We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #44 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Close to Chinatown metro, this hotel offered buffet breakfast and 'to go' bags for those on the run. Beds were comfortable, and room was spacious. Bathroom was large. Only downside was the heated indoor pool. In the height of summer, turn the heat down!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

Our entire team was delighted to take good care of you during your trip to DC. Your feed back is essential in continuing to improve our service delivery- your comments regarding pool temperature is much appreciated.

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and Hilton family brands.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    410
    94
    28
    16
See reviews for
400
205
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando,FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton. We experienced a quick and easy check in. The hotel only offers valet parking. That was not a problem for us. Anytime we needed our car the valet staff retrieved our vehicle very promptly. Most of my family are coffee and tea lovers, so it was nice that the hotel offered hot delicious coffee and tea all day. All of the staff members that we encountered were very helpful and efficient. That always enhances the experience at a hotel! Our room was nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable. And the room and bathroom were very clean. Before we set off for a day of sightseeing we filled our stomachs with the free bountiful breakfast that was offered. There were many options to choose from. The waffles were a big hit with our group! The staff in the breakfast lounge were very attentive and helpful and quick to replenish the food. The hotel had a nice relaxing feel in the midst of the busy city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Our Sincere thanks for staying with us and writing regarding your experience while at the Hotel. We are thrilled that your stay with us was memorable and our team of experienced professionals, took good care of you.

We look forward to your visit to the Captiol and to our Hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel and Hilton brands!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There was constuctions noise from outside that actually shook the floors and was audible from anywhere inside the hotel. There were gun shot holes in the exterior window of the room and we were charged over double the stated rate on travelocity. The bathroom was not clean. Also I had requested Hampton at Crystal City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing and providing feedback regarding your experience. We sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction regarding our Hotel. We are not certain how our Hotel was selected while you thought you made reservatin with Hampton in Crystal City through Travelocity.

Your remarks regarding window damage will be reviewed by Hotel immediately. Nation's capitol is undergoing transformation to improve visitor experience; we thank you for your patience during this time. By far our Guests have been very supportive of Hotels efforts to work through this phase of City.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex U.K.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

No frills but good basic accommodation.
Friendly staff, good location (although at the time of visit there was a sizeable construction site opposite) and clean well appointed rooms.
Breakfast was the usual fare but fresh looking and plentiful.
If you're in a car take the 'parking package' option as parking is pretty scarce in that area. Or anyway in DC actually. Car park is under the hotel, so no waiting ages for the car when leaving.
All in all - no complaints and a good city base.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your sincere feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and experience Hamptonality from our Team.

Our team of professionals works deligently to exceed your expectations of a Hampton stay and remain true to Hampton promise of an trouble free, uncomplicated stay. Exterior noise is begining to die down from construction and location will be blast after the wonderful buildings are completed, soon.

Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family usually stays in this hotel when in the DC area due to the amenities Hampton Inn offers, and the excellent location to the sites we are in town to visit. Easy walking distance to many venues. Access off US 50 West/NY Ave couldn't be easier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding stay experience. Our Team of professionals are deeply thankful that you chose to stay with us.

our hotel as you mentioned in your comments is located perfected for a walking tour of the city. For those who want to catch Metro, Gallery place/china town metro is 2 blocks away sorrounded by fantastic restaurants.

Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to have you visit us again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here with wife and friends for 2 nights. The location is quite good being just a short walk to the Chinatown Metro station. A warm welcome on arrival to this clean and comfortable hotel where the rooms are quite spacious for a city centre hotel ( plenty of hot water for our morning showers ). There is a building site across the street which did become quite noisy by 7.30 am, but as we were up by this time to see the wonderful City of Washington, this was not an issue for us. The inclusive continental breakfast was more than adequate. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again if in DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

We are delighted to have you stay with us. As you have noticed, our team is focused on providing excellent service experience to our guests despite issues that are outside of our control,such as construction in the area. We hope that you'll return next summer and see a wonderful neighborhood with brand to walkable space.

Thanks for your patience as Washington DC is upgrading neighborhoods to improve traveller experience. We look forward to welcoming you to our Hotel in the future.

Thanks for your loyalty!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good location, had clean room, good pool, great breakfast (worth the extra charge), and friendly staff. Construction across the street was the only beef - pile driving at 6am could not be ignored...but the hotel cannot control that so I won't hold that against them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Neil:

Thank you for writing!

We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay experience. You positive comments on hotel and team members are much appreciated. we are sorry that exterior uncotrollable noises didn't make your visit perfect; but we thank you for not holding staff accountable for it.

we hope to welcome you back in the future and show off Washington DC's neighborhood upgrades that is undergoing.

We appreciate your loyalty to the brand and to our Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.