We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Touring DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Touring DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We visited this hotel over spring vacation, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is about a 5 min walk to the mall which made it vey convenient for touring the Capitol and museums.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. We were in a corner room on the 7th floor overlooking the train tracks, yet the room was nice and quiet. We hardly heard the train pass by. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast in the morning was crowded because of school break, but they made room by opening up the adjoining banquet room, and they worked hard to promptly clean and clear the tables. They served fruit, yogurt, eggs, sausages/ham, muffins and make your own waffles. It was more than adequate. We had dinner there one evening- pulled pork sandwiches with coleslaw and sweet corn- which was very good.
One word of advice if you are touring- wear good shoes. We must have walked 20 miles over the course of our three day visit. Even though I consider us a very active family, we were all exhausted upon returning to the hotel. When planning the trip, we debated taking a (free) walking tour but decided on a bike tour instead on day 3- the best decision of the trip! The tour was fun and informative, and most of all, we did not have to walk- definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    237
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
328
90
23
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was within walking distance of the Mall and could accommodate our big family. The hotel certainly filled its promise. The room and the bathroom were clean, and there even was a kitchenette. There also is a supermarket within walking distance. Sightseeing was made easy by the location. Staff were nice and helpful. No complains about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Washington DC Capitol in April 2013. Though not the most conveniently located for my particular business purposes (around Pennsylvania Avenue) this slight inconvenience was more than made up for (1) by the very helpful & professional front desk staff on all four days in DC; (2) the courtesy of the catering staff at breakfast; and (3) the pleasure of walking back to the hotel down the Mall in the beautiful DC evening sunshine under the cherry blossom! I will stay at the the Residence Inn Washington DC Capitol again.
Conor Maguire

Room Tip: Using previous travellers' tips, I requested and was allocated a room facing away from the rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

When planning a visit to Washington, D.C., our traveling companion researched several hotels and decided upon the Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol. Even though our companions could not make the trip due to a medical emergency, we packed our bags and arrived on the evening of April 19, 2013. After checking in and going up to our room we found that the toilet was making awful noises and so advised the front desk who sent someone up immediately to address (and fix) the problem. When we asked for extra blankets they arrived within five minutes.

A hotel that offers a breakfast buffet is always high on our list of choices and this hotel did not disappoint. Eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, apples, bananas (a bit green on some days), several choices of breads/bagels, muffins and Belgian waffles were all available as well as some very good coffee (and milk and juice, too). The staff who clean up the dining area were very courteous and conscientious, keeping the tables clean and removing dirty plates so we could return for whatever second helpings we wanted.

The hotel also offers a "social hour" on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evenings.

The staff was incredibly helpful, but we really have to give five (or ten, if possible) stars to the concierge, Sean Kullavanijaya. Every hotel should have a Sean. Never having visited Washington, D.C. before we asked Sean for some recommendations of things to do. Not only did he offer great suggestions, he suggested that we do things in a certain order so as to maximize our Washington experience. He can even print upside down on a map when giving directions! We left Washington with some regret, but we really felt that we made a good friend (that's how Sean treats you ... like he's known you for years and can't do enough for you).

The hotel is located 2.5 blocks from a Metro station; the Metro is easy to navigate and a great value. We never saw the inside of a taxi during our entire trip. We did ask Sean to arrange a car service for our trip to the airport at the end of our stay and think that we made a very wise decision (especially after walking, walking, walking for days on end -- but then we LIKE to walk). A pool and hot-tub on the second floor, next to the fitness center, provided much appreciated relief for muscles strained from all of our walking.

The only down-side to this hotel is that it's located in a area that has no real restaurants (unless you want to count coffee and sandwich shops ... and they close up early and are not open on weekends). Good food is available six-to-eight blocks (and more) away from the hotel, however (and there is a Safeway within walking distance for those who want to cook in their room).

When we do return to Washington, D.C. we will definitely book another stay at the Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol. It really is like a home-away-from-home experience (and is the quietest hotel in which we've ever stayed).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on our way to NYC. We paid for a king suite but the bed is more of queen sized. The room was impeccably clean and with lots of room for 2 people. The room has a small kitchenette, but never had the chance to use it. The bed was firm but the pillows were small and uncomfortable. The check-in was quick. Love the breakfast buffet - simple but all the essentials were there, including a waffle maker which delighted the kids. Staff were courteous and nice. Overall an okay stay for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wanted to stay within walking distance to the Smithsonian museums & also the Capital bldg. Perfect location for walking to those. Not a ton of restaurants close to the hotel, but there is a Potbelly's which has great sandwiches & milkshakes.

Parking was a bit pricey, but for DC, it's worth paying and then just walking where you need to go. And if you're hoping for a great view of the city, good luck. My windows opened to the neighboring office building so my curtains stayed shut!

Room was nice with a comfortable bed. Kitchen made up for the lack of close restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You can walk to lots of DC attractions if you don't mind a bit of exercise. The 2-bedroom suite we had was clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast, which is included in the rate, was very busy - lots of families - when we were there but was well-organized and the staff were terrific. The concierge was very helpful and knew the city well and the front-desk staff were great. All in all, this was a perfect place to stay for a DC vacation with friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.