We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Greek restaurant I have ever been too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mourayo

Mourayo
1732 Connecticut Ave NW, Ste 100, Washington DC, DC 20009-1159 (Dupont Circle)
202-667-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mourayo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: S Street
Transit: RED line metro stop(Dupont Circle, Q street exit)
Kent,
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“The best Greek restaurant I have ever been too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Let's face it, the Greeks aren't neessarily know for their culinary prowess, but Mourayo seems to take traditional dishes and add a modern twist. It really is worth a visit and was recommended by our Guest House as their favourite restaurant. If on the menu, try the poached pear, simple but really good. One confusing aspect was the Greek Wine List, but we went with the waitors recommendation and it worked well. I think the menu has special offerings on a Thurs night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    62
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely greek restaurant by Dupont Circle -- like a family-run establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Felt like a family-run establishment (a good thing) which made the meal even more enjoyable. Good location, fine selection of options, etc. Great service and well worth the visit if you wish to dine around Dupont Circle

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner-Try the haloumi cheese dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We ate at Mourayo's maybe 5 years ago and went back this trip to see if it was as good as we remembered and it was even better! The food is amazing and the service very good. It's a bit noisy but then again you are pretty much in the middle of the bustling DuPont Circle so I guess it goes with the territory. Try some of the small plates/apps to share to get a better overall feel of some really good Greek cuisine. They offer several dishes with Greek cheeses including haloumi which is amazing, a must try if you have never had it. Book on OpenTable ahead of time as it's a small space with limited tables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice place, service a bit too speedy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Ate here last night and enjoyed it. Food was good, service friendly and the prices are fair. Only small negative was the speed at which the dishes came out of the kitchen. After 40 minutes everything had been served and eaten. Felt a bit rushed and made me wonder how they produced the dishes so quickly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“DuPont Circle Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

All i can say us that everything was very good. Only negative was they opened doors to outside to let cool night air in, but it also let in horrible smelling cigar smoke!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mourayo also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Mourayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mourayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.