We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol to your Saves list
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Cooper City, Florida
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good choice for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is conveniently located just a few blocks south of the mall, within walking distance for many of the tourist sites. It's also a block from the Metro station if you need to get around town. As with any Residence, the rooms are functional and spacious. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite which allowed the family to spread out. Breakfast is free, however you will fight the crowds on weekends. Service and staff were good. This hotel is in an office area so don't expect nightlife nearby. Disclosure: there is a train track running next to the hotel so you will here an occassional train overnight. It's not too loud considering how close it is, and dispite this minor annoyance I would pick this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street to get as far away from the trains as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    244
    56
    19
    6
See reviews for
333
93
24
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I did not follow the advice about booking a room near the front of the hotel to avoid the train tracks in back. When we arrived found our room was in the back of the building and unable to change due to a fully booked hotel. Partially solved the problem by turning the fan on the furnace on to run all night to provide white noise. Staff was very friendly. Room was very clean. Pool and gym nice. Best part of all is that it is close to Air and Space museum which was our destination for the following day. Found free parking on the street since we arrived on Saturday evening. Just left the car parked all of Sunday since it was free and we walked to all the museums. Just bring a good pair of walking shoes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastampton, NJ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Residence Inn and was charged incorrectly. The picture I had from the internet showed a double bed suite, but she put me in a single queen bed suite. The rate and payment was made over the internet, but I had the confirmation. Ask the front desk person three times upon check out about my bill and she stated the $50 was going to be refunded. The $50 was not refunded, but no one contacted me. I called them in Feb looking for the refund and they told me that I was undercharged. I ask to speak with the manager and he/she never came to the phone. Left me on hold and I hung up after 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Located in the Capitol district of D.C., NASA Headquarters is located directly across the street. It's a nice, clean hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean. We stayed in a queen suite that really wasn't worth the extra money, but it did provide a living room and kitchen (which we didn't use). The kitchen appeared to be well stocked though, and would be great for someone staying a while. Parking was incredibly tight, and we actually saw a young lady drive into the wall. Spaces were small and really not designed for standard sized vehicles. A buffet style breakfast is provided with everything you can imagine, including Belgian waffles. Overall, it was a great experience, free WiFi, comfortable bed, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just spent five days there and i have no complaints. My suite was great and the staff was great! The room had a full sized kitchen with cookware and pots. If you walk one block up and three over there's a CVS and a huge Safeway, so I bought groceries for my entire stay. The breakfast buffet is great. It's in the business district, so if you get breakfast early, you can avoid kids at the waffle maker and sit down and eat while you read the complimentary newspaper. Being that it is in the business district, it's pretty quiet. There is a starbucks and potbelly when you get off the metro and a pizza place. As a woman traveling alone the streets are pretty empty after 7, so just be aware. Free coffee and tea by the front desk. Free wifi! They also gave me a complimentary hour for late check out.

Room Tip: I was doing research at the library of congress, so I asked for a quiet room. It was in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent 1 night at the Residence Inn as Part I of a weekend 'Hotel Hopping' getaway with my preteen son. Upon entering the hotel, the decor is nothing exceptional but checking in was pleasant and smooth. The elevators are not visible from the front desk...kinda around the corner while passing through part of the breakfast area. You need to swipe your room key in order for the elevator to move so its a great safety measure. The sensor did not always work in both elevators, so it involved skipping from one elevator to the next. No big deal. I believe I saw an ATM in the lobby and there were also coupons for things to do in DC. Free newspapers were available too. Room was very clean and comfortably laid out. The kitchenette consisted of a full sized refrigerator, 4 burner stove top, microwave and real cutlery, mugs, crockery and glassware. You really had all you needed (dishwashing liquid, dish brush, cloths etc). In our rate we got a bottle of wine (which was already on the small table) in an attractive looking gift bag. The furniture consisted of a sofa, chair, desk, as well as a small dining table with 2 chairs. There is also a coffeemaker and ample condiments for tea, coffee and a packet of microwavable popcorn. Throughout the day until about 8 pm, coffee is available across from the front desk. When we arrived around 5:30 pm; none was available but the front desk personnel hastened to brew a fresh batch when he realised it was all gone. Did promise to call and inform me when it was ready....must have gotten busy and did not call. No worries.
The bed was comfortable with enough extra pillows and bedding; complete with extra blanket for the pull out sofa. There is a wide selection of movies including those still showing in the movie theaters. The prices range from $3.99 up to $25.00. A free movie (any price) was included in our rate and we called down to the front desk to inquire how to retrieve it Apparently the code was supposed to be left together with the bottle of wine; but was left out mistakenly Immediately the front desk resolved the matter following the inquiry. Free WiFi was a bit sensitive and I had to call the technical support personnel who was able to fix the problem and we were able to use our Apple products. The connection however kept going in and out; requiring us to sign/log in many times. Yes, you can adjust the temperature independently so that was helpful. There were quite a few families with young children at breakfast the next morning. Yet it was a pleasant experience from being greeted by staff to the efficiency in clearing to the tables. About four persons were visible throughout the meal, bussing tables etc. As in previous reviews, the breakfast was adequate. On some nights (Mons thru Weds) a light dinner is served complimentary. There is also a small market next to the front desk for bits and bobs. Did not check the prices.......the parking is $30 per day which I preferred not to pay. However, for DC thats the going rate! There is a parking garage next door to the hotel. Its easier to take the train......orange line to Federal Triangel SW, and make the short walk. Of course it depends on the number of persons in your party; since the train too does get up expensive depending on the time of the day. Upon exiting the subway bear right and at the end of the street, bear right again. It can be a wee bit confusing if you are not familiar with DC; especially if its dark.

Room Tip: not sure whether there is much of a view; much construction and office buildings in the area. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Best time to visit Washington for a few days - Friday, Saturday, Sunday - we found that the drop in prices from weekday rates is phenomenal. Residence Inn Washington is a short taxi ride from Union Station and very handy to the Metro - Federal Center SW is nearest. The Metro gets you anywhere you need to go - which is just about everywhere because there aren't many restaurants or shopping centres near this Residence Inn - some quick bites at Sandwich Bars and Pizza places but nothing of restaurant quality (at least we couldn't find anything easily). The hotel rooms are comfortable, although not particularly large (but still good value for Washington). The breakfast room is a bit of a hurly-burly buffet when there are lots of families and children scurrying for food - but the staff do their best to keep everything orderly.

Room Tip: Definitely consider the room size and ask about it. If you've been staying in large rooms elsew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.