We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights
Ranked #43 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Inman, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in August 2014. Would highly recommend. great location, good room, good bed, and quiet. It is located fairly close to public transportation and can get a taxi to the museums for less than $10.
only negative is the breakfast area needs to be larger with more help.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to DC. We were delighted in your choice of our Hotel for your lodging needs. Your feedback is highly valuable to us as we continue to improve our service delivery.

Hotel provides a great hot breakfast spread and it is highly desired by all our guests- we will continue to review options for a comfortable breakfast experience for all our guests.

Thank you for sharing your story!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    405
    94
    28
    15
See reviews for
397
204
57
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean. The hallways are clean & modern looking. Our room was immaculate. Bathroom was sparkling. The free breakfast was fine. Different choices are a plus - scrambled eggs,fruit, oatmeal,cereal, waffles, juices.I recommend a room in the back due to construction next door. I had to wait a little longer for it, but well worth it. We bought Big Bus tics right at the concierge desk. The bus stop for Big Bus is down the street from hotel about 2 blocks. I liked the big bus experience. All of the staff were courteous & professional.I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on service experience. We re delighted that you experienced "hamptonality" at it's best during your visit.

We look forward to your return in the future. Meanwhile, let us know if we may do anything for you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is near Mt Vernon/Dupont Circle neighborhoods, easy 15min walk to National Mall passing by Chinatown, local theatres (not cinema). Safe neighborhood, nearby restaurants, Safeway grocery store.

The included breakfast is great: eggs, meat, waffles, oatmeal, cereals, juices, coffee/tea, toast, pastries, fresh fruit. Staff plentiful and extremely helpful. Always coffee/tea, chilled water w/ lemon available in lobby.

Plenty of data ports in room, plus have a room w/ PCs and printers.

As others have posted, the 2 elevators wait can be long. It's used for guests and staff who enter/exit from rear of elevator.

There is construction going on directly across the street. Unless intend to sleep in (after 8am) it shouldn't be a problem. The bldg has frame up, so completion would appear to be a long way off.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying 2 floors above pool/gym on 2nd floor due to hustle and bustle. Expect some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to write about your experience at our Hotel. Our entire team would like to thank you for chosing to stay with us.

We hope that you'll return to our our warm hospitality, the next time you visit DC.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My family and I visited the Hampton Inn from 8/21-8/24. We are comprised of two children (6 & 8 yrs old) and two adults. We had booked our room indirectly over the internet and were originally given a one king size bed room. We explained that we had two children and needed a double room or something to accommodate for them. The staff was very understanding/accommodating and helped us by getting us a room that fit our needs.

We got a room in the 11th floor facing the the side of the building. We never heard any construction sounds (which is literally across the street from the hotel). Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. That was a plus. There was a TV and alarm clock.

The hotel has some cool amenities such as indoor pool, jacuzzi, fitness room and a laundry room (yes, with two washers and dryers - each for $1.50 a load). The hotel also has a bar with happy hour from 5-7pm everyday. In case that you want to relax and meet some people at the end of your busy day :) There is a vending and ice machine in every floor. Soda/water is $2.00 each.

Breakfast is included with your reservation and it runs from 6a-10am. The ladies managing the breakfast stations are constantly moving and replenishing the food. There were eggs (omelettes/scrambled) oatmeals, sausage or bacon, fruits, cereal, breads, coffee (all day), hot cocoa, juice and milk. Ah! and make it yourself waffles too. Sometimes, they had french toasts. For people who are not able to stay to enjoy a full breakfast, the front desk has breakfast on the go bags from 5a-10am.

Location - Just a couple of blocks from the chinatown/downtown area and the convention center. There is a safeway supermarket about two blocks away too. The train/metro is also conveniently close by (Gallery place/chinatown - red line). You are basically two stops away from the nationall mall. There are many many restaurants close by, so dinner exploration is fun!

We had a great time in DC, met great people in the hotel and felt comfortable. We would definitely return if we go back to DC in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that our Team was able to provide you and family with a memorable stay experience while visit DC.

As you have mentioned, our hotel has a number of "cool' amenities for guest enjoyment and our Team is well trained to have you experience our City without any hastle.

We hope to see you next time you visit Washington DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hefei, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed there to conclude my summer trip to the US before I flew back to China the next morning out of Dullas.

Since I took Amtrak from Penn Station to Union station, we had to take the metro for a couple of stops and walked to the property. It was a 10 min walk in good/safe neighborhoods late at night and the property was easy to find at 7th and K st, which is precisely the reason why I booked this hotel vs. an airport one this time.

Check-in was very pleasant and front desk gave me a welcome gift including a beverage and a trail mix packed in a cute bag. We were a given a corner room with three huge windows and one of them had a view of the monument at national mall! Room was spacious but cozy feeling. No room service was provided at Hampton Inns but the restaurant offered to call me when it was ready to pick up. We ordered roasted chicken and a salad which were both delicious, although there was no way we could finish the half chicken. The thoughtful part of the hotel was reflected by many small details in the room: the hand-written greeting card from the maid, ear plugs on the night stand with witty writings attached, and best of all, a dining tray on bed. We enjoyed the amenities very much thanks to the thoughtful staff! Breakfast was typical of an affordable hotel like Hampton Inn but it was good. I had some fresh fruit and an egg.

I thought it would take me a long time to get to IAD so l checked out very early (in one second). It turned out that it only took me an hour or so to get there by first taking the metro to L'Enfant plaza by green transferred to silver, the total cost of which was only $11. And there I was at Dullas three hours early than necessary.

Room Tip: corner room has three huge windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

My teenage son were in DC for only a weekend and found a great deal at the Hampton Inn Downtown. Yes, as some have complained, it's in an area that's undergoing a lot of renovation, but they must've taken a break while we were there. Just a couple of blocks from Chinatown, the Washington Convention Center, many wonderful restaurants and only about a mile walk to the Mall, the location - especially for the price - can't be beat! From the time we arrived, the entire hotel staff was exceptionally polite and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful. The room was nice and being on the 10th floor, we could see the Washington Monument from there - quite a sight! Can't say anything bad about this hotel. Sure, the $40 + tax daily valet parking stinks, but seems to be the norm among downtown DC hotels. Factor that in and I don't think $312 for two nights in DC is bad at all. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Amex Traveler:

Thank you for being the Guest at our Hotel. Our location is fantastic and international staff highly engaging as you experienced. Thank you for sharing your experiences on this site.

Let us know how we may assist you with future travel into DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Average hotel with great location in the heart of Washington DC. Construction nearby might bother a few people but if you are out and about all day you wont notice this.
Metro lines are close (Chinatown) and there are good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear EconTraveler:

We are glad you had an opportunity to experience our Hotel and staff. We thank you for your feedback.

We will continue to strive toward service excellence!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.