We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly staff in this DC hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly staff in this DC hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You can walk to lots of DC attractions if you don't mind a bit of exercise. The 2-bedroom suite we had was clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast, which is included in the rate, was very busy - lots of families - when we were there but was well-organized and the staff were terrific. The concierge was very helpful and knew the city well and the front-desk staff were great. All in all, this was a perfect place to stay for a DC vacation with friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    250
    60
    19
    7
See reviews for
345
94
26
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a fantastic property for extended stays with a really nice kitchen including a dishwasher. Spacious. Free Wi-Fi. A fantastic value.

I had no problem getting around the city and the area was clearly a very safe, if business-oriented neighborhood.

Danielle at the front desk was great. She helped me get a complimentary upgrade to a 1 bedroom and was able to accommodate my request for an early check-in. It really made a huge difference to a very weary traveler. She was gracious, polite and efficient!

I did not use many of the amenities including the concierge, but I definitely appreciated how he would greet me and say goodbye when I left. He was very friendly and made me feel welcome.

I'd definitely, definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I hosted a surprise birthday party for my best friend here in a two bedroom suite! It was perfect! Very clean and the walls held the noise of 20 drunk adults. I kept checking from the outside to ensure the volume was ok and you couldn't hear a sound! It was well worth the price tag of close to $350! I would definitely stay again. Great staff

Room Tip: Corner suite was secluded and perfect for the amount of people we invited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had purchased a Groupon Deal for this hotel for a one night stay. It was my boyfriends birthday and we decided to visit to see some of the historical sites. We got to the hotel really early and none of the rooms that were included in the deal were available yet so the women at the concierge upgraded us to a suite which was very nice! Included in the deal was a bottle of wine given to us upon check in and a free in room movie. They had movies right on their TVs like Netflix you just choose one and watch it which was awesome after a long day of walking.

There aren't a lot of places to eat immediately near the hotel, there was one pizza place across the street but we just ended up eating inside the museums so it wasn't a big deal. The hotel does give you free breakfast in their cafe area in the morning which was quite delicious. They have a make your own waffle station which I ate way too much of along with fresh fruit, eggs, pastries.

The hotel staff were nice, the location was perfect being within walking distance of the museums and train stations, and it was overall a good first trip to the DC area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 is staying here now, arrived 2 days ago. Convenient location to mall and smithsonians, free breakfast in the morning is extensive and different choices daily. We had the free "evening reception" tonight which became dinner for us after a long day of sight seeing. They had a big baked potato bar, chili, salad, popcorn, cookies. The pool is smallish but the kids have been enjoying it and the hot tub. Concierge is helpful with good ideas. I told them the afternoon we arrived I was considering a night monuments tour and they got us tickets and we were picked up from the hotel, and it was a great tour. The hotel is nothing fancy but it is clean and comfortable with room options for 5 people which many other downtown hotels, even some which are much more expensive, do not. We are staying in the front in the 5th floor so have had no issues with train noise as others reported.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Beware of the train in back, isolated from tourist locations

We took our 7 and 5 year old kids for the first time to live the memorials that they studied in school. Unfortunately, this hotel and location was not appropriate for our tourist needs. There were only one casual pizza joint available next store. The hotel is in a business area where everything closes after 5PM including the weekends. The concierge informed us about a waterfront restaurant CANTINA MARINA that was a 10 minute walk, but when you walk with little children, you can increase to a 25 minute walk. The CANTINA is not kid friendly at all.

There are three conveniences to this hotel: great buffet breakfast, indoor pool and close to Metro. The family friendly hot and cold breakfast buffet with a waffle station and several toppings, eggs, fruit salad and breads with cereals was a hit. The waiting staff was amazing and you never felt you had to wait for a table. The service was superior. Tip is to get to breakfast on weekends before 8AM or wait until after 9:00AM. The indoor pool is heated with a nice jacuzzi for rainy days or fun at night. The Metro stop was a few blocks away.

Please make a very important note to front desk when checking in to make sure your hotel room is close to the street and away from back. Why??? There is a very LOUD train that is right behind the hotel. We heard the train a few times throughout the night even when I requested a room away from the back as another trip advisor member suggested, thank you!

If you have young children and would like a few suggestions for 4 days we did the following; Day 1- Cherry blossoms, Washington monument view (closed now for renovations) reflection pool by Lincoln Memorial. Some of the museums close at 5:30 from Monday to Thursday in the Spring, but open until 7:30 during weekends and Summer time.

Day 2- Ford's theatre- fantastic, but get tickets in the morning. There are no tours if shows in the afternoon are going on. $5 tickets for museum, live performance of reenactment of Lincoln's shooting and a tour across the street where Lincoln was taken to the house where he died. Bureau and Engraving tour was great for the kids and they received a shredded bag of $25 where my daughter said " I am going to glue back all the pieces!" Luckily, someone placed a Chinese menu under our door. We had to eat Chinese takeout food with no restaurant close by our hotel. We had a great time swimming and our son loved the jacuzzi. The hotel provided nice swimming towels.

Day 3- free guided tour of Air & Space museum, played with the kids on the mall while walking to Botanical gardens. I would recommend the children's garden area and the West side to try different scents of plants. Since our hotel did not have a restaurant on site, we had to go a few blocks away to the Holiday Inn Capitol. A wonderful American style buffet at CAPITOL21 for $21.95 and kids eat free from a kid friendly menu.

Day 4- parking on site was helpful, but was $35 per day. We left and drove by the White House and then went to our final destination- Washington Zoo. We would recommend parking by lots D and E to easily stay by the kid section. it may be hard at first walking up hills but it will be easier to leave with the kids walking down the hills. We loved the Panda and there was a great children's playground section with a very cool pizza to play on with fun toppings and a nearby restaurant.

We would probably look into the Hampton Inn Capitol or Embassy Suites for future visits as long as breakfast and large rooms are provided. As the kids get a little older we would do a bike tour with so much walking. Our son was tired easily and asked to go on daddy's shoulders often!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

James Graham (front desk supervisor) is a One of a kind employee that made our visit to DC awesome right from the start. I have never seen Random acts of kindness or customer service like he had displayed unless you've complained about something.

1. Soon as we had arrived he had advised us that parking was free on weekends or we could park in garage for $30. He gave Holocaust tickets to avoid lines, gave us DC map, and advised us to book international spy tickets from business center printer.

2. He had a ton of pins on so we started to talk about how my son has a pin collection as well. He asked my son which was his favorite and gave it to him. That made my 9yr old son so excited. For my 13yr. old daughter he threw in a free movie pass. She was also very pleased.

3. After finding out that it was our first time staying there he threw in additional surprise: instead of giving us keys to the queen and pull out bed that we had booked, he gave us the executive suite with the best view of the capital from it's private balcony, a living room with pull out bed, kitchen, two bath rooms, and king size private room. This made the whole family excited.

I've been in management for years and have never seen service go this beyond. We will definitely be retuning there on our next visit thanks to James and we will be joining the Marriott reward members family!

Cost with tax: 250
Amenities we liked: walking distance to dc museums and free breakfast.
Most enjoyed: Customer Service
Cleanliness and comfort: A+
Would recommend: most definitely

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.