We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #50 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
hanover,md, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was not expecting the high level of quality that was presented at this Hotel. The room was nice and spacious with updated furnishings. A wet Bar went along with the fridge and microwave. The only down side was the lack of room service. But even that wasn't bad .. Just had to go down to the lobby to pick up your food. Breakfast was very good. eggs, potatoes, sausage, waffles, cereal juice.. very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with feedback regarding service. We look foward to taking good care of you during your future stays with us.

Your loyalty is much appreciated.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    372
    90
    27
    14
See reviews for
369
191
53
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was impressed with the hotel and the location. The hotel is about a 10 min walk to museum and a 5 min walk to the Verizon. The room was very clean the but the A/C was very loud when you turned it on. The HOT breakfast was great as well. It will save a couple of bucks in your pocket if you are with your family or even away on business. I was very disappointed with the pool and the Jacuzzi. The jets were not powerful enough to relax your body and the water was cold (NOT WHAT I WAS EXPECTING). The hotel is located in China but there is a Wal-Mart about 15 min away. There is also a Walgreen that is about 5 min away as well. Oh! make sure that there is valet parking on your packing deal, I you are on one of those hotel/plane booking site. It will come in handy because parking alone is $34. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write about your Hotel stay experience. our hotel is as you mentioned is located close to all attractions and amenities one would want in a Downtown location. As you experienced, our staff is wonderful and is well trained to provide outstanding hospitality.

Although, hotel is 3 blocks away from China town Metro center many of our guests chose to pay $39.00 plus tax ($46.05) nightly to have an unlimited valet parking inour Garage. Parking space availability is limited and you might want to explore other surface parking options before travelling to our Hotel.

Thank you so much for your loyalty-

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Typical Hampton Inn with a very expensive valet service. I must say that the breakfast is great with fresh fruit, the best I have had in the Hampton Inns. The staff of the breakfast area is very friendly and are personal, I lake that. The elevator is slow and sometime you have to wait long.

The Wifi is free but slow, you have to reconnect several times a day. It takes a long time (5 minted) for the shower to be warm. Start you breakfast as early as you can, it can be very crowded in the breakfast area. The TV signal is sometimes very week and you are unable to follow any program on TV.

Room Tip: All the room are the same except for the view. Because they are building in front of the hotel, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding service experience. Our Hotel remain very popular with tourists as well as convention attendees. As you have noted, our team works deligently to ensure experience of each guest to be first class. Yes, facility can be at times filled with people enjoying themselves during peak breakfast hours or during arrival periods. Valet parking is exceptionally rated by our guests who typically travel to Major metro centers; pricing at our location is a value compared to local self parking garages.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton brands and Hilton family of Hotels.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Worst experience so far. Our flight was delayed due to weather conditions, so we checked in late in this hotel. We have already booked the hotel online for 4 nights. So when we arrived early morning, the receptionist which we later found out to be the GM, told us they dont have any rooms available. My husband and I were so annoyed. We got stuck in the airport overnight then we arrived in this hotel practically just telling us they already gave out our room. So beware if you booked in this hotel, then flights got delayed you may end up having no hotel room at all. The GM instead of helping us out, insisting on they will charge us because it is a "no show". I cant believe that. We are there, with no room, being charged a fee, not getting a room...really worst hotel ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are sorry that you were unable to get room at the Hotel after delays at the Airport due to Hotel being sold out. I will look into your matter with our Assistant GM and to ensure she did everything possible to accommodate you after a stressful airline experience.

Let me know how may assist you.

sincerey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family of 4 stayed at the Hampton in July 2014 for 6 nights. We arrived at Dulles airport and took the 5A Metro Bus to L'Enfant Plaza Station ($7). From there we bought a SmarTrip pass and took the Metro train to Gallery Place Station. After exiting the station we walked approximately 3 blocks to get to the Hampton. To our surprise we were able to check in even though it was 9:30 AM. Check-in was very smooth and we received a room with 2 queen beds on the 8th floor. The room was clean, well laid out, and in very good condition. Beds were firm and each bed had 4 pillows. The room had a mini-refrigerator, a safe, a functioning clock radio, and I believe a 32" TV. Closet size was adequate and there was a dresser and medium sized desk. The bathroom was large and the vanity had plenty of counter space. The shower and toilet operated without any issues. The AC was a bit noisy but functioned flawlessly. Wifi was easy to connect to and the speed was excellent. The complementary breakfast buffet consisted of 3 rotating primary breakfast items each day and standard juices, fruits, waffles, bagels, danish, yogurt, and cereals. All were good and an excellent way to start off the day. Freshly baked cookies are also available Monday-Thursday evenings at the lobby main desk. Housekeeping and hotel staff were pleasant and friendly. The proximity of the hotel to the Metro Station made it very easy to get around DC. The hotel is within walking distance to attractions like the Spy Museum, Ford's Theater and the White House and there are also many restaurants in the vicinity, including the ones in Chinatown if you want to go somewhere close after a tiring day of sightseeing.
Overall, I would say the Hampton is a very nice hotel. The only negative, if there is one, is the surrounding neighborhood. The park across the street from the hotel and the streets adjacent to the metro station can be a bit intimidating at times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you for staying with us and providing us detailed service experience. I am sure your detail of travel would help first customers to washington DC. Hotel location is one of our strong suites with Convention attendees, Verizon Center sports/concert attendees and generally guests who would like to see the city on foot.

Our team would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel over many choices in the City. As always, while travelling to a major Metro we encourage guests to map out walking tour of the city in advance to get the best view of our great city.

Thank you for staying with us!

Sicerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here twice in a period of 9 days, with spouse and two kids. We found the rooms clean and quite comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast in the morning delicious and substantial. Staff let us leave luggage early when we arrived before check-in. They helped us find the address of an Ethiopian restaurant (and its phone numbers), gave us a touristy map, and were consistently cheerful. The kitchen folks kept the breakfast area full of surprisingly tasty (well-seasoned, not wet and runny, good!) scrambled eggs, as well as home fries and sausage links and patties. The fresh fruit selection was fine, not bruised or anything. The make-it-yourself waffle station was a hit with my schoolboy son, and my toddler enjoyed the chance to sample a little bit of everything--but especially the yogurt. Staff did their jobs efficiently and (apparently) cheerfully, which made for a really nice break on our driving trip. I'd stay again.

The Mall and the Smithsonians are perfectly walkable from this spot. We even walked down to the Lincoln Memorial, with 5-yr-old walking and toddler in the stroller. It was really a great chance to introduce the family to some of DC.
(Oh, and we parked 2 blocks away in an open (attended) lot for $8 per day, rather than using the $40 valet parking at the hotel.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that your experience with our hotel during your stay was perfect and in line with your expectations. Our entire team would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Please continue to remain loyal to Hilton family of brands and to our Hampton in particular for all your travel needs.

We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location and price of the hotel were the clinchers for me on this trip. Don't expect anything too wonderful, it is an average hotel with average amenities. The menu at the hotel restaurant was awful and lacking, go out or order in through a service. That said, everything else was very average and acceptable. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest:

Your comments are much appreciated. Our entire team takes much delight in providing memorably service "hamptonality" to all our guests- we are dissappointed that the Hotel didn't deliver exceptional service that we are known for. We will continue to strive!

We hope to see you return to our Hotel and experience wonderful service that you'll write about-

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.