We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #44 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If available we always choose to stay in a Hampton Inn. We picked this one for it's location only a mile or so from the Washington Mall, Smithsonian Museums, Union Station and other attractions. The staff was very helpful and gave us some great tips on dining options (You must eat the the Busboys and Poets located nearby) and more. Rooms are quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest:


Thank you for writing!

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Brand of Hotels and choosing to stay with us. we are delighted that our Team of professionals had positive impact on your visitor experience to our Nations Capitol.

Your choice of "Bus Boys and Poets" was excellent!. Our Hotel offers light menu and coctails at our unique outlet " 6th street Bar + Food".

We hope to see you next time you visit DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    439
    103
    29
    16
See reviews for
418
215
59
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Hampton Inn is very close the organisation I was visiting for business so convenience was the main reason for choosing it, as well as the hope that one day my Hilton Honours membership will actually be useful in getting me a room or upgrade. I am very sensitive to noise - street noise, next door room TV noise , ice machine , elevators etc. so asked to check out the rooms facing the back and not on the busy main street - Chris on the reception was amazing in accommodating my needs, looking for the best room and making sure it was reserved for me for the next night ( I was in a different hotel first ). I was given a room rate of more than $100 lower than the internet rate straight away - which included the internet access and breakfast. Excellent value overall - Breakfast does have a range of hot, cereals, breads etc. but is very "packaged" as there is no real kitchen here . I do so hate the paper plates, cups and " silverware" - but I have stayed in more expensive hotels that do the same. The complementary internet worked fine, despite some other reviewers comments , but I understood that it had recently been fixed. Rooms are large enough, comfortable beds, good bathroom - basic toiletries ( I do like the make-up remover sachet they have, so useful). The AC was not too noisy but not quite - however when I asked the technician how best to set it so that there is the least noise of it cutting in and out at night, he offered to replica it with a new AC and in less that an hour had done so - amazing service ! Overall, this was very good value - no frill so do not expect turn -down service with a chocolate on the bed , but the staff accommodate every need and make you feel special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much choosing to stay at our Hotel and providing valuable feedback regarding your service experience. As you have indicated our Team of professionals are dedicated to providing you with great service. As a traveller from Europe, we appreciate your perspective on service experience and we will incorporate that into future business planning.

We hope that your future travel plans to DC will include our Hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to Hamptons and Hilton Brand of Hotels.

Sincreley,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family stayed here four nights and really enjoyed the central location, especially to the Mall and Spy Museum. Unfortunately our first room had a cooling system leak which went unnoticed by the staff and caused a musty room odor. Staff quickly moved us to another room, adjacent to a suite, which was party central that evening. This became apparent when one of the suite's guests attempted to aggressively access my family's room that evening. The manager on-duty indicated there was no security staff to address the issue. After sharing our experience with senior hotel leadership, they indicated they do have security personnel on duty every night and will address these issues with their staff. Overall a good hotel in a great location with improving staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write about your service experience at our Hotel. Your feedback will help us in continuing to improve our service delivery. Please accept our sincere regrets in having issues related to Air Conditioning; we have already evaluated and fixed this particular issue.

Our entire team would like to thank you for picking our Hotel over many others in the city for your stay. We hope to have you visit us again in the future.

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hampton and Hilton Branded Hotels.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here during fourth of July.

Good: Consistently high Hampton amenities, quality and cleanliness. Great location - 15 minute walk to National Mall, 7 minutes to the building museum. Decor of lobby and room excellent. Awesome breakfast! Fast housekeeping response. Very efficient front desk.

Bad: Had the smallest swimming pool I've ever seen at 15 ft by 15ft. but still had a swimming pool Swimming pool ran out of towels. Air conditioner fan was noisy and clunky. Both shower water pressure and satellite TV stalled constantly. TV picture stalled constantly for 20 seconds at a time. Few tables and chairs for breakfast. Had a room facing away from road and we still heard lots of police sirens and honking horns.

Room Tip: Choose room on side away from road. Heard lots of emergency responders and blaring horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing an on-line review of your stay experience. Our team of dedicated employees are well trained in providing personalized service. we are dissappointed that the Hotel pool was not up to our normal standards due to number of people using it as well as thunderstorms that affected TV signal for the Hotel.

We will work to improve on our services for future guests. Please return to our Hotel and experience a perfect stay next time you visit DC.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The location is good- can walk to all museums and neighborhoods. Room was decent; A/C was very loud; The room did look a bit tired; Very crowded at breakfast. Overall, it served the purpose of a combined business and personal trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We are dissappointed that your stay with us didn't exceed your expectations. We hope that you'll return and expereince a perfect stay that we are accustomed to providing our Guests.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Brand and to our Hotel.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel was close to perfect! The only real issue we came across was with valet parking. When we arrived, there was no valet outside. So I went inside and there was no one at the valet stand. There was a man at what seemed like the concierge desk that helped us register for valet. At the end of our stay, we called about 10 minutes in advance to get the car so we could depart. When we got to the lobby (after a 10-minute wait for the elevator), the car took another five minutes at least. For paying $39 per night to park the car, I would have expected it to be a little more prompt. It wasn't even a busy time when we departed.
Besides that, the stay was great. We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your sincere feedback on service experience at our hotel. You business is much valuable to us and we hope to provide you with a "perfect" experince the next time you visit us.

We are dissappointed in Valet parking interaction and will work with our team to be on point for future guests.

Let us know how we may assist you with future reservations at our Hotel.

sincrely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A great central location, 15 minutes from Regan airport. The hotel was extremely clean, our room was clean and the staff was friendly. A very comfortable bed and pillows. We ran out of toothpaste and the front desk supplied us with some. One of the interesting things was the water pressure during a shower. The water stream would almost stop from the shower heat. No change in temperature, just pressure. After a few moments, all would be back to normal but during each shower you would experience this at least 3 times. Breakfast was great with lots of items to choose from. Breakfast was a little crowded, but nice nonetheless.

Room Tip: Rooms along 6th Street have construction across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on your experience. We are going to monitor the issue of water pressure you mentioned- we hope to solve it for our guests quickly.

We apprecite your loyalty to our Hotel and to Hilton Brand.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC / Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#70 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Convention Center
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#29 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#54 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.