We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife, Daughter and I just spent a week in Washington at this hotel and had a great time. We had a room on the 12th floor so it took some time to get hot water to the sinks but the shower always had hot water right away. The room was cleen and very functional, all of the staff were pleasent and ready to serve. The internet was spotty in our room but very strong in other parts of the hotel.

The location coulden't be better, 2 blocks south of the National Mall, a Metro station around the corner and a short walk to the Fish Market. There's not a lot of choices for dining but with the National Mall so close you won't have any trouble finding good food. Breakfast is included with your room and on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday there is a light dinner served as well, also at no cost.

The Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol is a great value and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    247
    59
    19
    7
See reviews for
337
92
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Decided at the last minute to stay overnight for July 4th - already had tickets for Nationals game during the day, so why not stay for free concert and fireworks on the mall, too?! Used Priceline Name-Your-Own Price and got a room here for $125/night plus tax, so approx. $145 total - a steal for holiday weekend in this area. Took Amtrak into Union Station and then took Metro from there to L'Enfant Plaza, which was about a 10 minute walk from hotel. If I'd done my homework, I would have just taken the Amtrak to L'Enfant station, which was super close! Nats game was at 11am, so dropped by hotel to see if we could store our bag and was pleasantly surprised when they said they had a room and would let us check in early!! Very nice front desk staff:) However...don't know if it was because I paid so little for the room or because they were full, but our room (a Studio Suite - very nice!) was right next to the RR tracks. My husband, who is a train nut, was delighted, but me not so much - woke up a few times in the night to the sound of trains going by, but didn't bother hubby a bit! Aside from the trains and the complete chaos of morning breakfast (it was free and pretty decent, so worth it, but should have gone early before the throngs of guests with small children!) it was a lovely stay. A 20 minute walk or so to Nats park, although much of it under highway overpass and sketchy neighborhoods near Capitol Street, so not sure I'd want to walk it at night, and a 10 minute walk to Capitol for wonderful concert and fireworks! I recommend, but suggest asking for room away from train tracks (unless you, too, are a train nut) and go down early for breakfast...

Room Tip: Studio Suites located near train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good safe location near the National Mall.
But as other reviewers have noted there are few restaurants nearby. The hotel is in need of updating but it is fairly clean. The concierge isn't that helpful and both them and the front desk seem fairly disinterested. The free breakfast is a plus but pretty crazy crowded. The free supper was pretty nice but we didn't partake. Any decent restaurant is a $10 cab ride away (which is fine). I recommend this hotel for families with young children but maybe not those with teens who might want to wander around during the day or night - i.e. like you could in Georgetown or DuPont Circle - but then again you aren't a close to all the wonderful national treasures.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We're Marriott Gold Elite members (50+ nights annually) and chose this hotel because of the location. The propery is located close to the Metro in a business district so almost no evening / weekend dining options without traveling. Check in was fine although as a Gold Elite member, I expected the perks that come with that level of membership, and nothing materialized. No upgraded room, no nothing. View was an office building just a few feet away. Breakfast was the highlight and the folks working in the dining room were outstanding. They worked hard to clear tables and keep things clean for the large crowds. The day of checkout we requested a delayed departure (a benefit of Gold elite status) and Dewana the desk clerk was bothered by the request. While she ultimately agreed, when we went to our room, all keys were deactivated. Another trip to the desk where she sternly informed me all keys are cancelled at 11 am on departure day. I suppose I should be aware of the hotels procedures. I mistaking lay thought I was on vacation. The room was in need of attention and we had no less than a half dozen visits from engineering during our 5 night stay. Five visits to make the safe operational and one for a broken rubber flap in the toilet. We didn't call regarding the dishwasher which leaked excessively onto the floor. After 5 days we moved to the Le Mereidien and could not be happier. The staff was welcoming, called shortly after our arrival to the room inquiring if everything was acceptable and offered any assistance we needed during our stay. Refreshing, very refreshing. Overall, I'd skip the Residence Inn next time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a great location in terms of walking access to national mall area, or using the metro or cabs. We parked the car permanently and walked everywhere, though we were tired by the end of the day. Great location for tourist type things but restaurants are in limited supply. Our room had the kitchenette so a 10 minute walk to safeway did the trip for supper meals, snacks etc. It was a pleasant surprise to know that there is a light supper available mon, tues and wed nights from 6-7 and there is plenty there. The free breakfast was a hit and had lots of hot and cold items to have. The service in the dining area was excellent and lots of places o be seated so you did not have to scramble for a table.
The rooms are very clean, good pillows and beds. The toiletries are small in size but of better than average quality. Our room did have curtains that were nice and dark so no issues there. The room could use some updating but everything was clean and tidy so no complaints there. We did seem to run out of hot water on our second morning for the shower. The pool is small and cold but the fitness center is nice and cold for your workout during the heated stuffy weather. Our room 1102 was on the end and very quiet. We did not hear our neighbours once even though the doors are very heavy to open and close. We would recommend this location to others and would stay here again if we returned to washington as they are most helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love Residence Inn's. First and most important was that it was very clean and there were no bed bugs. I love that we had two bedrooms and a high floor. The view from the window was the NASA office building. We only heard a distance horn of the train once - it wasn't a problem. The staff was all friendly and helpful. The breakfast (including waffle maker) was wonderful. I'm not sure why people complain that there are no restaurants - I was glad it was in a business district -it was quiet at night. Eat before you come back to the hotel or order a pizza (they have menus at the front desk - medium pizza is small go bigger). We brought snacks and drinks and liked having a kitchen area. The pool was a bit small & chilly but my son did not mind. We were able to walk to the museum of natural history & air & space without any problems. When we return to DC we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We lucked out finding a hotel room with 2 queen beds for a family, and this one served it's purpose. It is across the street from NASA HQ and within walking distance of the Museums, monuments and the Capitol. The cons of the hotel include the need for updating, need for curtains that block the sunlight, and being too far away from restaurants (the few near it close on weekends). It does have a kitchen but we never found a grocery store. The hotel does have parking, although the lot is small and fills quickly. We parked our car permanently for the trip and used cabs instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.