We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #49 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location was very convenient. We requested room upgrades for $15.00 and got a king bed junior suite and the room was really spacious and very nice. The quality of the breakfast items could be better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear BellesaNinaX,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center. I am glad to see you enjoyed the service from the Front Desk Staff, location, and breakfast. The next time you travel to Washington we hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    332
    81
    22
    13
See reviews for
335
170
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a prime example of "you get what you pay for". Nothing more, nothing less.

The front desk staff (first and last impression of the hotel) were welcoming, attentive, and overly helpful. The hotel itself is average. The room we were given was clean and comfortable; exactly what we needed for our two-night stay in D.C. The pool/Jacuzzi area is subpar. The complimentary buffet breakfast was wonderful, with plentiful amounts of hot and cold options which were replenished regularly.

The location is prime. Located in Chinatown, just a few short blocks away from the metro station and the Verizon center. The surrounding area is quite lively, with plenty of restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

Overall, nothing about the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center will blow you away, but you will get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear BellesaNinaX,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am glad the Front Desk team was attentive and welcoming. I also see you enjoyed the location and breakfast. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is the only real option for the Hilton family of hotels and going to a Caps game. Great location though the limited drop off area at a busy intersection can make for a little stressful drop up. We pulled up as two school buses were letting off a ton of kids so I thought the check in was going to be a disaster. Turns out the staff and pre-checked them in and the lobby was clear in 2 minutes. Front desk staff was very good and checked us in quickly. Stayed here before so I knew the elevators are very slow so got a lower floor so we could use the stairs.

Tried the pool which was very, very small but worked for us since no one else was there. No trash cans in the pool area which was a little odd. As a result, earlier patrons had left some coke bottles laying around. This area itself could use a little facelift. The pool towels are basically, glorified hand towels (which I've never seen done before). The area under tables and near the walls appeared not to have been mopped in months.

The rooms have a safe, microwave and frig which we'll need on our next trip here in a couple weeks because the free breakfast is pretty weak. I think the eggs and sausage are cooked the night before and put in the frig and then reheated with those propane cans. The cans can keep something warm but not reheat a frig item so everything is barely warm (that being said, a lot of Hampton Inns seem to do this). The set up makes it difficult for people to get in and out of the serving areas. Sunday mornings is kind of mad house here.

Back to the room, it's a little dated but fine. The carpet can probably use a wet vac but otherwise pretty clean. The cable only has about 20 channels which is pretty limited for a hotel that isn't in Mexico. On the weekends, there can be a lot of late night street noise (shouting etc). Beds are a little old but the bathroom was fine.

You can check out on the TV (I hate when you can't) but when we called the valet for our car, they basically forgot to get it (as I've seen in other reviews). The Hampton Inns in Balto contract out the valet service....they might be doing the same here.

Late night sees a lot of locals on the street so I would walk back from the bars at 2AM here but coming back from a Caps game at 9:45P was perfectly safe. The location will keep me coming back and as long as you know what to expect, you'll be fine here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear BigMo_28,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am happy to read that though we had a large group check in you did not have to wait long to reach your guestroom. I will share your comments with the Front Desk team. I am sorry about the sleection of cable channels, but I wanted you to know we are upgrading our cable TV. The new cable will offer 60 channels and much more variety. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Although the Metro was close by we walked everywhere from our hotel. Of course the weather was perfect, so that made it easy. The hotel is very close to the Verizon Center and Spy Museum and an easy walk to Ford's Theatre. The rooms were spotless, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a coffee and tea bar open all day - a very nice feature!! In the evenings you could get cookies and apples. We were in DC for 6 days and had a different hot breakfast each morning. The hotel served a variety of breads, cereals, fruit, and yogurt along with the hot bar. If we go back to DC we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear GeorgiaSwimFamily,

Thank you for the great review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, the size of our guestrooms, the breakfast, and our friendly staff. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well located in the city centre, for restaurants, metro & sightseeing....good size rooms. The breakfast had a good selection of cereals, cooked food & fresh fruit. Bakery items were a good choice, in fact something for everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear RozzyP,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am glad you enjoyed the location, size of our guestrooms, and the variety of breakfast items. When traveling to Washington we hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend using points and it was an enjoyable experience. There is a metro stop nearby in China town, but the location is good enough that you can practically walk anywhere you want if you desire. The only knock is that the area around the hotel seems like it may be a little seedy later at night and there are often sirens; not a huge deal but something to consider. The staff was great and very friendly. All in all, a good stay I wouldn't mind repeating.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear cody t,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the location and our friendly staff. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Very comfortable room and beds. Breakfast was abundant as was the seating available. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. A great location....walking distance to everything. The indoor pool was small - very small - that might be my only negative review. The lobby also had a bar and a limited menu which was a pleasant surprise. We stayed on second floor which was a good thing. What we lacked in views from our room (210) we more than made up for in convenience. Pool, Gym, Laundry are all on second floor and you are only one flight up when elevators are busy transporting large groups and their luggage. '
We will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear AnnM60763,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel amenities, location, and most of all the staff. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.