We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Port Angeles, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all around hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks in April 2014. The high light of this hotel has to be the excellent staff. The service was always outstanding friendly and helpful. The hotel is only a couple blocks from a Metro stop. This was our first visit to Washington DC and the location made sight seeing very convenient.. Breakfast was provided every morning a nice way to start your day. Dinner was provided 3 days a week.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    240
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
328
92
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We - a family of 3 stayed in May 2014 at this wonderful hotel. The best part of the hotel was its location - wonderfully located to all the usual touristic attractions. This was our first visit as a family to Washington and it was important for us to cover as much of the city on offer together. Our concierge at the hotel was great in suggesting an evening tour of the city - thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel itself was very efficient and well-managed. The room was a 1-bedroom studio apartment with a lovely kitchenette - it was indeed very nice to have our own finger food during the breaks and with a mall right round the corner - we were spoilt for choices. The breakfast was okay, nothing to write home about in terms of choice but can't complain. The space is limited at the breakfast cafe and there is always a sense that we may be preventing someone else from a table if we did not eat it fast and scoot - I think maybe that was the real issue for us rather than food being served at breakfast which was quite alright, come to think of it.!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for the first time in May. What a gem! You are close to the National Mall, right around the corner from the Metro and down the street from the grocery store and a CVS. There is a train track that runs alongside the hotel but we never heard a horn just the click clack.

Room Tip: If you don't want traffic avoid the 2nd floor - the pool is on that floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This a newer Residence Inn property, conveniently located just a few blocks form the major attractions. Rooms are new and spacious. Make note that during the weekend it is free to park on the street, which I did to avoid the $35 fee to park at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our 2nd visit. The first time was perfect so we assumed the second one would be as well. It was! Once in October, once in May. The breakfast staff is still amazing, whirlwinds of efficiency. They really set the tone for us each day, with their upbeat and gracious attitudes!
Huguette from Haiti and Abdou from Senegal were our favorites! And not to forget Azieb from Eritrea. She kept the place spotless and tables immaculate! And Patricia's kindness.
Disappointed not to get the $237 rate, but settled for the $331 rate. Gasp. Never in our dreams did we expect such high rates. (So much for senior citizens.) Counted our blessings just to get a room, however, since the hotel was booked. And such an ideal location. Easy walking distances to every site. What we liked best about it was the cleanliness (thanks, Eric. D.), the quality food, the wonderful staff. Thank you, Nikko, you made our day with a special treat to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary (too bad they don't have anniversary specials!) Other front desk staff seemed oblivious to what we consider a real milestone. Forty years! Hip Hip Hooray!

Room Tip: Both times we chose the studio suite. I think the only difference between it and the larger suite i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Fiscalini,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. It is great to know that we impressed you enough to have you back a second time! Especially during your 40th anniversary. I will be sure to pass along the wonderful feedback to our employees, as well as the management team. This is the type of service and experience we want all of our guests to have.

We hope to have you and your family with us in the near future. Take care, and we wish you many more happy years of marriage!

William A.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Williamsburg and thought we would try the one in DC. The hotel itself is not bad. We had a one bedroom suite. It has two queens in the bedroom and one bath. The fold out couch is like sleeping on an air mattress filled with lumpy cement. The toilet did not flush at first but maintenance fixed it straight away. One of the drawers in the kitchen was broken but we didn't use it anyway. The only thing that is nuts is the PARKING! If you drive in, be aware that the gate will open automatically even without a key card. We got stuck there when we saw the key card slot and thought we needed to back up. We did that and it was the most challenging driving experience in the world. Made it without a scratch. Upon leaving however the driveway is so narrow and twists so suddenly to the left that I ended up scratching my front bumper on my brand new Ford Explorer. So my $40 parking fed turned into a $200 repair bill. If you have a small car it's fine. SUV? Park next door or have someone guide you out of the garage on foot. I'm not exaggerating, it is the worst parking garage I have ever been in. I actually thought about suing them for damages but I would have lost my case. Just be aware that there is NO WARNING about the sharp left turn past the gate. Other than that the hotel is within walking distance to the major sights. Skip the free dinner, it's worse than prison food. Breakfast is good however.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello TrvlFreq211,

I would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Washington D.C. It is nice to see that you like the Residence Inn brand, hopefully you'll continue to stay at our properties.

I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not totally to your satisfaction. I would be happy to discuss the issues you experienced with you directly, if possible. While we cannot rectify the issues you experienced, hopefully we can correct the issues for our future guests.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindly,

William A.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here as a family of 3 with another family of 4. The rooms were quite large, with a sofa bed that was okay enough for an adult to sleep on..though a bit wonky as you might expect such things to be. The breakfast was very good, and very well attended, which made it slow going at times. A free dinner was also offered, to my amazement, which was also very well attended. The food was okay and helpful on the day it was pouring rain. The pool was big enough to have scores of children play in...way too crowded for an adult. It got a bit out of control at times, though and too loud...but this didn't bother the children. The hot tub was small but effective.There were laundry facilities which is useful. All in all a good stay. The walls were a tad thin, but not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.