We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #48 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Good place to stay for a weekend.Room was clean and smell clean. Javier at the front desk was very nice and helpful,asked for a rollerbed and had it in less then 10 minutes.
Breakfast was good but can get crowded after 9am.
Walking distance to national mall...
Good asian food just two blocks away in china town.
Kids had a great time at the pool while we worked out.
Gave 4 stars and not 5 because just one elevator was workin.
Valet was very expensive $50 plus per night,stood 3 nights. Valet guy was not helpful.
Would stay again but park somewhere else.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding your experiences. We are delighted that you and children had a great time in DC. I regret that you encountered poor service from Valet Attendant. We certainly will address this with entire team.

We hope that you'll return to this hotel during your next cub scout visit in this area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    342
    81
    26
    13
See reviews for
332
170
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I were in DC with our family. We had a great time. My husband and I stayed at the Hampton @ Gallery Place / ChinaTown. The staff was friendly and helpful. Clean room etc. Really felt welcomed. Front desk manager has a good sense of humor. We would highly recommend the Hampton DC. My husband and I had a family reunion with our sister and nephews from Cal. We will always cherish our trip to DC. DC is beautiful, especially the Cherry Blossoms. Missed the Cherry Blossom Fest.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 10th floor. Very Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that you enjoyed a great stay with us during your recent visit to DC along with wonderful weather- Sorry you missed the Cherry Blossom festival, it was absolutely terrific!

Our entire team would like to have you and husband back when you return. We will pass along your Kudos to John.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was so impressed by this hotel. The location is perfect! Walkable to subway stations, Capitol Hill, Museums, restuarants and more. Indoor pool area was clean and well stocked. But the breakfast blew me away. They serve breakfast for four hours 6-10 am making accomodations for all types of travelers, people on business who need to be up and moving early in the morning and leisure vacationers who have more time in the morning. There was always plenty of food and was constantly replenished so those late to the table didn't feel they were getting the crumbs. So happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest:

Our entire team was delighted to have you as our guest- Thank you so much for an awsome reveiw! Our team is very motivated to take good care of your entire family; parents, children, grand children and to provide memorable interactions.

We genuinely apprecite your acknowledgement for all the work our Team does 24/7.

Thank You.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was both friendly and helpful. The area is centrally located, a bit on the noisy side but it's a city. There is a huge construction project going on across the street and work starts early. If possible try to stay on the opposite side from the construction.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your recent stay. Our Captiol is bustling with activities to continue to improve visitor experience. Our Hotel's central location within walking distance of all attractions will continue to exceed your expectations with refresh of this area.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once gain!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great location, clean rooms, spacious. A little noisy because of area but all in all a great place to stay while in Washington, DC. Pool looks a lot larger in the internet photo. Don't bring your swim suit if you want to do laps. Whirlpool was nice and clean. Internet was a little slow and would knock you off as soon as you weren't using it. Staff was very friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest:

We are delighted to be of service to your during your recent stay at our Hotel. Your comments regarding cleanliness of hot tub is appreciated for the volume of travellers who were staying with us during your stay period.

We look forward to have you visit us again during a Not so busy period to enjoy our Nations Captiol.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend while visiting DC. The location is terrific . You are about four blocks from the Metro and are within walking distance of many sites if you're feeling ambitious . The staff was helpful and the breakfast was good. My only caution is that there were many families with young children staying there which is fine except they tend to be very noisy, especially at night. If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful stay in DC you may want to look elsewhere. Otherwise it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest:

It is always great to hear about an excellent experience after staying in a Hotel. We are delighted that you felt well attended to by our Team during your Easter Weekend visit to DC.

You are correct, this Easter we saw more families than most due to favorable weather and cherry blossom peaking at the right time. We remain optimistic that our guests will be considerate of others while staying with us. For exceptinos, we do have strong No party/noise poilicies in place we will implement judiciously.

We thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We decided to visit Washington DC at the last minute, so when it came to booking hotels, there were a precious few left to choose from. Not wanting to pay 500+ a night, we opted for the Hampton Inn near the Convention Center at $360 a night. First, as a family of four, we were delighted that the room, albeit small-ish, had two QUEEN sized beds, when so many such rooms offer double beds instead. The bedlinens were crisp, white, and clean, and the beds were super comfy. The air con in the room worked very well (if a tad loud -- but aren't they all?). Bathroom was nicely appointed... not luxury but definitely a step or two above perfunctory. Apart from a small chip in the iron tub, it was pristine and sparkling clean. Shower was hot and powerful. Enough about the room. The hotel facilities were also quite good. Pool is TINY (& was crowded), but our kids loved it. Hot tub jets weren't working when we were there, which was a bit of a bummer for me. But the workout room, although also on the small side, was perfect for a quick spin on the treadmill and was never overly crowded. As for the location, it worked well for us. Close to the metro but also buses along Mass Ave and, actually, we walked most places (including to the Mall and to the White House). We had some delicious meals in nearby Chinatown. The hotel also offered free breakfast (which we only had once) in the lobby, and it was fine (paper plates and canned pineapple) but not great. The staff at this hotel were delightful. We had some problems getting our key cards to work and they handled it quickly, apologetically, and with a smile. Everyone was super polite, including the cleaning & maintenance staff. Other guests seemed to be mostly European families. We parked our car ($39 per night plus tax) with the valet and it was quick and easy. Oh, and a big bonus was the free in-room Wifi. Unfortunately the hotel is currently opposite a construction site... however it didn't bother us in the slightest (even though our room overlooked it). Noise-proofing in the windows is good (we were on the 9th floor). All in all, I can't fault this hotel one bit. We had a really comfortable stay here and were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write in detail your service experinces during your recent stay with us. Our entire team is delighted that you were able to experience Washingington DC while staying with us.

We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#66 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.