We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #44 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Walkable to the Mall, the White House, Chinatown, the Metro, and lots of great places to eat. Would stay there again. The food available at the hotel wasn't thrilling (I'm a vegan...there were not many vegan options), but there were great places really close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking some of your personal time to write about your stay. We will continue to evaluate menu offerings at breakfast and for Sixth Street Bar + Food outlet to provide healthy options for our guests.

Hotels location is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with proximity to Metro, Convention Center, China Town and monuments.

We look forward to your return the next time you visit DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    410
    94
    28
    16
See reviews for
400
205
57
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was great, very affordable and good walking location to the museums. The hotel staff was extremely kind and very helpful! I was extremely impressed with the staff! The complimentary breakfast was incredible as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for staying with us and highlighting your experiences as a guest of our Hotel.

We are glad that your trust in the brand and service team was vindicated during this experience. I would like to personally thank you for highlighting our Team of service providers.

We look forward to your return to our Hotel, the next time you visit Nations Capitol!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We waited until the last minute to book a hotel room for the prime Cherry Blossom weekend, but I was able to get a great rate ($109) by bidding on Priceline. Clean and spacious rooms, and excellent water pressure in the shower. The hotel is very close to the Verizon Center/Chinatown area, where there are plenty of great restaurants. About a 5-10 minute walk to the Gallery Place/Chinatown stop, and 15-20 to Metro Center. Decent workout facility and pool. There is major construction going on right across the street so the view is not aesthetically pleasing, but we were not bothered with any noise at all. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was mediocre in terms of quality. Biggest complaint was that there was no room service in the evening; I had to go down to the bar to pick up the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to DC. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Cherry Blosom exprience while staying at our Hotel. Our hotel location and excellent associates makes our Hotel a preferred place to stay by both business and Leisure travellers.

Hotel location to Chinatown and the newly minted neighborhood teeming with vitality is a hit for out of town guests who like to walk and see DC.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are OK. However, the breakfast did not meet my expectations at all. Only 2 choices of hot food. Very cheap plastic plates, silverware and cups and what is more the food had no taste at all. Scrambled eggs tasted very artificial. Very disappointed.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that you your breakfast experience was not consistent with your expectations. Our Guests rate our product and services typically high as you can see on Web impressions.

We will continue to find ways of improving food quality and presenation. Let me us know if may be of assistance to you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

There are a lot of hotels in DC that we have stayed at when we were working here. The thing that really made this a good stay was the outstanding quality of service from everyone. I felt more like an honored guest in there home. In addition, you don't have to worry about the comfort or cleanliness here. One last note, they had a high school band stay here while we were staying and every thing was handled really well by the hotel for such a large group.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

It is always a delight to have one of our frequent guests writing about the Quality of experience while staying at our Hotel. Our entire team of associates would like to thank you for your Loyalty.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Let us know how we may assist you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed with my wife and daughter while attending meetings at the convention center and at the capital. The hotel was conveniently located across the street from the convention center. The walk tot he capitol was a bit longer but easy to get to by cab or metro. The hotel was less expensive than many of the 'nicer' hotels in the area and I'm glad I didn't pay more. The Hampton was comfortable, updated, with easy access to internet and a reasonably good breakfast included. The warm cookies at check-in were a nice touch. The pool was a bit chilly, but still nice with an adjoining hot tub. The exercise room was small but functional. Overal, I would stay there again. Had no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providng us specific feedback on service and your satisfaction with Hotel and team.

We were delighted that you stayed with us. Our Team would like to thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you when you return to DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

It's just ok for a Hampton Inn. If need a hotel to stay at, it will suffice. In short, here are the positives and negatives:

P - Nice staff, relatively clean, breakfast not bad, quiet.

N - Getting worn and needs updating, not a great location - the area is not conveniently located to everything and area around hotel moderately rough. But, upscale condos and housing being built. So give the area a couple years to improve.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

Your impressions of stay with us are much appreciated. We're sorry that it was not the perfect location/Hamptono for you. Our Hotel location being two blocks from China Town restaurant,s Gallery center metro station and DC Convention Center will continue to improve as the wonderful amenties of shopes, restaurants, Condominiums and Office buildings sorrounding our Hampton will be completed this year.

We hope to have your return and experience our Hotel the next time you visit DC. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.