itself is not bad. We had a one bedroom suite. It has two queens in the bedroom and one bath. The fold out couch is like sleeping on an air mattress filled with lumpy cement. The toilet did not flush at first but maintenance fixed it straight away. One of the drawers in the kitchen was broken but we didn't use it anyway. The only thing that is nuts is the PARKING! If you drive in, be aware that the gate will open automatically even without a key card. We got stuck there when we saw the key card slot and thought we needed to back up. We did that and it was the most challenging driving experience in the world. Made it without a scratch. Upon leaving however the driveway is so narrow and twists so suddenly to the left that I ended up scratching my front bumper on my brand new Ford Explorer. So my $40 parking fed turned into a $200 repair bill. If you have a small car it's fine. SUV? Park next door or have someone guide you out of the garage on foot. I'm not exaggerating, it is the worst parking garage I have ever been in. I actually thought about suing them for damages but I would have lost my case. Just be aware that there is NO WARNING about the sharp left turn past the gate. Other than that the hotel is within walking distance to the major sights. Skip the free dinner, it's worse than prison food. Breakfast is good however.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello TrvlFreq211,

I would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Washington D.C. It is nice to see that you like the Residence Inn brand, hopefully you'll continue to stay at our properties.

I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not totally to your satisfaction. I would be happy to discuss the issues you experienced with you directly, if possible. While we cannot rectify the issues you experienced, hopefully we can correct the issues for our future guests.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindly,

William A.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.