We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We just spent 3 nights in this hotel and were so very pleased- great location- we could walk to all of the places we wanted to go to- the Mall, especially. We were very close to China town and went to a great restaurant there- just a couple of blocks away- and the subway is right there too. Free lovely breakfast everyday and the indoor swimming pool made our trip with our kids so easy and enjoyable. All of the staff were great and our rooms were comfortable and clean and very well attended each day. We love Hampton Inn- we can always count on them to keep the important things perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Molly P,

Thank you for the great review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the clean rooms, complimentary breakfast each morning, and most of all our staff. If you are traveling to Washington again we hope you choose Hampton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    380
    90
    28
    15
See reviews for
376
197
53
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A friend and I were in DC for the Rock and Roll Marathon and I used HHonors points to book this hotel. We were very pleased with the hotel due to the proximity to the race and cleanliness of the rooms. I gave it an "average" rating because it is walking distance (around a mile) from many historical attractions but fewer within the 1/4 vicinity. It appears there is a good bit of development underway near by and China Town is very close as well. The hotel hosts a decent complimentary breakfast and provides free coffee/tea 24hrs a day. The staff is friendly and helpful. This hotel is far from luxurious but provides all of the essentials at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Dannelle S,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown Convention Center. I am glad you were very pleased with the promiximity to the race you were attending and the cleanliness of the rooms. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice. I had a meeting in College Park and there wasn't any hotels/restaurants near it so I decided to stay in Chinatown and take the metro out. I am very pleased with that decision. This hotel is clean and the staff very friendly. Probably some of the best night's sleep I've had while staying in DC. I ate breakfast super early and only cereal so can't comment on anything else. They even have a bar open for a couple of hours during weeknights. My colleagues got a couple of beers there.

Room Tip: My room was on a lower floor near the ice machine. I thought it ended up being pretty quiet at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear treinke,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness, the beds,the Lobby Bar, and our staff. Our bar is open 7 days a week from 5pm - 11pm with Happy Hour specials from 5p-7p. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed here several times and it is one of my favorites to stay at in DC. Close to all of the touristy things and subways. Excellent breakfasts in the mornings and the staff is always extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Jeff H,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center. I am very glad to read this hotel is one of your favorites to stay at in DC. I am happy to see you enjoyed the breakfast, location, and staff. Thank you for choosing Hampton and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The location is good; just a hair north of Chinatown and all the touristy things in down-town DC. So that's nice.

As a business hotel this place is very basic though almost to the level of unacceptable. There are almost no amenities for an international business traveller a long way from home. I had to go shopping for even the minimum supplies. That's OK for a holiday trip with family but not when on a busy schedule, then that's annoying.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Hallunder,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Convention Center. I am sorry to hear that we did not have the supplies needed for your stay with us. Please accept our apologies. We will provide more things in our gift shop for the international traveler. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and it was my second time to Washington. Last time I stayed in another area of Washington, this area wasn't as nice and not a great area to walk alone at night but the hotel itself was fine. Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn Style and that is fine by me, choice and freshness was wonderful. The room itself was clean and spacious and so was the bathroom. I had an illness while there and had to call a doctor in and the staff were so friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to assist. It is scary being sick in another country so I am thankful for their help. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, AussieBenean,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am sorry to hear you were ill while visiting Washington. It makes me very proud of the staff that they took great care of you and made you feel comfortable. I will share your comments with the whole team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect location for convention center, Chinatown, and Verizon Center. Room was well appointed and immaculate. Free breakfast and on-site lounge,with breakfast in bags to go if you are in a hurry. Entire staff from front desk to valet were Outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear M D,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center. I am happy to see you enjoyed the room, cleanliness, and service from all of our staff. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.