We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good destination for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good destination for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

I should preface my comments by saying that I was enjoying a govt rate while attending a conference in town, and the family came along to enjoy the sights and sounds of the DC area. I arrived on a Sunday, and as a result I had little difficulty finding the hotel or with the check-in procedure. Front desk staff was quite amenable and provided maps in the welcome materials. I mirror earlier comments that the parking garage entrance is ridiculously narrow. If you are navigating an SUV or mini-van, fold in your mirrors or they will get scratched. Parking is also pretty expensive (though I guess you are paying for location). On the subject of location, the hotel is located on a generally quiet side street and is a short walk to the metro or the Mall. The Mall is deceptively long, and unless you are hanging around the Capitol side or have a family who enjoys walking, the Metro might be for you.

People stay at a Residence Inn because you get roominess, general "home" comfort and the service of a Marriott. That said, the hotel was on par with expectations. The 1 bedroom suite (comfortably fit myself, wife, and three young boys) was well-appointed and well-cared for during our four night stay. Kudos to the cleaning staff, for keeping the place nice with kids running about and a moderately-used kitchen (we brought drinks and snacks primarily) is no easy task. The enviro-friendly AC unit means the room will be warm upon check-in but will adjust in time. The internet is "free" (wired in rooms), but to access higher speeds you need to pay a $9.95 fee. I didn't need to test the wireless in the lobby, because they provided free access to a PC and printer that I used to print out some items.

We were on the 13th floor, and because we had a 1 bedroom suite our view was ordinary. I heard the trains now and then, but nothing at night and noise was not an issue.

The food bars were very crowded for weekdays (in my opinion). The breakfast bar food and service was consistently good. The evening bar had good offerings (by good meaning that even my picky kids would eat it), though food was running out with regularlity. Kudos to the staff for staying friendly and keeping it moving out of the kitchen though. Cookies at front desk and 24/7 coffee in the bar area is nice.

On the subject of other amenities; I had no use of the laundry room. The fitness room was excellent (lots of newer-looking machines and televisions). The pool was small and crowded, and towels were often in short (no) supply. Surprising for a family-oriented hotel.

What else? In addition to a few sandwhich shops in the area (and a SBux), there is the Market Inn which has good seafood but is pricey. They have an early bird special until 6 pm that runs $25 per person though and includes appetizer and desert. Kids run around $10 per.

All in all, it is a conveniently-located hotel that allows you to visit the city during the day and come "home" to renew for the next day's adventures.

  • Liked — Convenience, "home" comforts
  • Disliked — High parking fees, pool, you need key access for ALL floors
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    265
    68
    21
    8
See reviews for
374
103
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallipolis, OH
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is well maintained. Our room was superb a great value for a stay in DC. It is two blocks from the Metro and within walking distance to the Capitol and some of the Smithsonian museums. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to DC. The breakfast was good, they had a large variety of food to choose from.
Very satisfied.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is a great hotel. It is very convenient to the Metro stop (1 1/2 blocks) and to the national mall (3-4 blocks). We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it was very clean and updated. It had a large sitting area and full kitchen, with dining table. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast and dinner buffets were fantastic. Something a little different each morning. We ate dinner one night - lasagna, salad, soup, and garlic toast. It was hot and fresh and tasted great.

The laundry area was large and clean. The pool was very cold according to my kids.

We ate at Potbelly's (2 blocks away) and it is a good sandwich place with great milkshakes. We also ate at the Market Inn (3 blocks away). It was very good seafood but a little pricey.

Overall, we had a great 4 night stay and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We recently stayed at the Residence Inn. Upon arrriving, I let the front desk staff know I read unfavorable reviews if you stay in a room near the train tracks.(noise) I was assured by TWO staff members that we would NOT be bothered by the train in our assigned room. Lo and behold , well before 6 a.m., a train woke us up as it rumbeld by the hotel and loudly blew its whistle. The smug front desk staff needs to be more honest with its customers. We travel to DC often and will need to find other accomodations.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff was not honest
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We had a family vacation here with 8 people and stayed for two weeks. We were 4 adults and 4 kids. We booked 2 rooms - a 2 room suite and a regular suite. The 2 room suite was on the 7th floor. The other suite was on the 2nd floor. Both suites were great, clean, spacious and quiet.

I picked this location because we saved a TON of money by eating the delicious daily breakfast and the "pretty good" dinners, on the nights they were offered. Believe me, with a family of eight we took advantage of these benefits. We also bought groceries from a nearby Safeway and cooked several meals in the suite kitchen. The suite had everything we needed to make and serve dishes such as spaghetti, gumbo and chicken. Plus the large fridge made it possible to purchase and store "day trip snacks" for everyone to carry in their backpacks - thus saving on expensive vendor food. Of course we also ate out on many occasions but felt much better about splurging on nice, sit down restaurants because of the money we saved on food by using the above measures.

This hotel is walking distance to the metro and we walked to the metro almost every day. It is also walking distance to the Capitol district and many Capitol area attractions. We walked there as well. This also saved $ as we rarely had to call a taxi. Also, there's an enterprise rental car place nearby and we rented a van for day trips to Virginia and Maryland. We scheduled these trips on consecutive days in order to minimize the $ for hotel parking fees.

One of our party was wheel chair bound and the hotel and area around the hotel and metro were wheel chair friendly. If you need a wheel chair, you can rent one from a local place(do a google search) and they'll deliver it to the hotel and pick up as well.

The staff was ULTRA friendly. The lobby was clean and nice and there were 2 computers available for use. This came in handy when we needed to scout out last minute directions or attractions in the area.

This is a great hotel for traveling families. Great in price (for the amenities), location, service and well apportioned rooms.

  • Liked — So many included meals. Really close to metro and Capitol.
  • Disliked — I wish I'd known about restaurants that were close to the hotel.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family ( husband and 8 year old son). From the minute we arrived we were greeted with friendly service and a good attitude from the front desk.
We always stay at Marriott hotels and the primary reason we chose this location in DC was because of the pool and free full breakfast. We were not disappointed.
The staff always acknowledged us when passing the front desk or in the hallway (that's a big one with us - and something that is missing in our culture - so hat's off to the Residence Inn Capitol!).
Our son was very comfortable on the pull out sofa and the layout of the Queen suite was really neat - felt like a little apartment!
Very close to Metro (blue and orange lines), but you can walk very easily to the mall and other attractions.
We recommend the Residence Inn Capitol.
PS. If you are travelling to DC for the first time (like us) - you WILL NOT need a car - the Metro is very easy to figure out - stops are written as well as color coded - very clean and safe. We took the train in from Philly and didn't miss our car at all!

  • Liked — Location, attitude of staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed here with a group of older Girl Scouts visiting DC and attending the national sing along. This was a perfect place for us. They shuttled us to and from the airport. The metro was in walking distance as was a mall (very important with teenage girls). Having room to spread out as well as a full size kitchen was great. You could place an order, and they would grocery shop for you. Since we were without a car, I used this service and the shopper did an excellent job--including putting the groceries away while we were out touring.

The pool area was life-guarded by a semi- attentive person. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was truly good with lots of choices.

  • Liked — Location and service.
  • Disliked — The lifeguard.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#79 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#30 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#55 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Residence Inn Washington DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington DC Down...
#83 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.